We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just amazing honeymoon experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #13 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just amazing honeymoon experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Book this Riad! Arriving in hot August we received a lovely warm welcome. The rooms are STUNNING, as is the whole Riad- beautiful and palatial.

There are four courtyards with sitting rooms so the Riad feels quiet and private. A gorgeous pool just big enough for a bit of a swim around and cool off, stunning roof. Venturing out into the medina in 40 degree heat was a tiring and eventually we realized we could happily spend a day or two in the Riad. Staff are incredible- a level of service you don't see in 5* top London hotels.

In fact, this is like no other hotel I've ever seen or stayed in (including The Mayfair). Food is great- we had one of the best meals either of us has ever eaten here. Just fabulous, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had room 4. Very little wifi in this room, you need to sit in a courtyard to get proper signal- b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    67
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
192
799
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed in Riad Kniza for three nights and it was wonderful. The Riad is located in the Medina, making it easy to walk to the most interesting parts of Marrakech. The staff is warm, welcoming, and accommodating of any need. The rooms are beautiful and the food is not to be missed. We stayed there after a week-long tour of Morocco, and Riad Kniza was a true resting place that we will remember fondly. My wife could not stop expressing that she found it to be the nicest hotel she has ever stayed in, and our 11-year-old son loved the pool. Dinner downstairs was both good food and presented with a flare. Breakfast on the roof was also a treat. Updated bathrooms were very much appreciated, as we had trouble finding a working shower elsewhere. It doesn't get any better.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a sense of privacy and peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looplaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic 3 night stay at the Riad Kniza. We were upgraded to the Royal Suite upon checkin, which was amazing. The riad is beautifully decorated and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the riad on 2 separate nights, both were delicious.
Would recommend this place if heading to Marrakech

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Potimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights on our trip to Marrakech and it felt like we were staying with family. A super friendly pick up by staff, no menus in the restaurant... simply tell them what you like and they serve it and it was delicious!!. I would highly recommend Kniza.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaBaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Walking down a small alley, who would guess a palace would be just inside a big wooden door? Well, be prepared, because this riad is a gem! The vintage Moroccan decor is superb as is the service and the staff. The rooms are incredible, incorporatng the past with contemporary amenities. Our rooms included an incredible sitting area, bedroom, and huge bath. The nights were very quiet, and temperatures were comfortable (you are able to control your own thermostat). We enjoyed our meals at the riad; the food was plentiful & great and we were treated to music by local muscians. Seriously, this is a very nice place- who would not be impressed by rose petals scattered across crisp bed linens? If you get a chance to have breakfast on the roof, do so! It is beautiful up there! Also, the swimming pool looked divine! Do note that if you are a party who wishes to have rooms near each other, check ahead. We were a good ways apart from each other and might have wished to be closer. Otherwise, you will not go wrong to stay at this lovely place!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs! Check ahead if you have concerns about mobility!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lone-Star-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed here with my other half in Feb 2014. We were here for an extended Valentine's day break and split our stay between the Maison Arabe and the Riad Kniza.

We were very lucky as we stayed at 2 excellent (and quite different) places.

We had a split-level duplex suite at the Riad Kniza, it was very luxurious, very oppulently furnished and I couldn't fault the room in any way.

There was a living room / sitting room downstairs with the bedroom on the upper floor.

The Riadh itself was very quiet and peaceful. There is a very big and well furnished roof terrace right at the top of the building where you can catch the sun / enjoy the view over the city.
The terrace is furnished with lots of chairs / tables / sunbeds / beds and there is also a lot of shade as well.

Location-wise it is quite difficult to find as it is in a little alleyway but it is about a 15-20 minute walk from the main square and not far from the city wall - it is also about a 10-15 minute walk from the Jardin Majorelle.

As you get onto the main throughfare it is very local/authentic - there is a market and there are various street traders / butchers shops etc where the locals are shopping. Be careful of mopeds, donkey carts and if early in the day and squeamish you might want to be wary as you may see someone's chicken dinner being 'prepared'. You definitely get a feel for the area.

The one thing that stuck out to us was the extreme generosity and freindliness of the owners. They made sure we were very well looked after all the time.

We ate at the restaurant one night and the food was great (there was a lot of it as well) and breakfast was also good and ample.

My only minor niggle during the stay was that the wifi connection was slow and dropped occasionally (but I am always checking emails for work etc - it might not bother anyone else).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Probably one of the best hotels I have stayed in.
Staff and service were excellent, couldn't do enough to make it a pleasant stay.
Eating times were all flexible, room, lounge, terrace etc.
Also enjoyed the cooking experience, buying our ingredients at the local market (nice not to have to haggle as we were with the hotels chef) and cooking our own meal in the hotels kitchens.
Overall can't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: No. 11 is the best, we got upgraded as it was my birthday, needed a map to find the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#2 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing