We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay!”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #14 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Absolutely beautiful Riad! Set in a quiet location, it is about a 10 minute walk to the main square. The staff are friendly, and efficient. Breakfast on the rooftop was amazing. Hammam was good, but I have had better but good nonetheless. The rooms have been beautiful done..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AwA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

Describing Riad Kniza, it's easy to run out of superlatives. The riad itself is beautiful, luxurious, spacious, and clean. It's located in the Marrakesh medina, close to the souks if shopping the stalls is part of your plan, and a comfortable walk to the legendary Jemaa el Fna (Marrakesh's central square).

Beyond the riad itself are Kamal, the director, who helped us plan our whole trip; Samira, who, so far as we could tell, lived at the front desk and was there to take care of us; and everyone else on the staff:

* Did we want to have our dinner in one of the gorgeous sitting rooms instead of the restaurant, so we could stay warm by the fireplace (when we were there the weather was unseasonably cold)? Of course. And a word of warning: You'll have a hard time taking meals anywhere else, Riad Kniza's cuisine was so delicious.

* Did we need a guide to show us the medina (the ancient, walled city)? Samira provided one we could trust. (Travel tip: The default assumption just about anywhere in Morocco is that tourists are there to shop. If you want to see historical sites instead of shopping at the souks, make sure to tell your guide that this is your preference.)

* How about a driver, to show us the rest of Morocco after we left Riad Kniza (well, not all of the rest … there's so much to experience there!)? They made all of the arrangements, and our driver, Abdul, was exceptional.

If you're a chronic complainer, you'll find Riad Kniza frustrating, as you'll find nothing to complain about. For the rest of us? It's simply superb.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gnathonemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Riad kniza is everything you read about in the excellent reviews held here and so much more. It's difficult to describe perfection and a stay at this riad comes close. Service is second to none, the rooms are just beautiful, the sun terrace is great, breakfast, massage wonderful.

The trip around the medina gets your bearings but the guide tends to leave you behind. The opposite can be said for the atlas mountain trip, this was a highlight of our stay an our guide was brilliant.

Go to Marrakech as its such a great experience but make sure you stay at riad kniza!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottPCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Sublime riad in the centre of the Medina. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the atmosphere sublime, the food unsurpassed....we truly enjoyed our stay!
And the breakfast at the roof terrasse....couldn't be better!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We recently stayed here three nights along with another family. My family with two children stayed in the Senior Suite Yakout and our friends with one child stayed in the Junior Suite Johara. Both suites were spectacular. The entire Riad is really breath taking. But the real joy was the service. The Riad is owned and run by the same Moroccan family for many years and their attention to detail and never ending effort to please was second to none. Long before we made the trip, the staff via emails assisted me with making dinner reservations at Riad Kniza's fabulous restaurant and other restaurants in the city. They also arranged our daily private guides and our private transportation to Agadir (we spent the next three nights at the Sofitel resort there). We simply cannot say enough good things about Riad Kniza and its staff.

Room Tip: Staff will help you pick the correct room for your needs. Just ask them for guidance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

WONDERFUL STAY IN A “SPECIAL” RIAD

What can I add to all those lovely reviews about Riad Kniza, which has already been named the No 1 Riad in Marrakech? Three friends and I spent five enjoyable nights in the Riad, not as clients, but as “guests”... of the Moroccan family, who own it and who supervise everything in the friendliest and most efficient way. All your previous reviewers have described more than accurately the feelings of the person, who arrives near the Riad through the hassle and noise of the Medina and the entrance to the “paradise”, opening before his eyes and being welcomed by the people at the Riad, Samira, Amina and all the rest of the lovely, smiling and friendly people, who work there.
The rooms and suites are decorated in the best of taste, they are cleaned and serviced every time you exit…, they are equipped with every amenity possible, not like in a five-star hotel, but in a “palace”, where royalty is housed. Whatever you ask for is brought to you immediately, complimentary drinks and fruits are abundant and all in all you feel you are the guests of special friends.
The complimentary dinner, included in the price, was just wonderful and the breakfast every day was one of the best breakfasts we ever had, with cakes and breads, freshly baked every day and fresh milk, coffee and pitchers of freshly pressed orange juice, which were offered not only at breakfast, but also anytime of the day you wanted.
The guide and the driver, who accompanied us on the complimentary tour of the Medina and the souks and to the Atlas Mountains, were both nice and knowledgeable guys, who spoke good English and had a friendly attitude. All in all our stay at the Riad Kniza was a most enjoyable one, which we would HIGHLY recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Riad Kniza is a wonderful and amazing place. We spent Easter here and all agreed that it was one of our best family holidays. The owners and staff are so kind, friendly and attentive, and they make every effort to ensure that anything which we might need or want was anticipated in advance. The riad is beautiful and so peaceful, which is a real haven after the bustling streets of Marrakech. The suite in which we stayed was lovely, the restaurant serves delicious food, and the hammam was so restful.

We also are very grateful for the various excursions which the riad recommended and arranged for us. We had a tour of Marrakech and went into the Atlas mountains, both of which were amazing experiences. The riad arranged these, and we were so well looked after.

Riad Kniza is a fantastic place to stay, and we are looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: Beautiful suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vista71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#301 of 501 in Marrakech
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Darsor
Darsor
#320 of 501 in Marrakech
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#339 of 501 in Marrakech
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Pavillon Du Golf
Le Pavillon Du Golf
#336 of 501 in Marrakech
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Racine
Hotel Racine
#222 of 501 in Marrakech
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Tuscia
Dar Tuscia
#300 of 501 in Marrakech
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $238 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing