We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,589)
Filter reviews
1,589 results
Traveler rating
1,498
75
12
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,498
75
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssenior suiteroof terracebrad pittroyal suiteatlas mountainsrose petalsbab doukkalamoroccan familyan oasismint teaold citywooden doorlamb taginesitting roomday tripmoroccan experiencethe hustle and bustle
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 1,589 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile

From several weeks before arrival, we knew we were in the capable hands of Simo, Samira, and the rest of the Riad Kniza team. They took care of our every possible need and want: from desert trek excursions to luxurious rose petal baths after hours of negotiating the markets.

Fresh breakfast on the terrace? Done. Need a salty Mediterranean snack at 2am? Done. Cant find your way back to that pottery vendor? No problem.

Spectacular decor, invisible room attendants that magically organize your room on a moments notice. An owner who proudly invited us for tea and a preview of his wife's collection of Moroccan treasures and his daughter's couture designer threads.

This Riad is perfectly situated on the outer rim of the Medina. As a frequent solo traveler (although not this time), I can add that it is both safe and inviting. Our biggest fear was that given the collection of celebrity photographs in the library-- George Clooney may come around the corner and catch us in a bathing suit.

We would be back time and time again. Enjoy!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank macandgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017

The Riad Kniza is simply fantastic. From the staff, to the room and entire property to the food and spa and location within Medina - this Riad is outstanding. The owner Mr. Mohamed is always on property making sure things are just right. Manager Kamal and staff Salma, Abel and Adil and others- are all ready to assist with even the simplest of need or request.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017

Marrakesh is a city with an inner walled medina, once inside the walls, the vast market hides all its treasures in full view. My first impression was slightly disappointing as I was judging the medina at face value... it is only when you venture deeper into the maze the place comes to life. Nondescript doorways open into beautiful inner courtyards, Aladdin's caves full of fabulous interior deco items, carpets and rugs, metalware, an endless list of both the fabulous and the less so... The souk itself is easy to get lost in but there are always tourists, even in its deepest depths, so whilst being bewildered by the endless passageways it is not a place to be at a panic in [ imo ]. Yes, the shopkeepers try to sell you things, but a smile and a pleasantry is always enough to get you off the hook, and isn't the street commerce one of the reasons we visit in the first place? The main square I found less to my liking as it did not have the charm of the souk itself and I do not care for the animals and reptiles being used for the entertainment of the populace. I understand this too is part of the Marrakesh experience but not for me.
The other obvious attractions, the palaces and museums etc were also a little disappointing as they are really no more than empty shells or ruins, their wealth stripped and removed long ago... However, the entrance fees to these places is very little and walking to them opens up new parts to the medina so all in all, go.

The riad Kniza is hidden in a quarter of the medina tourists would not normally see. It is just off a "locals market alley" with all the sights and sounds of realtime Marrakesh. It is about a 10 minute + meandering but easy walk to the main square and access to the warrens of the souk are immediate and numerous. Again just a plain door in a blank wall which opens into a smiling face and a warm welcome. The interior is large and lush. Once the family home of the owner Mohhamed, it is now a tranquil and beautiful boutique hotel complete with fabulous roof terrace where you can breakfast, lounge or sunbathe, a marble hammam, interior cold pool, sauna, dining room, seating areas etc. The room we stayed in was enormous with a large bathroom and powerful shower, free wifi, good air con and a large TV.
Like you, I too read the reviews on this riad and my wife and i were very happy with our choice. would i return to the riad Kniza..... absolutely.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hankfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

The Riad Kniza is a perfect home away from home. From the moment you arrive at the entrance door, you know you have arrived at a very special place. You are greeted as though you are loved family members returning home. Everything is stunning...the artwork throughout the riad, the perfectly painted walls, the tile and wood work. All the public rooms are so welcoming and you will always be offered the most delicious Moroccan tea with mint.
Wait until you see the rooftop. It is a perfect place for cocktails or dinner. The private spaces are the very best anywhere we stayed in Morocco. The people who work at the Riad Kniza truly love where they work and it shows. Whatever you might need, the riad's staff will find a way to provide it. They are all wonderful. If you are lucky, you will get to meet the couple who own it and spared no imagination, elegance, or expense in making this a beautiful retreat. They might even show you the art gallery they have established on the property.
The Riad Kniza is a place where I'd like to return...as soon as possible.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank LRMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

This place is absolutely incredible, but it's almost so Western that much of the Moroccan feel is lost. If you're a fan of rose petals in fountains and aggressively luxurious air conditioning, then this might be the place for you.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank abbiefayeolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal_bouskri, General Manager at Riad Kniza, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Greetings from Riad Kniza,

We pride ourselves on offering our guests the most authentic Moroccan experience, both in terms of decor, service and cuisine. We are actually one of the very few high-end Riads in Marrakech which is owned and run by the same Moroccan family for generations, with the owners being renowned antique collectors.

And since the comfort of our guests is very important to us, with temperatures in summer sometimes reaching 45 degrees Celsius, modern amenities like air-conditioning and wifi are indeed present throughout the Riad.

Also, Marrakech is lucky to be the home of many designers and artists, each with their own artistic vision of Moroccan design, and their rich and sometimes divergent works create expectations in the mind of tourists visiting our country.

Once again, I want to reassure our future guests about the authenticity of the experience they will have at Riad Kniza and invite them to browse our photos and take a virtual tour on our official website.

Sincerly,
Kamal Bouskri
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews