We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Simply beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #14 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Simply beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Marrakech is exciting and in your face and then you return to this oasis of tranquility. Interior is stunning and the staff couldn't do enough to make your stay relaxed and special. I just want to go back ASAP. We also did a half day cooking course at the hotel which was really good fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 900Rachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    68
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
196
814
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Heaven in Marrakech... Best part of our trip. Thanks a lot for all the details and great service. Beautiful property with lot of details. Do not hesitate to stay at Riad Kniza if you really want to experience Marrakech lifestyle.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Best4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This Riad is an Oasis of peace, tranquility and top class service amidst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech . The Service is superb , every member of the staff is charming, attentive and can't do enough to make your stay as delightful as possible . Everything is provided with a smile . The food was excellent and the rooms extremely comfortable . We cannot praise or recommend this Riad highly enough . Location is perfect, situated within the Medina and walking distance to the main square and the souks. Transfers to and from the airport included and the staff will book any additional restaurants, trips , guides for you .. And always with a smile . Absolutely superb

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 23Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at raid Kniza for three nights in the autumn of 2013. Our room was clean and the service was very good but, after staying in other riads in Marrakesh and Essouria and the Atlas Mountains, there was nothing about Kniza that touched me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you haven't been to any Riad then I suggest you should experience it at least once. Riad Kniza is the only Riad I had stayed in so far and I am sure others may be equally good too, but the experience of hospitality at this one, was very memorable.
Transportation from airport was included in our stay and a good car with English speaking driver picked us up. On the way, the driver gave information about Palmorie area, Guleiz and some jazzy hotels. Not knowing much about what a Riad is, your hopes get high as you believe your Riad/hotel would be similar. However, when the car goes inside the Medina wall and they carry the bags and (you have to carry some as well) walk with you in crowded alleys with people from street shops and street flocking you right a way, trying to sell something, you get jitters and that will make you think 'what did we do? where in the world we booked?'. The skepticism and disappointment goes away right away once you enter the Riad through the door. Nice carvings, decorations and antiques and well mannered English speaking staff will give you a cozy homely feeling. The suits were nice and had good furniture and decor. The staff goes out of their way to give you a feeling that you are at some friend's house. They will make breakfast to order and will setup wherever you like, we had them setup on the terrace. They will serve Moroccan mint tea with cookies as well as soft drinks any number of times and will ask if they can bring it as soon as you arrive from a walk. They even thought of giving us small chilled water bottles to us on the way to walking tour of Madina which gave a feeling of a friend's family taking care of you and looking for you when you stay with them.
A dinner, Atlas mountain trip and a walking tour of Madina was included in our stay and we enjoyed all of that. The tour driver and guides were very nice and were not pushy or were not trying to take us to shops with their 'connections'. They would take only when we asked for,
Attention to details and cleanliness was remarkable.
The ownership also owns a furniture shop and we shopped there and the furniture arrived in U.S. on time. They also packed for us a lamp which we bought from the government shop.
The only thing they can improve, I would suggest is to have a mini refrigerator in the suit and have a luggage cart so that guests do not have to carry luggage through streets which could be dirty. The driver who took us to furniture shop was pressurizing us to hurry and you have to just ignore him.
Riad front desk will make reservations at restaurants for you and will give directions as well as will help with getting phone sim cards, change, etc.
The location is very convenient and it is just inside the Medina wall so easy to find.
In conclusion, you should stay in Riad at least four to five days and enjoy this memorable experience.

Room Tip: See their website and send them choice of suit well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelier_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The staff at this guesthouse could not be friendlier or more helpful. They were all charming. The owners too were extremely welcoming.
A hair drier, toiletries, fruit and water were all provided in our room and replenished when necessary. Our room (no.7) overlooked the narrow derb and was a little noisy at times. However we enjoyed the sounds of the bustling medina, especially as most of the noise was from children playing.
We had two evening meals at the riad. We enjoyed the food and it was very reasonably priced, perhaps because we were staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Everything about Riad Kniza is class.
The service, the food , the rooms and the Haman are all brilliant.
The location of this hotel is close enough to the tourist souks but then its just far enough away to be a perfect location to also experience the "local" Marrakech.

I will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#19 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#4 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#13 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing