We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best "hotel" we have ever stayed in"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #14 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best "hotel" we have ever stayed in"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Based on TA reviews, my wife and adult son and I spent 5 nights at Riad Kniza over the December holidays. It was a refuge in the storm: elegant, quiet, luxurious, and service that exceeded any prior experience. The restaurant was wonderful, including a free cooking lesson prior to our evening meal. We have traveled the world for 40 years and this is one of the very best hotel/restaurant combination we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profpsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    66
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
185
782
24
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

I took my 85 year old mother to Morocco for a week this December and based on the positive reviews, decided on the riad Kniza. We were in the "Sultan Suite" for 3 nights, made a short trip to Fes and then returned for another two nights. Our stay at the riad was delightful in numerous respects: The clean and most beautiful aesthetics of the building (particularly the original older structure with the central courtyard), the excellent service where no wish was too much and often attended to before you could express it and the overall genuine warmth and friendliness of the staff and owners. We visited a few others on the list of top riads in town, which only confirmed we had made the right choice. Some have an arguably better location (i.e. closer to the large square), but often did not impress with their aesthetic "overload". I also enjoyed very much the very authentic and less touristic area of Bab Doukkala, where riad Kniza is located. A special thanks to Samira at the front desk/reception. She went out of her way to accomodate us and make us feel at home. She is a true asset to the riad.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuelCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Riad Kniza. The staff were extremely friendly and the place is absolutley beautiful. Breakfast was always a pleasure to go to, and we had dinner here on a couple of days which was nothing short of excellent!!! Although the Riad is on the pricey side it is an absolute treat!!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank loveholidays1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Raid Kniza is just a dream. Mohamed (the owner) and Kamal (his son) and all the stuff are just incredible . Incredible such the atmosphere they will help you to breath in the wonderful Marrakech. I arrived at Riad Kniza at 1.30 in the night and Kamal gave me an incredible welcome. They served to me and to my girlfriend a typical maroccan dinner in a romantic room with fireplace. The food, the service and the atmosphere were brilliant. The next days were amazing too, with hammam, massages, very nice and tasty breakfast. About the structure of the hotel? What can I say more?...The Riad is wonderful, the rooms very nice and confortable, very clean and all the stuff is very professional but at the same time they will let you feel at home, in a wonderful home.
Thanks,
Tommy

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommytommy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Norwalk, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

If you are looking for an extraordinary and authentic Moroccan experience in the heart of the Medina (old city) I highly suggest the Riad Kniza. From the moment you step into this sacred home you become family. It is elegant, rich, warm, tranquil and soulful.
A wonderful staff, savory food and traditional Hammam awaits you.
Shelley McLaughlin-Fairfield, CT, USA

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shels28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We choose Riad Kniza based on previous reviews on Trip Advisor. We spent three days there and found it almost perfect. The riad is wonderfully presented and is a complete haven of tranquility. The design is impeccable and everything is beautifully arranged.

Our room was excellent - althought the bed was perhaps a little narrow and the choice of TV channels somewhat limited.

We only ate breakfast and lunch but found the food to be first class. Meals can be taken either downstairs or on the roof top terrace. Service was enthusaiastic and impeccable.

The location is good as the riad is close to the wall of the medina and therefore taxis are only a couple of minutes away. It is though a 10 minute walk to the heart of the city.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RadioRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Riad Kniza is a beautiful riad in a fantastic location in the Marrakech medina. The service there was the best I have ever experienced. It was amazing. The hotel was very cozy and they gave very personal service. I would definitely go back to this riad if in Marrakech again. I also definitely recommend anyone visiting Marrakech to stay in a riad-it is an amazing experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcblancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing