We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #15 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Magic in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at the Riad Kniza in Mid Feb and had the most wonderful experience.

The Riad is well located and only a few steps away from the hussle and busle of the Souks but once you walked through the front door you entered another world of calm and tranquility.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and a special mention to Walid and Abdellah you helped make our stay a enjoyable one

We ate at the Riad on our first night and the food was amazing and would highly recommend eating there during your stay.

We booked a packaged that included a meal, a 30min massage, an escorted trip around the Souks, a day trip to the Atlas mountains and airport transfers. We thought the package was excellent value

You can have breakfast anywhere in the Riad but eating breakfast on the lovely roof top terrace was a great start to the day

The Riad was exquiste in Design and very traditional which we liked.

The owner was a lovely, kind and curteous man, and always had time to ask you how you were and how your day had been

I would highly recommend staying at the Riad Kniza when visiting Marrakech

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be of a very good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    67
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
190
787
25
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

There are so many things to say about Riad Kniza that I am not sure where to begin - I am actually writing is review before our departure (which I never do). We stayed with my mom and our two kids ages 5 and 9 in the Royal Bahia suite which is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!! The architecture, furnishing and lighting is breath taking and so incredible. We had fresh fruit and moroccan cookies daily which was such a nice treat. Each night we could hear the music on the floor below which was fantastic!

We ate breakfast on the roof deck that we loved and they helped us to plan our entire itinerary which included a tour of the medina with Mustafa (HE IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING) and two day trips to Casablanca and Essaouira of which Mohammad drove us both days. His patience with our kids and attentiveness was second to none!!

The service is absolutely superb. From the owner who was warm and so hospitable, to the management who was friendly and accommodating, to the wait staff of which each of them were wonderful to the musicians -they are all truly a group of very special people.

They treated us and our kids like family. It is an experience we won't soon forget!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julesdole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Riad Kniza, a short stop over in Marrakech before going onto Essaouira and we wished we were staying longer! This is our third visit to Riad Kniza, the last time being 6 years ago so since then we noticed a few changes!
Wow, we didn't think it could get any better but it has! We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had some wonderful food accompanied by live traditional music, just what we need to start our holiday and relax. We also managed to find time to experience the hammam, which was great! The pool was very cold though! Breakfast on the terrace each morning in the sunshine, what could be better! Kamal and his team looked after us very well as usual, a great example of personal service! We can't wait to revisit ...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolblue-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I spent the three wonderful nights at the Riad Kniza in early February. As we had been expecting having read previous reviews, the moment we were met by a member of staff from the included airport collection and led through the streets of the Old City, to the moment we arrived at the hidden door down a quiet, unassuming street, we found ourselves stepping into another world compared to the surroundings outside!

The Riad Kniza is beautifully designed and tastefully decorated, with staff that simply cannot do enough for their guests! We were provided with anything we desired, including breakfast in the sunshine each morning on the roof terrace, to wine and skewers whilst watching the the sunset after a hectic day exploring. We also ate at the restaurant one evening, where the food was brilliant albeit plentiful to say the least! My wife did use the spa, which she enjoyed, but it was a little too cold to use the pool as I believe it is not heated.

It was only a safe and pleasant 15 minute walk to the Jemaa el-fns (dodging the scooters and motorcycles, something which one must be aware of all over the place); a bonus as you really feel like you are living with the locals rather than surrounded by the vast array of tourists. Highly recommended and no complaints whatsoever!

Room Tip: Try to enjoy breakfast on the roof terrace. Beautiful views across the city and of the snow capped A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sibs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We selected Riad Kniza for our 3 nights in Marrakech after careful research, but unfortunately we were double booked by a 3rd party booking site. Riad Kniza could not have been more efficient in recommending an alternative Riad for 2 nights and kindly welcoming us to Riad Kniza for our last night.

From our welcome drink to the chaperone to our taxi as we left, the staff and management could not have been more charming. They manage to achieve something special in my opinion, which is 5* hotel service, but delivered as if you are a personal guest in their home.

Our duplex suite was exquisitely comfortable, traditional but with all mod cons. The Riad adapts very well to both good and bad weather, When we arrived we sunbathed on the spacious roof terrace but when it rained later, we ate dinner in a cosy lounge with a roaring log fire.

Dinner was a traditional moroccan 5 course set meal but personalised with individual choice of main course. We drank Moroccan red wine with dinner selected by the waiter which was very good. Breakfast can be taken in your room, in one of the lounges or on the terrace and it is nice to have table service rather than the ubiquitous buffet. An excellent choice of breads, cakes pancakes, yogurt, cereals, jams were offered.

Sadly there was no time to enjoy the pool, hammam or massages, but I would recommend you do if you can.

Thank you to all the team for your kind hospitality and we hope to see you again for longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJAJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Ouro first stop in Morocco, this gorgeous Riad has the best of Moroccan hospitality. The room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The staff is carinho, polite and helpful all the time. Couldn't enjoy the spa because it was fully booked.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroSanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We just spent three nights at this lovely riad. The contrast between the hectic street outside, and the utter tranquility the moment you step through the door into the riad is extraordinary. We were welcomed with enthusiasm and made to feel like honoured guests throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was scattered with rose petals on our arrival. A welcome bowl of fruit was placed in the room for us. We had a comfortable room overlooking a courtyard. in the evenings there were musicians playing traditional and very tasteful music. We ate in the hotel each night, truly excellent traditional food, carefully and proudly served to us as we sat before a lovely log fire. Somehow we managed to miss visiting the roof terrace (we had most of the year's rain during our visit), so we shall just have to return!

Room Tip: I would think that any room in this riad would be truly excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheilaEdinburghUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#24 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing