We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing riad and incredible service!”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #14 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Riad Kniza for 2 nights - loved absolutely everything about it! We booked it very last minute for one night but the minute we got in the riad, we extended our trip there. The riad is absolutely gorgeous and so peaceful - away from the craziness of the medina. The service was one of the best we've ever had at a hotel stay. The staff was very courteous, always going out their way to make sure we were comfortable. The breakfast was delicious! Dinner even better! We loved the riad so much we ended up spending so much time just lazing around having tea or relaxing. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Riad Kniza was an absolute luxury experience. It makes a phenomenal impression from the start: the lobby is stunning and resembles the traditional Moroccan palaces. Upon arrival, we were greeted with the traditional Moroccan mint tea. As an avid tea drinker, I was thrilled to find out that the tea and Moroccan cookies were offered anytime during our stay. It was little things like this that made our Riad Kniza experience special. The staff was extremely attentive and kind, and because the Riad is relatively small, the staff pays close attention to the needs of each guest. Our room was perhaps the most beautiful room I have ever stayed in--it had an intricately carved dome and was decorated like a traditional Moroccan bedroom. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Riad every night, and found the food to be both authentic and delicious. The location of Riad Kniza is very convenient, as it is a short walk to the main square while also being near a main road, which provided easy car access.

Overall, a wonderful experience that I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaplanfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This riad is lovely...we enjoyed our stay very much. Every single person, from the owner to the maid, was friendly and charming....it's a real pleasure to be there. And the massage in the spa was excellent!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank travelfan94611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and i have recently returned from travelling around Morocco for a couple of weeks. We started our holiday at Riad Kniza in Marrakech. We were delighted with our choice and felt very well looked after and relaxed for the entire duration of our stay. The Riad is stunning - it is spacious and opulent whilst feeling welcoming. It has a lovely pool and we also enjoyed a very relaxing massage while we were there. We dined there one evening, and although some of the authentic Moroccoan food was a little sweet for our liking, we did appreciate that it was indeed authentic and very high quality at that. We had an open fire in our room which was lit for us in the evenings at our request - bliss! Breakfast on the roof terrace was very pretty and chilled. The staff at the Riad were only too happy to help when we asked for a dinner our lunch recommendation - and such recommendations were perfect for what we were looking for - they clearly understand what their clientele are looking for. Overall, i would highly recommend and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillMcC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

A Wonderful Oasis of Calm & Tranquility

The Riad Kniza is tucked away in the Medina, all that is visible from the outside is a door, when it opens you are immediately transported into a different world .

The interior is both luxurious & sumptuous in a Moroccan sort of way, which is beautiful.

The Service and helpfulness of the people working at the Riad Kniza could not be better.

The unhurried Breakfast on the roof terrace is the perfect start to the day, with its freshly baked bread and cakes, fruit salads, cheese, eggs, more food would not be possible to eat, all brought to your table in the most enchanting way and of course is delicious.

A cookery lesson with the Riad’s Chef is a great introduction to Moroccan Cuisine and is an inspiration.

The Hamam, which is a hot air bathing ritual, that was one of the most important pillars of the social life of the Ottoman Empire.

The Hamam was treated a sanctuary where men and women gathered to be renewed.

It is the tradition of physical and spiritual purification.

As the body and skin are cleaned and purified from toxins, blood circulation increases and the immune system is stimulated supporting one, both physically and mentally.

It feels a bit like being scrubbed with a pan scourer, but it does leave your skin feeling just wonderful.

The Guides are really helpful and knowledgeable.

The Rhiad Kniza is a “ Must stay there “ sort of place.

Room Tip: Look on the Riad Kniza's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nina2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at the Riad Kniza during the Christmas period, and the research spent on choosing this riad over other 'hotels de charme' (including La Maison Arabe) and well known luxury hotels was time extremely well spent.

The riad is in the heart of the medina, and it is important for potential guest to realise that this is a 'living, breathing' part of the city where locals live, trade, and earn a living, and is not like the La Mamounia Hotel that lies behind 15 foot high gates; in other words it is completely authentic.

Despite being in this bustling part of the medina, once behind the closed doors of the riad you enter into a world of calm. It is simply one of the most beautiful hotels I have have stayed in, and the attention to details is just pitch perfect, whether it be the mosaics, the beautiful Moroccan tables, or the fabulous lamps. You can tell that the Bouskri family have invested considerable time and love into their riad, which has been in the family for generations.

Whilst the decor of the place is fantastic, it is rivalled by the approachability, cheerfulness and helpfulness of the staff. All of the staff were excellent, providing service that easily matched that I have experienced across the Four Seasons chain of hotels. No request was too much hassle, whether ensuring that the open fire was lit in the evening, to sourcing Moroccan furniture for shipping back to London.

Finally, the quality of the food needs to be mentioned. Whilst the La Maison Arabe frequently gets the No.1 restaurant vote vote, having eaten at both restaurants I would rate the food and presentation of it better at the Riad Kniza. As for the ambience of the 2 riads, if you want something more authentic, and with less of a nod to European/ American ideas of what a hotel should be like, then please book into the Riad Kniza. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SJWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I booked a stay with the riad -- and had to change my travel plans. I tried to cancel 3 days before arrival -- but they refused. This is understandable -- in some ways. But, in others, it seems like common sense and customer service should prevail, especially in the hospitality industry.

As a result, I was in a terrible mood when I was in the hotel, and felt very sad a lot of the time. I felt like the money that I was paying (almost 300 dollars!) was being utterly wasted, and -- this colored my perception of everything.

Also -- the area around the Bab Doukkala felt a bit frightening in the early hours of the AM. Lots of loitering young men... it didn't make me happy to walk through that gauntlet back to the hotel.

I could see how you might be happy in this place -- the staff are incredibly polite and sweet, on the ground -- but they need to rethink that cancellation policy. Just be sure -- if you think you're going to go, you'll have to go!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pauls27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#303 of 502 in Marrakech
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Darsor
Darsor
#319 of 502 in Marrakech
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#340 of 502 in Marrakech
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Pavillon Du Golf
Le Pavillon Du Golf
#333 of 502 in Marrakech
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Racine
Hotel Racine
#221 of 502 in Marrakech
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Tuscia
Dar Tuscia
#299 of 502 in Marrakech
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $238 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing