We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,622)
Filter reviews
1,622 results
Traveler rating
1,529
77
12
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,529
77
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews senior suite roof terrace brad pitt royal suite atlas mountains rose petals bab doukkala an oasis mint tea arabian nights wooden door old city lamb tagine the entire staff tour guide day trip moroccan experience
Filter
Updating list...
716 - 721 of 1,622 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Riad Kniza made every dream of Marrakech come true !.From the moment they met us at the airport until our safe return back to the airport. The Riad Kniza was exactly what we dreamed a riad stay would be. All of the staff is so well trained they are there to handle every little detail and yet we felt we had complete privacy when we wanted it. The Riad was immaculately clean every where. On arrival we were seated in a beautiful air conditioned salon and served tea while the check in process was finished.They arranged for an English speaking guide and car for our trip to the Atlas mountains as well as for day trips through the City. Having a guide saved us from so much stress and he was fun. After the chaotic energy of the City, coming back to the tranquility and pool at the Kniza was the balance we needed. We ate our meals at the Kniza and enjoyed everyone of them. Sitting on the roof top terrace for breakfast and dinner, over looking the City, while listening to the call to prayers was a lasting memory. Definitely have a glass of the fresh orange juice.
Thanks to every one a the Riad Kniza for memories of a lifetime.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erm2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My fiance and I spent 4 nights at Riad Kniza in July, and LOVED it!

Riad Kniza is an oasis in the middle of a bustling city street. As we were led to the Riad's entrance (about a 5 minute walk through the medina, from where the car has to pull over), we were hesitant as to what to expect. But, once the door to the Riad was opened we realized why everyone raves about it! It is beautiful and relaxing, with authentic Moroccan decor. We were in room #10 which was up a set of stairs and tucked away a bit, which we loved! The room was large and impeccably clean.

The service at the Riad was very impressive. No matter what we asked for, we had it within 5 minutes or less, from one of the very friendly, english-speaking staff. Meals were served wherever you want in the Riad (one of the seating rooms, the roof, your room, at the pool, etc). The amount of food is endless, so come hungry! The front desk also recommended some pretty amazing restaurants for dinner, Le Fondouk and Maison Arabe (I highly recommend both!).

Our favorite part of the Riad was the tour guide, Omar, that they arranged for us for 2 days. Omar was extremely knowledgable and spoke perfect English. He walked us through the souks and helped us negotiate. He does not go back and take a cut from the shop owners, so he is rally on your side! He also showed us everything there is to see and provided us with just the right amount of information and history.

We spet 2 weeks abroad, and Riad Kniza was the highlight of our entire trip! Highly recommended for anyone traveling to Marrakesh.

Room tip: From what I heard, all rooms are great!
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

As the title suggests this was the hotel for our honeymoon. Our flight was delayed and diverted then finally we arrived in Marrakech 4 hours late. The taxi driver took us to the area and then told us to walk as there is no space for cars. A local man then offered to guide us to the hotel. I was sceptical but I followed him and he led us to the Riad Kniza, down a side street.
On entering the hotel our luggage was taken and we were sat in the courtyard, a table and cold drinks were brought to us. We checked in to our room and to our amazement, the room was WOW! We had the 'Ambar' room which is a senior suite. You walk in to the room facing you is a living room area with sofas a table and TV. On the right is a toilet. On the left you had a staircase which takes you to the sleeping quarters. Very spacious with a dome ceiling, a bathroom and walk in shower and also a large TV in the bedroom. We were invited down to one of the many rooms for dinner. These rooms are rustic Moroccan type rooms with large cusions and air con. The tagine (lamb or chicken) is worth a try. The food arrived with many small dishes and drinks.
Breakfast was served in our room, which came with eggs, tea, coffees, breads and cereal. We opted for breakfast in the room but could have it on the roof or in the dining areas.
After leaving the hotel for the day and returning mid-afternoon, our beds were made and room cleaned. After returning the second time our rooms were prepared for sleeping.
The hotel itself is roughly 15-20 minutes drive from the airport and a 15-20 minute walk from the main square. The neighbourhood is very traditional, not so touristy so you can immerse yourself in the culture. The area is overwhelming with street sellers etc but it makes the experience.
The best part of the stay was the hotel. The staff gave their all to make sure the trip was perfect. Shoki was one of the helpful front desk staff and gave us directions and wrote down all the places for us to see. Every evening, we would lie on the sun loungers on the roof and have drinks brought to us. A fruit drink with bananas and apples was my favourite. There is actual menu for food or drinks but you tell them what you want and they make it.
Walking through the hotel you go from courtyard to courtyard, walls are covered in mosaics and tiles, there is an open pool, many many rooms for dining and we realised Riad Kniza hosts many dinners being so popular. It seemed that dinner guests wished they were also staying at the hotel upon arrival. We also had a tour of the hotel and spa, the spa was amazing, never used it but it looked amazing. I didn't want to use the sauna as it was so hot anyway. We saw the royal suite, and it's bigger than my flat! and much nicer!
All in all a good trip made amazing by the Riad Kniza and the Kniza team. If any orders were wrong, it would be rectified straight away. The only thing I'd say is that the cleaning crew did not knock one day, our door wasn't locked so they came in but apologised straight away.
I will stay here again, best hotel and service I have experienced in my entire life.

Thank you once again from the honeymooners of room 7!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank villa_bhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Riad Kniza -- it is a stunningly beautiful place, not unlike a magical, mystical sultan's palace, with the most minute attention to every charming detail. It's in an amazing location, tucked away on a tiny "derb" or stone alleyway that opens directly into the bustling chaos of the medina. It felt like our own little secret oasis/sanctuary, especially after a few hours of negotiating our way through the winding dusty paths and among throngs of speeding scooters, stray cats, overzealous souk merchants and donkey carts. The riad is minutes away from the souks and about a 15-minute walk to the Jemma el Fna square and the Mohammed Avenue V French Quarter. Ask the riad for Omar as your guide through the medina!

The part that stood out the most for us was the attentive staff, who were friendly, helpful, and provided exceptional hospitality during our stay. Eating at the riad was an experience in itself. Their "restaurant" is essentially a living room-style space so it feels like eating at someone's home. Very generous and delicious Moroccan-style breakfasts were also included in our stay.

As all the other travelers before us have done, we highly recommend the Riad Kniza. It's certainly true to all the reviews.

Room tip: We had the Junior Suite, which I think was on the second level. Beautifully decorated and very private.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weepingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Fantastic riad, its like a little palace. So quiet and peaceful and beautifully restored. It really is an escape from the mania of the Medina as soon as you walk in the door it’s the complete opposite of chaos outside. The service and staff are excellent, really nice and so accommodating. They serve your meals wherever you want whenever you want, in your room, on the roof, in the lounges etc. I like the attitude the manager expressed when we arrived “you have breakfast any time you want; you’re on holiday if you want it at 1pm you can have it just call us 5 or ten minutes beforehand to tell us where and when and we’ll arrange it”. We did the cooking lesson with the chef Amina (if I recall correctly) which was excellent she takes you to the market outside and you pick ingredients vegetables and spices etc then she teaches you how to cook traditional tagine food and bake bread. We really enjoyed the couple of hours and the food was delicious. You need to book this on arrival though as they may not have availability. The room was fantastic and the facilities there are just flawless really. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, private, luxurious escape I would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eskillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews