We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Could anything be this good?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #14 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could anything be this good?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

When I first read the reviews of Riad Knizaon tripadvisor, I was sceptical. Nothing could have prepared me for what lay behind the plain wooden door off a grey little derb in the old souk. I entered a sanctuary. On arrival I was taken to a quiet alcove off a lovely inner courtyard for tea to wait while I was registered. The Riad itself is a jewel box of colour. The staff were warm and welcoming. The rooms are gracious and large, with enough of the feel of the old house to suit me, and all the desired modern amenities. The food was ambrosia and the views from the roof terrace the most romantic in the world. In all it was superb and every accolade deserved! Congratulations on being chosen best hotel in North Africa!

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbaraEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    67
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
190
789
25
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We staryed in Jan 2012 and couldnt have picked a more fantastic Riad. The luxury of the rooms and the helpful and friendly staff made it an unforgettable holiday.
Breakfast on the roof terrace is a must as is the evening meal in the dining room which is reminiscent of something out of Arabian nights.
We stayed in the Kenzo suite and it was an amazing room, the little touches such as rose petals on the bed and the fire being lit on an evening makes it memorable.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they arranged restaurant bookings, tour guides and gave use recommendations of what to do in marrakesh.
If you want to stay in Marrakesh I cant rate this highly enough. We looked at a couple of others plus one of the luxury hotels in the medina but they are not a patch on the riad Kniza.
If you are looking for a truely luxurious break that gives you the real marrakesh experience then you need to stay at the Riad Kniza.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My wife and I have been fortunate to travel all over the world and stay in many forms of accommodation. This easily ranks as the finest in many ways. Ironically I arrived in marrakesh with food poisoning. The staff was beyond kind and helpful, even after I rushed from dinner, even after I got sick in a very messy way, even after I rang at 2am looking for bananas. I felt like the staff truly cared for my well being.

In better days that followed I was also able to notice how romantic this Riad is.

To Amina, Samira, Kamal and all the staff at the Riad, you should be proud of how great a product you deliver. It is a true home away from home in a place that looks nothing like my house.

Additional notes:
- location perfect from both safety and convenience perspective
- has a marvelous and unique character
- the room and bathroom were pristinely clean and beautifully decorated
- extra ordinary assistance with making reservations and travel plans in morocco
-lovely breakfast included

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 02139MDcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

From the moment the beautiful wood door was opened for our entry, our entire stay and experience with Riad Kniza was amazing. We were greeted with warm mint tea and cookies before being shown to our beautiful suite. First impressions are important, and our first impression of our suite was stunning. Rose petals were sprinkled on the bed, in the bathroom, and on the sitting room table. A bowl of fresh fruit and bottled water awaited us. It wasn't just the beauty of the interior, though, and all the attention to decorating details. The service was beyond belief. Anything we wanted was delivered immediately. We had a beautiful breakfast brought to the rooftop terrace. We took advantage of the on-site spa services, and we had two very enjoyable dinners here. We would recommend this Riad most highly to anyone visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: Sultan Suite is an amazing three room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 700Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed in Riad Kniza for NY's and were very appreciative of the luxury having just climbed Mt Toubkal in the snow and cold!
We ate out - (there is so much choice) but breakfast was great on the roof terrace even if a little nippy ( great sunrise over the city)
Staff are very professional and owner is well know figure in Marakech. Note the famour guests including Brad Pitt!
The only small thing was that the room felt a little small and hot water was a little intermittent.
Wi-fi was free (as it should be everywhere) and there is a good hamman facility on the ground floor. Its an inner sanctum if you want to escape the noise and wonders of Marakech.
Staff are also good English speakers just in case you need help getting around.

Room Tip: ask for a first level room;
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbb-global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Kniza in November of 2011. It was a delightful place and the owner was also the top rated tour guide in Marrakech. He has directed tours for presidents as well as other famous people in Marrakech. Highly recommended place to stay in the old city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkfam20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful visit to Marrakech and the surrounding area. I would highly recommend the Riad Kniza. The riad is a beautiful sanctuary from the bustle of the medina, but you still feel that you are surrounded by the culture. The decorations and cuisine is authentic Moroccan, and the service is incomparable to anywhere we’ve stayed around the world.

Surprisingly, only a few riads in Marrakech are owned by Moroccan families. It is obvious that the Riad Kniza family is very well respected and connected in Marrakech. This is definitely a benefit in getting the best city guides, services and trips outside of the city. Since it was our first visit and we only had 5 nights, we wanted to maximize our time, but not feel rushed. We were able to describe an overnight trip we wanted to take to the edge of the desert and the area around Ourazazate. Kamel made a few recommendations of “must-see” places, and within minutes our trip was arranged.

We also found the location ideal. It is only a 15-minute walk from the Jemaa el Fnaa Square, and very close to one of the medina’s main gates, which makes it easy to get to the airport and Ville Nouvelle.

Thanks to the entire staff and guides for making our stay in Marrakech fantastic! We hope to see you again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barolo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#24 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing