We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #14 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Fantastic riad, its like a little palace. So quiet and peaceful and beautifully restored. It really is an escape from the mania of the Medina as soon as you walk in the door it’s the complete opposite of chaos outside. The service and staff are excellent, really nice and so accommodating. They serve your meals wherever you want whenever you want, in your room, on the roof, in the lounges etc. I like the attitude the manager expressed when we arrived “you have breakfast any time you want; you’re on holiday if you want it at 1pm you can have it just call us 5 or ten minutes beforehand to tell us where and when and we’ll arrange it”. We did the cooking lesson with the chef Amina (if I recall correctly) which was excellent she takes you to the market outside and you pick ingredients vegetables and spices etc then she teaches you how to cook traditional tagine food and bake bread. We really enjoyed the couple of hours and the food was delicious. You need to book this on arrival though as they may not have availability. The room was fantastic and the facilities there are just flawless really. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, private, luxurious escape I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eskillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    67
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
192
800
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed 1 night at this beautiful riad but we were very impressed. The location is excellent if you want to explore Marrakech as its right in the heart of the old part if the city and only a 15 min walk to the busy Square.

The management and staff were excellent and we could see why they have won so many awards.
Food was superb and probably one of the best meals we had during our 10 day stay in Morocco. I was keen to get some Tagine recipes and one of the staff, a lovely girl (I'm afraid I've mislaid her name), very kindly lent me a recipe book and offered to photocopy any recipes I liked.

We also were upgraded to a lovely suite so thank you very much.
We hope to visit again as it was such a special place and we can thoroughly recommend it to any fellow travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights over the summer and it was the best hotel/riad I have ever stayed in. When we arrived from our 16 hour flight we were picked up from the airport. After we checked in we were served breakfast in the beautiful lounge area while our room was being prepared. We were upgraded to a suite and when we went inside there was a platter of fruits with rose petals on the bed. It truly was a experience and I would return just to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodwine_aficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a lovely room on the first floor, although again it was a little dark. The internet worked ok. The food was good, although breakfast was "fixed" and not entirely to our requirements.
It was nice to be able to have drinks, dinner and breakfast up on the rooftop patio. The location is great. We would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David and Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Riad Kniza is a beautiful warm and friendly mini like palace. The moment we arrived we were welcomed with delicious mint tea( A must have) and pastry's. Our suite was so adorable.. Cant remember the name.. but it means Diamond!!:) PERFECT!! Like entering into a royal suite with roses everywhere!!!and a gorgeous regal bathroom. Exquisite and colorful exotic morrocan furniture made it very cozy.The hotel has a beautiful rooftop garden where breakfast is served with genuine morrocan fare. The dinner we had on the last day was a HUGE meal complete with some of the best tapas Ive ever had- I believe there was a selection of about 6, the dinner was 5 course meal and DELICIOUS!!! i cant rave enough about that dinner! ! Although the location was in between the old city walls, we were glad we stayed there versus some of the bigger names outside of the walls because we had to walk through part of the souks night and day and therefore had to interact with the real Marrakech vs just tourist spots! The staff was helpful in every way.. tour guide, comp car svc, helped me wrap my gifts, and didnt bother you with rrom svc knocks!! The best part of the hotel has got to be the STAFF!! We were treated wonderfully, everyone from the Owner Mohammed, to the entire staff!! Especially WALID!!! He is the best Trust me you will not be let down here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a sumptuous suite on the ground floor and it was perfect. The up stairs patio is very lovely and we had a delightful dinner there. We had our breakfasts in the little sitting room on the ground floor, which was cozy and pretty, filled with books and art objects. In the afternoon we had drinks right outside our room by the fountain, where my husband could smoke. The staff were such fun, and treated us like royalty. We so enjoyed our stay here. It is the perfect Moroccan experience and a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyregister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fantastic restored merchant's house just inside the walls of the old city, the perfect location for exploring either ancient or modern Marrakech. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived at the airport, very friendly driver who took us to Riad Kniza which is tucked down an alleyway off another alleyway with no indication of the splendour which lies behind the huge wooden front door. Check out the website pictures - it really is that lovely.

The staff are all young and ruthlessly efficient. Friendly without being obtrusive, nothing is too much trouble. It's the only place I've ever stayed where food is served to order any time of the day or night in any location, including on the stunning roof terrace which has views over the city to the Atlas Mountains.

We arrived on the night that 3 months of drought broke and it rained continually for our entire stay. A real bummer you would think, but actually the riad with it's open fires and sumptuous furnishings was very cosy and the rain really didn't matter.

There is a beautiful pool (unheated - they'll heat it if you ask but we liked it icy cold) and fantastic spa facilities included in the price, great food, big breakfast at a time of your choosing with every kind of moroccan bread you can imagine - forget the diet - very comfortable rooms, with big bathrooms, powerful shower and a cleaning team who seem come and go like silent angels - we hardly saw them but our room was always spotless. Nice mix of clientele from all nations. Not many children or if there were we didn't see them which we liked too.

Hat's off to the staff and management. I've stayed in some lovely places but never witnessed a team that work so well together to make their guests feel totally at home. Certainly worth every penny and I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#2 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing