We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“stunning in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #15 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“stunning in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This couldn;t have been better for us as our first trip to Morocco

The city and Medina especially can feel quite daunting but this home away from home kept us cocooned from all of that and fed us delicious food and encased us in the most beautiful rooms with period furniture and tatseful design.

We didn;t want to leave

The staff are charming and couldn't have been more helpful. Their information about the city was invaluable but we hardlty ventured out as we felt so happy having time together in this wonderful place

Room Tip: make sure you book a car from the airport as it can be hard to find
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    66
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
185
784
24
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I spent an unforgettable week at the Riad in October. After a great recommendation from friends who'd stayed there, I was prepared for traditional and beautiful Moroccan-style accommodations, excellent food and gracious hosts, but nothing could prepare us for the experience to come. I had communicated by e-mail with Hicham, Samira, Amina and Kamal, the wonderful staff, and when we met them all in person, they felt like old friends. Everyone is incredible kind and helpful, and make their guests feel very special. Our room, the Johara Junior Suite, was magnificent, with a sitting area, fireplace and gorgeous bathroom. The roof terrace where we ate the sumptious breakfast and most dinners is a haven of relaxation. AND the food is spectacular!

The 7 day package was wonderful, with transfers, a trip to the High Atlas, a tour of Marrakesh, 2 massages and many other extras. The staff arranged 2 other trips for us as well, to Essouiera and the Sahara. All excursions were excellent. I was so happy to return to the Riad each time we left.

I cannot say enough in praise of Riad Kniza. We will most definitely go back for another visit, and this time I will probably never leave the premises! It is truly a bit of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: All the rooms are magnificent. There are beautiful photos of each room on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lev4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Having just spent 4 nights at Riad Kniza, I must concur with most of the reviews. It is a really charming place with excellent service and great character. We ate in the hotel every night and enjoyed both the food and the surroundings. The terrace was fantastic to enjoy breakfast or rest in the afternoon with great views of the Atlas mountains. The package which include transfers and excursions is very convenient and extremely worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ettemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
277 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel has been owned by the same family since it was built. It has been restored meticulously. It is beautiful. The service is outstanding. The food excellent. Definitely go to dinner here. The rooms are lovely, many with fireplaces. We also stayed at La Villa Orangers (Relais and Chateaux) and this definitely compares regarding beauty, service and food. The main drawback is that the pool is small and there are no gardens, just courtyards, but still a beautiful place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite nice. If you are there in the winter ask for a room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked this Riad after looking at the reviews on tripadvisor and it lived up to the fantastic reviews. It is a little piece of calm in the centre of the hustle and bustle of marrakech. The service at the Riad was fantastic and we were upgraded due to the fact it was my husbands birthday. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace, and we also had a lunch and evening meal at the Riad both of which were delicious, no menu to order from but the food was great.
The best thing about the Riad is the service from the staff - very on the ball, the transfer and the walking tour arranged through the hotel were also great.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and hope to retun one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IpswichBlonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It combines the best of both worlds, the old and the new. It gave us the hospitality and warmth of the old and the efficiency of the new. We had the most amazing stay . The staff is warm and friendly and made us feel as if we were staying with friends and helped us with any and every request with a smile.very conveniently located in the medina yet peaceful.Lovely food too.

Would love to go back there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zainab00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here in November - everything was just perfect. This place really exceeds all the expectations when it comes to the quality, atmosphere, decor, style, personnel...no matter what Highly recommended. Food here is also superbe, so is hamam and massage (special thanks to Seida). All in all, perfect place - you will not regret going there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelli2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing