We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb family operation, guaranteed to deliver.”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #21 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb family operation, guaranteed to deliver.”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Step from the mayhem of the Medina into the delightful tranquility of a superbly family run operation. Attention to detail is paramount with Mohamed and his son Kamil on hand at all times to ensure every guest receives the highest level of service. Their quick response and replies to our initial queries before booking, arranging our pick up from the airport, the warmth of welcome on arriving along with the welcome drink and nibbles to the clear guided tour of the hotel ( the roof garden is great for breakfast). The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast plentiful and appetising, the evening Moroccan 5 course dinner is a must and the orange juice ( or other drink) quickly provided on returning to the hotel after a hot day are all highly commenable.

Room Tip: Room Johara, well laid out and furnished with small seating area, large kingsize and very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdavidb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    70
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
209
864
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Can you say WOW! You walk down this little alley down from a main street of the Souk and behind this big wooden door is a little bit of heaven. Incredible building (actually a couple of buildings that are joined) beautiful courtyard with a fountain filled with rose petals open to the sky. Pool in its own courtyard open to the sky. A roof terrace to die for, beautiful tented lounging couches and tables filled with plants. The staff treats you like you are the owner of the place and your every request is looked after attentively. Even the owner Mr. Mohammed makes you feel like the place is yours while you are there. Marrakech is the gem of Morocco and this Riad is the gem of Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishAudity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We booked our break back in January, and stayed in the Bahia Suite for 4 nights at the beginning of May, We have to say that this Riad is truly excellent. The personalised service is superb, a great example of a family owned Riad. The location in the Food Souk is just fantastic, and the Riad is an oasis of calm in the frenetic (but friendly) day to day life in Marakech.
All the staff were very friendly, and in the time we were here we felt as if the Riad was our own personal hotel, we hardly met any of the other residents (despite the Riad being fully booked).
Our suite was exceptional (with maybe too many lights and light switches!!) and was a very relaxing place to celebrate a significant birthday.
As we took advantage of the special package for the suite, we had day trips, massages and a lovely meal cooked personally for us.
wIth it's location in the Medina, this is a perfect place to stay. We will be back!!!!!

Room Tip: Recommend the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woods_of_winchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a classic Riad , family owned and with an atmosphere of quiet calm and wonderful service.
Located in the heart of the old city walls you enter through a discreet doorway into a traditional Morrocan riad ,centred around a central courtyard.
Service is best described as immaculate, attentive and totally relaxed.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and well kept.
On the roof is the delightful terrace , with either shelter from the sun or quiet corners with sun beds to relax on if you need the rays.
We stayed full board , breakfast on the terrace- marvellous . With a light green salad for lunch.
Evening meals we limited ourselves to main course only , and as veggies I would say the choices were limited , and which ever meal you have you will need to like the local staple bread, which supports every meal.
The meals were served in a very light touch style with the usual odd mixtures the Moroccans tend to like- but the restaurant and service were never less than excellent.
Such a contrast to the hustle a bustle just outside the doors , it is a classic style and you get the attention of the family owner , checking on your welfare.
Small pool , try the massages.

Room Tip: Ring ahead when you arrive in Marrakech - you cannot get your car or taxi to the Kniza- its in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARCSMIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just spent two nights at Riad Kniza ( too short of course) but it was wonderful nevertheless. We knew the Riad was going to be beautiful but we were amazed by the charm and warmth of every member of staff we came across. We didn't get around to asking everyone's name but we managed to remember Hanane, Wallid and Isham amongst all the lovely staff. Smiley faces, discreet and calm service. Nothing was a problem. The location is ideal particularly if you want to experience the real Marrakesh - surrounded by the fantastic chaos, colour and excitement of the souk. The guided tour with Noure was amazing - seeing places and people we would never have otherwise seen - a trip full of laughter and culture. I want to be back there!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which was gorgeous and looked out onto the delightful pool. Enormous bed and a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed in Riad Kniza for 4 nights for our honeymoon and I must say we could not have chosen a better hotel. Prior to the trip, all communication was excellent and all arrangements were straight forward including the arrangement of airport transfers. The Riad itself is absolutely beautiful with ornate carvings and tranquil rooms to sit and relax. There is incredible attention to detail and the staff are always friendly and attentive. The roof top terrace gives a great roof top view and is an especially good place for having dinner... and what a dinner it is. Exquisite Moroccan cuisine, the best food I ate in Morocco. The breakfast is also very good and plentiful. I would definitely recommend Riad Kniza to anyone wishing to stay inside the Medina (it's only a 10-15 minute walk from the centre) and I hope we get to go back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattfink9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

4 nights stayed - very accommodating and lovely staff, great service, do take up their offer of a free guide for a tour of the media (superb), great location - just inside a gate so great to taxi and 10mins to souks and 15min stroll into square . Great pool - amazing breakfast.

Stay there!!





Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank katbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
1,213 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,985 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing