We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Couldn't have asked for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #14 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Couldn't have asked for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

After conducting an extensive research for a riad in Marrakech, I picked this one based on all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We couldn't be more pleased. The room was tastefully decorated, as was the rest of the riad. It was always such a relief to come back to the riad to recoup and recharge after a hot day of busy sightseeing. We loved to sit by the pool or under the big tree in the central courtyard and enjoy a cup of mint tea with delicious Moroccan cookies. The service was impeccable. Amin (I hope I have gotten his name right) and the rest of the staff made sure that our every need was taken care of. The city tour with Omar was informative and educational. The trip to the Atlas mountain was the highlight of our entire stay. Imagine having lunch with your feet dipped in the shallow running river! We absolutely loved everything and hope to go back again in the near future, inshallah.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    67
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
190
789
25
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
L.A.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Riad Kniza made every dream of Marrakech come true !.From the moment they met us at the airport until our safe return back to the airport. The Riad Kniza was exactly what we dreamed a riad stay would be. All of the staff is so well trained they are there to handle every little detail and yet we felt we had complete privacy when we wanted it. The Riad was immaculately clean every where. On arrival we were seated in a beautiful air conditioned salon and served tea while the check in process was finished.They arranged for an English speaking guide and car for our trip to the Atlas mountains as well as for day trips through the City. Having a guide saved us from so much stress and he was fun. After the chaotic energy of the City, coming back to the tranquility and pool at the Kniza was the balance we needed. We ate our meals at the Kniza and enjoyed everyone of them. Sitting on the roof top terrace for breakfast and dinner, over looking the City, while listening to the call to prayers was a lasting memory. Definitely have a glass of the fresh orange juice.
Thanks to every one a the Riad Kniza for memories of a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erm2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My fiance and I spent 4 nights at Riad Kniza in July, and LOVED it!

Riad Kniza is an oasis in the middle of a bustling city street. As we were led to the Riad's entrance (about a 5 minute walk through the medina, from where the car has to pull over), we were hesitant as to what to expect. But, once the door to the Riad was opened we realized why everyone raves about it! It is beautiful and relaxing, with authentic Moroccan decor. We were in room #10 which was up a set of stairs and tucked away a bit, which we loved! The room was large and impeccably clean.

The service at the Riad was very impressive. No matter what we asked for, we had it within 5 minutes or less, from one of the very friendly, english-speaking staff. Meals were served wherever you want in the Riad (one of the seating rooms, the roof, your room, at the pool, etc). The amount of food is endless, so come hungry! The front desk also recommended some pretty amazing restaurants for dinner, Le Fondouk and Maison Arabe (I highly recommend both!).

Our favorite part of the Riad was the tour guide, Omar, that they arranged for us for 2 days. Omar was extremely knowledgable and spoke perfect English. He walked us through the souks and helped us negotiate. He does not go back and take a cut from the shop owners, so he is rally on your side! He also showed us everything there is to see and provided us with just the right amount of information and history.

We spet 2 weeks abroad, and Riad Kniza was the highlight of our entire trip! Highly recommended for anyone traveling to Marrakesh.

Room Tip: From what I heard, all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TNRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

As the title suggests this was the hotel for our honeymoon. Our flight was delayed and diverted then finally we arrived in Marrakech 4 hours late. The taxi driver took us to the area and then told us to walk as there is no space for cars. A local man then offered to guide us to the hotel. I was sceptical but I followed him and he led us to the Riad Kniza, down a side street.
On entering the hotel our luggage was taken and we were sat in the courtyard, a table and cold drinks were brought to us. We checked in to our room and to our amazement, the room was WOW! We had the 'Ambar' room which is a senior suite. You walk in to the room facing you is a living room area with sofas a table and TV. On the right is a toilet. On the left you had a staircase which takes you to the sleeping quarters. Very spacious with a dome ceiling, a bathroom and walk in shower and also a large TV in the bedroom. We were invited down to one of the many rooms for dinner. These rooms are rustic Moroccan type rooms with large cusions and air con. The tagine (lamb or chicken) is worth a try. The food arrived with many small dishes and drinks.
Breakfast was served in our room, which came with eggs, tea, coffees, breads and cereal. We opted for breakfast in the room but could have it on the roof or in the dining areas.
After leaving the hotel for the day and returning mid-afternoon, our beds were made and room cleaned. After returning the second time our rooms were prepared for sleeping.
The hotel itself is roughly 15-20 minutes drive from the airport and a 15-20 minute walk from the main square. The neighbourhood is very traditional, not so touristy so you can immerse yourself in the culture. The area is overwhelming with street sellers etc but it makes the experience.
The best part of the stay was the hotel. The staff gave their all to make sure the trip was perfect. Shoki was one of the helpful front desk staff and gave us directions and wrote down all the places for us to see. Every evening, we would lie on the sun loungers on the roof and have drinks brought to us. A fruit drink with bananas and apples was my favourite. There is actual menu for food or drinks but you tell them what you want and they make it.
Walking through the hotel you go from courtyard to courtyard, walls are covered in mosaics and tiles, there is an open pool, many many rooms for dining and we realised Riad Kniza hosts many dinners being so popular. It seemed that dinner guests wished they were also staying at the hotel upon arrival. We also had a tour of the hotel and spa, the spa was amazing, never used it but it looked amazing. I didn't want to use the sauna as it was so hot anyway. We saw the royal suite, and it's bigger than my flat! and much nicer!
All in all a good trip made amazing by the Riad Kniza and the Kniza team. If any orders were wrong, it would be rectified straight away. The only thing I'd say is that the cleaning crew did not knock one day, our door wasn't locked so they came in but apologised straight away.
I will stay here again, best hotel and service I have experienced in my entire life.

Thank you once again from the honeymooners of room 7!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Riad Kniza -- it is a stunningly beautiful place, not unlike a magical, mystical sultan's palace, with the most minute attention to every charming detail. It's in an amazing location, tucked away on a tiny "derb" or stone alleyway that opens directly into the bustling chaos of the medina. It felt like our own little secret oasis/sanctuary, especially after a few hours of negotiating our way through the winding dusty paths and among throngs of speeding scooters, stray cats, overzealous souk merchants and donkey carts. The riad is minutes away from the souks and about a 15-minute walk to the Jemma el Fna square and the Mohammed Avenue V French Quarter. Ask the riad for Omar as your guide through the medina!

The part that stood out the most for us was the attentive staff, who were friendly, helpful, and provided exceptional hospitality during our stay. Eating at the riad was an experience in itself. Their "restaurant" is essentially a living room-style space so it feels like eating at someone's home. Very generous and delicious Moroccan-style breakfasts were also included in our stay.

As all the other travelers before us have done, we highly recommend the Riad Kniza. It's certainly true to all the reviews.

Room Tip: We had the Junior Suite, which I think was on the second level. Beautifully decorated and very priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weepingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Fantastic riad, its like a little palace. So quiet and peaceful and beautifully restored. It really is an escape from the mania of the Medina as soon as you walk in the door it’s the complete opposite of chaos outside. The service and staff are excellent, really nice and so accommodating. They serve your meals wherever you want whenever you want, in your room, on the roof, in the lounges etc. I like the attitude the manager expressed when we arrived “you have breakfast any time you want; you’re on holiday if you want it at 1pm you can have it just call us 5 or ten minutes beforehand to tell us where and when and we’ll arrange it”. We did the cooking lesson with the chef Amina (if I recall correctly) which was excellent she takes you to the market outside and you pick ingredients vegetables and spices etc then she teaches you how to cook traditional tagine food and bake bread. We really enjoyed the couple of hours and the food was delicious. You need to book this on arrival though as they may not have availability. The room was fantastic and the facilities there are just flawless really. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, private, luxurious escape I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eskillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed 1 night at this beautiful riad but we were very impressed. The location is excellent if you want to explore Marrakech as its right in the heart of the old part if the city and only a 15 min walk to the busy Square.

The management and staff were excellent and we could see why they have won so many awards.
Food was superb and probably one of the best meals we had during our 10 day stay in Morocco. I was keen to get some Tagine recipes and one of the staff, a lovely girl (I'm afraid I've mislaid her name), very kindly lent me a recipe book and offered to photocopy any recipes I liked.

We also were upgraded to a lovely suite so thank you very much.
We hope to visit again as it was such a special place and we can thoroughly recommend it to any fellow travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#24 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing