We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A sparkling gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #13 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A sparkling gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Riad Kniza is tucked away on a tiny lane in the old medina of marrakesh. Once inside you are immediately enraptured by this beautiful gem! Yes, the interiors are wonderful and the restaurant is devine, and but it is the staff that is so incredible! We stayed for 6 nights in January. Everyone, and I mean everyone, is just so nice and helpful! I really haven't seen any place like this! We booked a junior suite and found it perfect! Their rooftop terrace is THE place for breakfast, cocktails, or dinner! On our last evening the owner, Haz Mohamed, asked us where we were going for dinner. I told him L'Annexe in Gueliz. He said "Oh, I love this place. I am going that way so let me see if my driver is close by." Not only did he take us to the restaurant, but he went inside and told the owner to get a taxi for us to come back. I promise you, this is THE place to stay in Marrakesh!

Room Tip: Look for internet specials that include dinner, tours, and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DenverD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    67
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
192
800
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riehen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We followed the ratings on Trip Advisor and chose Riad Kniza for our vacation. We found all the previous top ratings true without exception! It is located in one side alley in the basar area and is almost impossible to find on your own. We relied on the extremely friendly staff to pick us up at the airport and guide us to the hotel. The ambiance of the hotel is absolutely fabulous, representing a renovated old town house. Each room is different. We had to change rooms several times during our stay due to heavy booking and found each of the rooms unique, tastefully decorated and clean. The staff is prepared to fulfill absolutely every wish that you have. Also try the restaurant. It has a limited selection due to the small size, but whatever we ordered, the food was excellent. You may wish to have it served in the restaurant area, on top of the roof, or in your room - the staff will just go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Check for packages, which include a free half-day tour through the basar, a half-day excursion to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meyauwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My family LOVED this riad. Attentive staff and beautiful bedrooms.. My daughters were in heaven!
Small restaurant which is so good. We ate out mostly but are here once and it was delicious.
I have nothing but praise for the staff, the hotel and it's wonderful ambiance in a very good location
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Riad Kniza exceeded our wildest expectations. We'd been to Marrakesh many times before over the last 30 years, but this was our first experience in a riad. The hospitality was extraordinary and unobtrusive. The staff seemed genuinely glad to help us in any possible way, serving us breakfast whenever and wherever we wanted, including offering to provide a full breakfast at 5.30 AM before our departure. The dinners were exceptional--perhaps the finest Moroccan food we've ever had in restaurants and equal to that served in private homes. They were happy to light a fire in the fireplace in our room to take off the chill in the late afternoon. Indeed, the whole experience was like being a guest of the family. To top it off, after I tripped on the stairs and gashed my scalp and arm, the hotel called a doctor immediately. Within a quarter of an hour he was sewing me up while I was lying on a brocaded divan in the sitting room. The hotel even sent someone out to get the antibiotics the doctor for me. Would that American health care provided such service! We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We had the Bahia Suite because it was the only room left--it was perfect for us and our adult daught...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMB119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our stay at Riad Kniza was exceptional. The room was beautiful and comfortable; the service, throughout our stay, and from every person working in the Riad, was superior; the food that was served was delicious; and the location was very convenient for exploring the city. It was the best accommodation we had in Morocco -- and we stayed at some other very nice places during our week-long adventure! If our travels bring us back to Marrakech, and I hope they do, we will definitely return to Riad Kniza!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KevinWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I had been to Marrakech before but we wanted to go back with our children. The Riad Kniza is a fantastic place to be based with easy access to the sights and sites of the old city as well as the new. The main benefit of this Riad is the incredible service - the staff is superb.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I spent two weeks traveling across Morocco and our experience at Riad Kniza was the best. They picked us up from the airport and transported us to the beautiful property, which is in a small street, in a central location. As soon as the front door opened, we were greeted with an oasis from the bustling city of Marrakech. At check-in we were served tea in one of the sitting rooms. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. The entire property is beautiful and filled with many unique sitting areas. The service is excellent. We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace each morning. I cannot recommend this property enough. You will love it if you value excellent service, traditional decor, modern amenities and a peaceful environment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hnandms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#5 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing