We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic place to say” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #85 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to say”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

As first time travellers to Marrakech we were keen to stay in the Medina to get a taste of the real Morocco. We were met at the airport and brought direct to the Riad which is in the heart of the old city. On arrival we were greeted with mint tea, a tour of the hotel and an opportunity to learn more about how to plan our short stay. Our room was fantastic with a balcony overlooking the pool, our own courtyard, a separate sitting room, a good sized bedroom along with a monsoon shower and marble bath. Each morning we had breakfast on the roof overlooking the Medina. Nothing was too much trouble. A highlight was the opportunity to book a Hammam at the Riad. We would highly recommend Riad Farnatchi for those looking for a taste of luxury in a boutique style setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuandFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your first stay in Marrakech so much and hope that you will come again soon! I was especially pleased to note that you enjoyed your Hammam, it is a great authentic experience that i would recommend everyone trys on their first trip to Marrakech. Thank you for taking the trouble to write review, every one counts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    23
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
49
214
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

All you read about Riad Farnatchi is true. It is an amazing place, an oasis of calm in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The public areas are beautifully presented and relaxing, the bedrooms individually decorated to a high standard and very comfortable after a long day around town. Once inside the Riad it’s hard to believe you are only a 2 minute walk from the souk

What makes this a great place to stay are the people who run the Riad. Nothing is too much trouble for this friendly and attentive bunch. From serving a simple cup of tea in the cool of the courtyard to arranging an evening’s entertainment. Thank you to all the staff at the Riad for making our holiday truly memorable but special thanks to Miriam, Saida and Karim who looked after us so well.

The location is not just handy for shopping, around the corner is a good restaurant and two museums are on the doorstep. We would recommend you eat at least once at the Riad, not just for the excellent food but to enjoy the opulent design of the dining room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandCarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you ever so much for taking the time and effort to write a review for us, it really is so kind and makes such a difference. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Farnatchi and the shopping on our door step in the heart of the old town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The experience of dealing with Riad Farnatchi set the whole standard for our trip.
My reservation was dealt with efficiently and confirmation sent instantly together with detailed information regarding the menu offered, hammam, treatments and reviews by the Riad's owner of other places to eat.

On arrival at Marrakesh airport we were met by a driver that was arranged and included by the Riad - He was standing at the exit with our name clearly displayed on a Riad Farnatchi board. We were then driven to the riad and once we got to the medina we were met by a host and our luggage was transferred to a cart we followed the host a short distance through the Medina to reach the riad - This was our induction to Marrakesh, crowds of people, donkeys, motorbikes that seem to aim at you and cobbled streets.

We arrived at a wooden door in the wall which was opened up and we were greeted by the manager Mourad and with cold towels. We were then given a tour of the riad which is peaceful and tastefully decorated. It is extremely calm and it truly felt like we were the only guests despite it actually being full.

We were in Suite 3 which is on the first floor. It comprised of a spacious bedroom, lounge with a balcony overlooking the courtyard and a huge bathroom with sunken bath, separate shower and toilet. All products were Molton Brown and robes etc are supplied. The suite is air conditioned and complimentary water is provided. The room does not have any tea/coffee facilities,however this can be ordered at any time and is provided complimentary.

The service at the Riad is exceptional and efficient. It really does feel like a home and you can have anything you want anywhere. They even presented my husband with a delicious birthday cake

We ate in the small dining room and the menu is limited but the food provided was exceptional, it seems such a shame that we appeared to be the only ones eating there..

The Farnatchi is in a great location within the Medina which means you are very close to everything - The square, souks, spice market etc. The one down side to this is that the mosque calls prayer every morning at around 5 am which is very loud, this is part and parcel of being central and should not reflect on the Riad.

I highly recommend the Riad if you are looking for a tranquil haven in the bedlam of Marrakesh and you will not be disappointed with the levels of service offered or the level of accommodation offered for the price

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are so grateful to you for going to the trouble of writing this review of your stay especially as your words are so kind! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Riad Farnatchi and Marrakech and certainly hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

I was so pleased to note that you enjoyed eating at with us. We serve a lot of dinners at the riad and our food is something that we take huge pride in, we are always looking for ways to improve and new things to add to our menu and hopefully when we get permission to build a restaurant opposite us we will be able to expand the menu further.

Again thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

we were treated royally and nothing was too much for the staff .riad was stylish and elegant and enjoyed having breakfast either served on the roof terrace or by the pool . we ate in the restaurant twice during our stay and food was very enjoyable and of a high standard.
rooms very clean .

Room Tip: we had room 3 with a balcony overlooking the inside pool .our sleepdidn't get disturbed by the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Riad Farnatchi, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope very much that we can look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having never been to Marrakech before, the initial arrival in Place Moqef was an extraordinary assault on the senses followed by a rapid walk through the medina avoiding bikes, mopeds, street vendors, donkeys, piles of rubbish, trolleys loaded with food, beggars, etc. etc. Having navigated the madness, we reached Riad Farnatchi - an extradordinary oasis of peace with cool flannels, sweet mint tea and with no noise other than the tweeting of birds and water. Our room was palatial and comfortable and we were made very welcome. Great service. Very attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for what I know from our chats during your stay, you had intended as a complimentary report. We are always thrilled to get reports from our guests and take all comments extremely seriously. We were all a bit disappointed that your description of "palatial rooms" was not matched by your star rating for the same room. Perhaps because our rooms are regularly praised as being the best in town (the preceding report, from a particularly well travelled guest, comparing our rooms favourably with those in the world famous Mamounia is a case in point), your 4 star marking was even more disappointing. I would really be immensely grateful if you were to get the chance to drop us the quickest of emails just clarifying what caused the poor star rating alongside the high praise in your description. With regard to the equally uncharacteristic value rating, I think that one has to accept that there are plenty of cheaper places in town, some of which will match some of the services and facilities that we offer. In unashamedly positioning Farnatchi at the top of the Riad market, I accept that some guests may feel that they would have been happy to manage without some of the comforts and services we hold dear and to take a corresponding saving. I really do hope though, that on reflection, you might accept that the 3 stars that you awarded to "value" was rather harsh. We don't expect our guests to give a moment's thought to our fastidious attention to international standards of health and safety, our 21 staff for just 9 rooms, or our wet central heating system in the winter which is so much more comfortable than everyone else's warm air system. These are the things that we believe our guests have a right to take for granted but are all extremely rare in the medina and do need to be paid for. Our accountant is forever trying, without a hope of success, to persuade me to trim them! In reality, you may only use a few of them during your stay but the fact that they are always there waiting in the background is what makes the difference between a great hotel and one that merely looks good on the surface. I really do hope that you will agree that it is also what defines value, as opposed to cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st,simons island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wonderful start to our honeymoon. The place is beautiful and so peaceful. The staff is very good at the balance of being extra attentive to your needs but also giving you the freedom to use the place as your own home during your stay. Extremely clean and safe. We hope to return again sometime. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocelyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this lovely review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay especially as it was the start of your Honeymoon. We all wish you every happiness for your future and hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent one week at the incredible Riad Farnatchi in July 2013. It is such a special place. Firstly you step from the hustle and bustle of the souks into a tranquil, calm oasis. The riad itself, offers privacy; such wonderful support and service from the brilliant staff; first class dining opportunities; facilities which will delight you.
Our suite was luxurious - large with a huge, comfortable bed, sitting area, television, etc. The bathroom was amazing. We were able to leave our suite by another door, go up some steps on to a private roof terrace, specifically for our suite, which had a table, chairs and sun loungers. We had our breakfast there every morning - wonderful!!
The pool is small but offers a wonderful opportunity to cool down and relax in calm, cool surroundings, after a busy day in the heat! It has a powered underwater jet, so you are able to swim against a powerful stream of water - great for those who want to exercise.
We ate at the riad twice - food and service were both amazing. The riad arranged courtesy transfer both to and from the airport which was really helpful. We utilised their services to arrange a 4 wheel drive trip to the Atlas mountains which I would thoroughly recommend.
The riad is situated to the northern end of the souks. Don't be afraid to ask the staff for a map, directions and also for a contact number for their approved taxi driver. Finding your way back to the riad in the evening can be a bit of a challenge but staff are happy to help.
All in all a wonderful and special experience - we shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellersNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are all so grateful for your wonderful review! I am also extremely pleased to note that you enjoyed our day-trip to the Atlas mountains and the food at Riad Farnatchi. I very much hope that you will revisit Marrakech and Riad Farnatchi soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#54 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#15 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#51 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#27 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#100 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Property: Riad Farnatchi
Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing