We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great start to our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great start to our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had read great reviews and they lived up to our expectations. Our room was one of the more basic ones but it was still very very nice and we were very happy. The tour by the owners son was a nice touch and all the staff were very friendly.

We had arranged a private tour of the medinas and souks prior to our arrival which I found very useful - it definitely reduced the amount of times we got lost!

We had dinner on the roof terrace on our first night and it was delicious.

Staying at Kniza was a great start to our honeymoon. Sarah and James

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SarahSaunders_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    66
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
184
782
24
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Riad Kniza is not just a wonderful place to stay; its staff are THE most wonderful people, too! Kamal (the owner's son) and his team are masters of charm, warmth and hospitality. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we were made to feel highly valued guests throughout our four nights spent in Marrakech. From a gourmet dinner on the first night to delicious breakfasts on the beautiful rooftop terrace - surrounded by beautiful flowers, decor and antiques - we could not have wished for a more relaxing, comfortable environment as a perfect base for exploring the medina and the Atlas Mountains. If you are still trying to make up your mind as to where to book, don't look any further . . . just do it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacq-Aisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, MI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

You walk through a busy market area of the medina, avoiding the crowds, admiring the fresh bakery, watching the cats awaiting something to fall at the butchers and turn into a narrow alley where the local boys are playing soccer and you find a solid brown door with a substantial brass knocker. It opens and you are in a private world of tile, carved plaster, luxurious fabrics and crystal chandeliers, with a private hammam and swimming pool. We stayed in Senior Suite Yacout- STAY IN SENIOR SUITE YACOUT! there is a living room with a fireplace and two day beds, a king size bed with beautiful fabrics and a dome over the bed which is decorated with carved plaster. When you arrive there are rose petals EVERYWHERE (even on the toilet seat cover). The hotel is infused with jasmine scent. The breakfasts feature eggs, cereal, several kinds of bakery, fresh squeezed OJ, homemade yogurt and fruit. You can have them on the rooftop terrace with a view of the Atlas Mountains. Dinners are Marocain. Some of the best lamb we had in 16 days.

After a long hard day of bargaining you can have fresh squeezed OJ sent to your room. Imagine, it's 5 pm and you're hot and tired and just want a little rest before dinner and fresh squeezed OJ magically appears at your room door.

Free WIFI through the riad. Doesn't quite get to the terrace. Customer service is spot on. Best place we stayed in Morocco.

Room Tip: Senior Suite Yacout is fabulous. It used to be the Royal Suite. We walked into the Roayl Suite and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wandererannarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was our last stop in Morocco and we loved the whole experience. The staff is extremely helpful which was an added bonus. Our room was lovely and the breakfasts are superb. Make sure you take some time to have a drink on the rooftop terrace. That was really fun and a great way to relax after touring/walking around the bustling city all day. We ate dinner in the restaurant on our last night in Morocco and it was terrific. I think all the other guests at this Riad felt the same way. The atmosphere is terrific.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our visit to Marrakech was extraordinary and in a great way it was thanks to the hospitality and comfort of Riad Kniza. We made arrangements for pick-up at the airport (a must particularly if you arrive late) and the porters walked us to the riad inside the Medina. Having traveled extensively we thought we were prepared as to what to expect, we were wrong. We arrived late at night and the setting transported us to a world you only see in the movies. The hotel is located inside the Medina, near the entrance, in an alleyway that you would never have imagined. A wooden door opens into a small but quaint reception which leads into a marvelous interior courtyard with a fountain. "Magic". The rooms are exceptionally comfortable with a/c, (ours had a fireplace), TV, internet, and all the amenities of a modern first rate hotel. Although there is no formal dining room, the breakfasts served in the rooftop are fit for sultans. Particular credit goes to the staff, courteous, friendly and do not seem to know the meaning of the "impossible". A must is also the guides..."Najib and Said. "don't leave home without them".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rauljuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked riad kniza after reading reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed at all. From the time of reservation to our actual visit everything was efficient . On arrival we were greeted warmly and kamal took us on a tour of the riad. We were confirmed Samar which is a superior deluxe room for the first night and then the junior suite loubana for the rest of the stay. We ended up staying in Samar which we thought was better room. Throughout our stay, the staff wer eso friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to help us and always with a smile on their face. The detail with which the riad has been furnished and decorated is amazing. Our gourmet dinner was superb and loved the atmosphere created on the terrace. The trip to Atlas Mountains was well organised. Well done to Kamal and his team for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Superior deluxe room was a very good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Riad Kniza in May and loved every minute of it. The room was exquisite but more importantly the staff were welcoming, friendly and extremely efficient. It was everything we hoped for and more and by far the most impressive of all the accomodation we stayed in during our 9 night visit to Morocco. Will definitely return as not only was it such a beautiful place to go to, its position within the Medina was ideal and the food was scrumptious. Highly recommend anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: WE had a ground floor room and thought it might be a bit noisy but it was quiet and faultless - it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mspazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing