We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Terrific Riad and Terrific Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #13 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific Riad and Terrific Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed at Riad Kniza on a tour of Morocco with 6 friends. Kniza was a terrific place even though we had LOTS of rain so we couldn't enjoy the terraces. We had our first hamman in the Kniza and it couldn't have been more perfect. We didn't have any of the other spa services so can't comment on that. Actually our dinner in the Riad was probably the best in Marrakech even though we went to others that were highly regarded and we found them lacking in either service, food or comfort. The breakfasts were fresh and welcoming. Everything was clean, clean, clean. One strange area is the total lack of towel and garment books in the bathroom. We still don't know where they expected us to put our towels or swimsuits from the pool. We like to reuse our towels several times but we had to ask for fresh ones from room service because there was NO place to dry them. Really really strange. The staff was helpful and courteous. The swimming pool is small and it was cool because of the rains. It would be terrific on a hot day which we did not experience. My only concern is that the next time I go to Marrakech I won't be able to get a room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huldawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    67
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
192
800
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

After much research on which Riad to choose, Riad Kniza was the winner and we are happy to say that the stay was wonderful. My husband and I were impressed by the welcoming staff, the great room decor traditional of the Moroccan style, and the cleanliness of everything. We even took a cooking lesson where the chef went to the market with us to buy fresh ingredients, and then gave us the lesson, the food was delicious. Overall, great experience and recommend Riad Kniza with two thumbs up

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcritic714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Our stay at this riad was a delightful experience. The owner and his staff couldn't do enough to help us. Our room was fantastic, although not cheap was worth every penny.
We would have preffered a walk-in shower as it was very difficult to get in and out of the bath which had a deep ledge. The food was good. The souk was the same as souks the world over but fun to visit if you ignored the pleas to buy from them!
i would think all the rooms at this hotel would be good just varying in size. We had a junior suite.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenemorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farum, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Imagine you could stay in a Royal Moroccan Palace where you are the King and Queen…. Where your every wish and desire is provided with a kind loving smile, promptly and at any time you wish, whether that be breakfast, lunch, dinner, tea, drinks, incredible massages, sauna, hammam, champagne, advice, chauffeur, chat, sunbathing etc, all tailored to your special requests, in magnificent, beautiful tranquil surroundings with water fountains, and open air palace style court yards ……. does such a place actually exist for other than Royalty? After staying in the Royal Suite at Riad Kniza, we know it does.
We feel very blessed that we were so lucky to have this place recommended to us. After staying here for one week, enjoying the hospitality, first class service, a surprise ice cream birthday cake, refreshments which included yummy Moroccan goodies/ biscuits, plentiful breakfasts, nice dinners and amazing massages, we feel truly uplifted. We would hereby like to thank everyone at Riad Kniza, for giving us such a memorable experience and for making us feel so special.
Martin and Suzanne

Room Tip: book at least one night in the royal suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinandSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This lovingly restored Riad is set inside the medina walls. Skilled teams of craftsmen have proudly created a real gem of Moroccan architecture and art. My room was immaculately appointed, the breakfasts generous, the rooftop terrace the perfect place to hear the main square, Djemaa-el Fna, come alive in the evening while enjoying a refreshing beverage, the especially created dinners by a master chef all served to heighten the Marrakech experience. The lovely staff did not disappoint and our kind host was ever present inquiring after the satisfaction of his guests.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacromonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Riad Kniza was extraordinary in so many ways, from the beautiful traditional architecture to the outstanding service. We wanted to stay in a place that captured the "feel" of the culture, opposed to a large, modern, commercialized hotel chain. At this riad, we felt like sultans in a small palace. Our room was the Royal Bahia suite, which was spacious and allowed us to each claim a place to read, watch TV, or take a nap. Beds were comfortable and the room was very quiet. We could not tell that there were other guests in the hotel! Our kids (10 and 13) loved sunning on the rooftop terrace, and my husband and I could have a glass of wine or cup of tea anywhere in the hotel and not worry about our kids being on their own - the hotel is small, cozy, and quiet - no way to get lost or in trouble. We found the location to be convenient for taxis and it is only a 15-minute walk to the main square, Djemma El-Fna. We liked that it was away from all of the chaos and tourists!
The only downside for the kids was that there were not a lot of things for them to do in the hotel. The pool looked so inviting, but it was FREEZING when we were there in April. Perhaps it heats up in the summer. Books and iPods came in handy for downtimes at the hotel.
The staff is extremely pleasant and polite - always willing to answer questions, provide advice, and make sure our stay was enjoyable. They made it easy to book trips and procure guides. One piece of advice about tours - make sure you know in advance the itinerary of the excursion and whether you will need extra money for anything besides tips. On one occasion we had some confusion about something not being included in the original price, and we believe the additional guide (whom we had not contracted) was trying to get more money out of us than agreed upon. Perhaps the 2 guides were working together. Anyway, just check with the hotel before going out to make sure you understand what to expect.
The food at the hotel was wonderful, and they are happy to customize the meals for you. It was all typical Moroccan fare, and even our picky eaters found things they liked. You can request to have a meal or tea anywhere in the hotel - their lounges are beautiful and the rooftop is special when it is not too windy.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Marrakesh. It is a special spot which truly transports you to another time and place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drathbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We recently stayed at the Riad for 3 nights before our onward journey to the Atlas Mountains.
The hotel was wonderful, the breakfasts plentiful and most enjoyable to dine on the roof terrace at a time that suited ourselves..it was just a phone call away
As per most of the reviews for this hotel the service is the one thing that really stands out
The staff are INCREDIBLY helpful and knowledgeable. We had the majority of our dealings with Mohammed (Front of House). He was extremely helpful in liaising with our driver, guides, booking restaurants for us, recommendations and anything we needed help for in general he was our man! We enjoyed a hammam and massage too. The lady that gave me the massage was one of the best I have ever had and I felt like I was floating on air afterwards..that is definitely a must have during your stay.
The location of the Riad is perfect for getting around and visiting the local sights and the Medina, without being right on top of all of the hustle and bustle. If I had to write something negative it would be the extremely cold swimming pool (too cold for me!) and our room on the ground floor, was not very private as you could hear everything in the lobby and reception . I therefore did not sleep as well as I would have liked so recommend a room further away or on the floor above. But all in all these are very small negatives compared to the vast amount of positives. I would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#5 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing