We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of both worlds”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #13 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It combines the best of both worlds, the old and the new. It gave us the hospitality and warmth of the old and the efficiency of the new. We had the most amazing stay . The staff is warm and friendly and made us feel as if we were staying with friends and helped us with any and every request with a smile.very conveniently located in the medina yet peaceful.Lovely food too.

Would love to go back there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zainab00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here in November - everything was just perfect. This place really exceeds all the expectations when it comes to the quality, atmosphere, decor, style, personnel...no matter what Highly recommended. Food here is also superbe, so is hamam and massage (special thanks to Seida). All in all, perfect place - you will not regret going there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelli2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here mid October and we were very very happy indeed. Everything was just perfect. Just inside the medina is this very special accommodation. We spent 11 days travelling Morocco, and Riad Kniza was the best! Beautiful riad, beautiful decor, and beautiful staff and owner, who makes himself known to you and is very welcoming. He asked that we treat his home like our own and not to hesitate to ask for anything, how often does this happen? Riad Kniza has had some pretty amazing famous people visit, amongst them ex-presidents, actors/actresses including Brad Pitt, Goldie Hawn etc. The rooms are spacious and beautifully presented. Gorgeous indoor pool area, fantastic rooftop where you are able to have your meals, relax or sunbathe. I love that on arrival you are shown into a 'lounge' area, offered good mint tea and relax while they check you in. After being out for the day it is like coming home each evening and just can't wait to be spoilt again with a relaxing dinner & wine on the quiet rooftop with great weather. Would 100% recommend anyone to go, you definitely won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGtravels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just come back from a long weekend in Marrakech having stayed in the lovely Riad Kniza. The Riad itself was one of the highlights of our stay; beautiful decorated, very attentive yet discrete staff and perfectly located to walk to the hussle, bussle of the souks, or to jump in a cab to venture further afield. The staff could really not do enough for us - they organised a walking tour guide for us, taxis and multiple restaurant bookings, and the food we ate in the Riad was of excellent quality and very good value. We will be recommending Riad Kniza to family and friends and hope to go back again soon!

Room Tip: The junior suite we stayed in was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had read that when you stay in the Medina you are met at your taxi by a guy from your Riad and then literally he will sprint through through the market trailing your baggage until you arrive in a quiet lane and confronted by a huge carved wooden door that, when opens, welcomes you into your own paradise. It's all true!! This has just happened to us and the experience was magical. At Riad Kniza nothing is too much trouble. The service discreet and efficient and whatever you require is executed with a smile and respectful friendliness.
This was our first visit to Marrakech and the whole trip came well up to our expectations.
Riad Kniza has been lovingly and sympathetically renovated to its original glory. The finishes, furnishings and fittings are all of beautiful quality. Go....stay....whether for something special or just for a splurge, it will rejuvenate you.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dabby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have just spent 6 days at Riad Kniza, the perfect end to an 18 day stay in Marrakech. From the minute I contacted the riad by email from our home near Seattle, they helped to arrange the stay and offered special deals and excursions to the coast and to the desert that would have been difficult to arrange on our own.

We arrived at the riad after spending a full day on the road coming back from the dunes and were greeted by Kamal, the son of the owner, who gratefully recognized how exhausted we were and arranged a fantastic small meal for us before showing us to the Ambar Suite: a two story set of rooms up the stairs right off of the reception. The riad has the MOST comfortable bed we have slept on in a long time and amazing, soft, high count cotton sheets as well. We slept like babies, only to awaken to a fabulous breakfast served in our room which we, like everyone else who has left a review here has said, could not once finish.

The last night of our stay we were upgraded to the Royal Suite which was an incredible treat. Three huge rooms and so many closets and cubbyholes that we almost got lost in the space. It was a fun way to end our stay at the magical riad.

We found the Hammam and the massages to be superb. The restaurant is entirely deserving of its' great reputation. The staff was excellent and catered to our every whim. Our driver Abdou was our mentor and teacher and became a lifelong friend. It was a first time trip to Morocco for me and I fell in love with the country and the people AND the Riad Kniza. We will return. Inshallah.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our five days here in October were like a dream....winding around an alley just off the main street in the Medina, we opened the door and came upon this beautiful riad. The service was as good as one could expect anywhere...from arranging guides, offering advice and being there at the door with bottles of water as we came and went out for the day. Loved the rooms, each totally original. The breakfasts were amazing and a delicious dinner was served on the rooftop terrace upon request. There is a spa and a small indoor pool. I arranged a wonderful package with the hotel that included a tour of the city, a massage, steam, and a dinner on the night of our arrival. An extra...we had wireless internet in our room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MakeaMemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
1,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#18 of 500 in Marrakech
2,124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#5 of 500 in Marrakech
549 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $196 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing