We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“'Treat this as your home'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #14 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“'Treat this as your home'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We booked to stay here for our honeymoon and it was truly an unforgettable experience.
We've travelled the world and never stayed anywhere as magical as Riad Kniza.
I cannot recommend booking to stay here enough: stunning rooms, beautiful decor and incredible customer service.
It is a little tricky to find but all good treasure chests are! In fact, being hidden away keeps it away from flocks of tourists and adds to the hidden oasis charm.
If you can get a room, this Riad is an absolute must for a trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K1G6H5H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    68
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
196
815
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Beautiful rooms, memorable service, ideal location. Would definitely stay here again! Staff was incredibly helpful in arranging activities, making recommendations and reservations, and addressing various requests. Rooms are some of the finest I've seen, and welcome tea, fruit, and rose petals are delightful.

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZGSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the wonderful hotel for 2 nights. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels around the world and to be honest, this has been my most memorable to date. Kamal and his staff were the most accommodating, hospitable people imaginable. The location is perfect and when you need to escape from the medina, simply return to the hotel and you are in an absolute sanctuary with true Moroccan culture. I am now at kasbah Tamadot and loving it but I do miss the Riad and it's people. Highly recommend it and thank you trip advisor as that is how I originally discovered this hotel. Roger

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have recently returned from our fifth trip to Marrakech. All the riads that we've stayed in have been very good. Riad Kniza has probably been one of the best. It's very comfortable and the service was excellent.

A couple of suggestions for any first time visitors to Marrakech. First, hire a guide for half a day to help orientate yourself and to take you round the souks. Second, if you get the chance go to the Majorelle gardens (aim to get there when they open). Although they aren't very big, they are an oasis of calm.


Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Riad Kniza for 5 days and had an absolutely wonderful time.
The Riad has been beautifully and tastefully restored to the highest standards and all the rooms (we stayed in 3), are gorgeous. The pool is perfect and very pretty, the roof terrace great, with two separate areas with loads of space to spread out and relax in.
Breakfasts are good, we had a lovely lunch and very good dinner too.
The whole place is immaculately clean and your room gets changed and tided up through the day.
What for us took it above a five star experience is the quality and service of the staff who are, quite simply fantastic!Like most of us who use TripAdvisor, we've done a fair bit of travelling around the world and the staff and service we received at Riad Kniza was the best we have ever experienced. Hicham, Hannan, Walid and Amin were all utterly brilliant! They and the rest of the staff are lovely people - genuine, kind, patient, incredibly and helpful but without ever being over the top - they get the balance spot on! They're also good fun. They really can't go far enough for you; as an example my wife had ripped a skirt and thinking it was past repair was going to throw it out. I asked Hannan where I could get it fixed in the Medina and she said they would do it, not in a day or two....10 minutes later we had it back, fully repaired and as good as new - and they wouldn't take any payment for it. Try doing that at a Hilton or a Marriot!
Mohammed the owner has created something special and all other hotel chains should send their staff here to see how it's done.
We were genuinely sad to leave the Riad and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

My husband and I are so glad we decided to stay at Riad Kniza during our time in Marrakech. The riad itself is stunning and spotless, with mosaic tile work, carved plaster, a beautiful pool, and a terrace with great views of the medina. However, the people who work at Riad Kniza are the best part. From the moment we were picked up at the airport, the staff did everything to be helpful and make our stay comfortable and memorable. They booked a great guide for us, they picked up our train tickets for the next leg of our trip, they organized a day trip out of Marrakech for us, they made restaurant reservations...everything that might be difficult or time consuming for a visitor to do independently, they took care of without us even having to ask. It saved us so much time and allowed us to spend more of our visit enjoying the city rather than worrying about logistics.

The food at Riad Kniza is delicious and you can eat at whatever time you prefer, either on the terrace, near the courtyard, or in your room.

The location is also great. Inside the medina, it is close to the souqs and about a 15 minute walk to Jemaa el Fna. But it is in a more calm and quiet area, and I felt it was a great balance.

I highly recommend Riad Kniza to anyone staying in Marrakech. Thank you, Walid, Kamal and Hicham for making out stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Marjana room (#10) and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Book this Riad! Arriving in hot August we received a lovely warm welcome. The rooms are STUNNING, as is the whole Riad- beautiful and palatial.

There are four courtyards with sitting rooms so the Riad feels quiet and private. A gorgeous pool just big enough for a bit of a swim around and cool off, stunning roof. Venturing out into the medina in 40 degree heat was a tiring and eventually we realized we could happily spend a day or two in the Riad. Staff are incredible- a level of service you don't see in 5* top London hotels.

In fact, this is like no other hotel I've ever seen or stayed in (including The Mayfair). Food is great- we had one of the best meals either of us has ever eaten here. Just fabulous, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had room 4. Very little wifi in this room, you need to sit in a courtyard to get proper signal- b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#19 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#4 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#13 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing