We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hands down, the nicest hotel/riad we have even stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #90 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hands down, the nicest hotel/riad we have even stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Our family does a lot of traveling every year (3 moths out of a year). This hotel/riad is by far the nicest we have ever stayed in.

I appreciated all the details - the tassel key rings, carved wooden doors, the lime plaster walls, the thick drapes, the plaster carvings, the tufted beige colored chairs in the dining room & the stone wall that was hand carved, stunning! The fresh squeezed orange juice, the attentiveness of the staff, the sliver of soap in the bathroom smelled so good. The alcoves hidden all over the riad. What else can I say? I am ready to move in!

Upon our arrival, there were 4 cold mint teas waiting for us. As well as, a beautifully cook meal. This was appreciated after traveling from Tangier on a 10 hour train ride...with 2 children, need I say more.

During our week stay, we did have dinner outside the riad. Although the meals were good, the riad's meals were always the best by far!

You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #3 - the bathroom was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rossicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    22
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
210
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leyburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Riad Farnatchi was heaven on earth after a busy day bustling around the Medina. It was almost unbelievable that behind the high walls and literally minutes from the souks you could not hear a sound other than the trickling of the very welcoming pool - the perfect way to cool off and chill out. Once in my suite the tranquility continued and I felt I had total peace and privacy throughout my stay. The full body massage was one of the best I've had and all of the staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
188 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

To be clear:
1. Great, very great building. Congratulations to the investors in creating this piece of art.
2. Perfect location in the middle of the Medina
3. Great experience in using a Hamam for the first time
4. Great, clean great-sized rooms with all possible services you need
5. Tailor-made, personal (mostly) service
So, yes, we would go back

The "if" is about food:
1. Breakfast is good to very good but eating 4 morning in a row the same thing (even if it was good) gets a bit "boring"
2. We had diner once. It was good, not great

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lialis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
I cannot pretend that this review is anything other than astonishing. Having spoken with you several times a day myself and talked you through all the options for your trip, from restaurants to sightseeing, via carpet sellers and the finer details of malfunctioning taxi meters, I was frankly shocked to read that there was anything that was less than perfect during your stay. It is, of course, fair to say that we don't offer bacon or ham for breakfast, as we consider it disrespectful to our Muslim staff to ask them to prepare pig meat. In its place, however, we offer a unique menu of 18 different egg dishes, from traditional Berber to classical French. Our breakfast menu is significantly more comprehensive than the vast majority of the world's great five star hotels. And as with everything else in Farnatchi, if you don't see it and you want it, all you have to do is ask. That is why we have 21 staff for 9 suites.

With regard to your comments about our food, I am a little less concerned now that I have done my research than I was when I first read them. One of the restaurants where we went to great lengths to find you a table that was not next to smokers was the ever popular Al Fassia. By popular consent amongst well heeled Moroccans, Al Fassia is the best a la carte restaurant serving traditional local food, even though it is certainly not the most expensive. The only place that our guests regularly rate (on TripAdvisor) as being better is Riad Farnatchi. Your somewhat parsimonious comments about Farnatchi's dinner became less upsetting when compared to the distinctly mediocre review you have just posted about the poor souls of Al Fassia.

I think that you know that our whole team would have moved heaven and earth to make your stay absolutely perfect if you had given us the slightest indication at the time that there was anything at all that you might have wanted to change. As it was, every indication was that your stay had been perfect - as you had every right to expect. I am therefore extremely disappointed that you have chosen to rate us below the average score of your fellow guests. Perhaps, on reflection, you too may feel that you have been a bit harsh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This Riad is amazing and the attention to detail throughout is impeccable. We stayed for a long weekend in suite three and after walking around the souks there was nothing better than coming back to the tranquility of Farnatchi and enjoying some homemade pastries and mint tea. In our room we were provided with jelebas and slippers which we relaxed in whilst enjoying our homemade treats.

We booked a dinner with a group of friends on the rooftop which was the highlight of our stay in Marrakech. The service was attentive but not obtrusive, and the traditional cuisine was some of the best we enjoyed in Morocco.

I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone wishing to experience the heart of Marrakech whilst having a peaceful and relaxing experience once you exit the busty streets of the Souk. Excellent and will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

From the moment I walked into the Riad Farnatchi with our group of friends and family, I was enchanted. We were so excited about our beautiful suites that we spent the first hour checking out each other's rooms, which were decorated in their own unique way. What struck me was the care with which each item, piece of furniture, color, mirrors , lighting were chosen. I seemed to have spent hours during my four day stay marveling at every detail which provided a feast for the eyes and senses.
Each evening we had delicately made hors d'oeuvres with wonderful wines to start our evening's activities. For the first night our group had an amazing barbecue on the roof of the Riad, which was an incredible feast. Breakfasts were perfect with freshly made yogurt, breads, fruits and eggs any way we wished...All served with a smile in timely fashion. What a way to start the each day!
During our stay, the staff was totally gracious and attentive....I can recommend Riad Farnatchi without reservation.
Treat yourself to a memorable stay in the Medina of Marrakesh.

Room Tip: Any room at the Riad Farnatchi is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I enjoyed a great 2 nights staying at Riad Farnatchi, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and attended not only to requests in the Riad but also helped us get the most out of Marrakech. The Riad is stunning and rooms extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G1scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

riad farnatchi provided the perfect balance - of privacy and service, of modern and traditional style. we only saw the staff when we needed them and they delivered all services promptly with a kind smile. although I believe there were several other guests during our staying there, we only ever saw one other couple, making it feel like truly a private retreat.

our suite with balcony (a perfect spot for breakfast) was beautiful, understated style, very quiet, and extremely comfortable with a luxurious bathroom and shower, and wonderful fireplace. the common areas - courtyard banquettes and rooftop were perfect retreats for afternoon tea and canapes.

dinner recommendations were great, especially the recommendation to dine in their incredible jewel-box of a dining room. we had a private meal there with some interesting and very delicious dishes.

we loved the location - we easily learned our way around the neighborhood with a few useful landmarks nearby, and so we were able to access everywhere within the medina easily by foot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#40 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#13 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Property: Riad Farnatchi
Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing