We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quite extraordinarily wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #92 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite extraordinarily wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Marrakech and all it's wonders can be quite an assault on the senses - it's incredible and magical but can actually become somewhat exhausting by day three. Well that was certainly what I found on my first visit 10 years ago.
However this time I decided to stay at Riad Farnatchi based on the reviews I had read, the beautifully laid out website and of course - the photos. As a result it completely changed my perspective on the city and I just can't recommend it enough. The Riad blew my away - not a single photo really does it justice. When you arrive in the Old city it's inevitable that you are hit by the mayhem and sensation of the city and then amidst all of this you arrive, down a small shaded back alleyway to this beautifully looking door, you are greeted by a beaming member of staff and enter the Riad.
People have mentioned in their reviews that it is a hidden gem - and there's not really a better way to put it.
It's tranquil and calm and beautiful - the attention to detail is beyond any place I have ever stayed before.
I'm one of those people that love to explore cities, I wanted to disappear into the souks and eat couscous from the street vendors in the square and not to spend all day sunbathing on the rooftops. However returning to the Riad, be it in the morning, afternoon or evening, was really - for lack of a better word - blissful. It was a world removed from the chaotic atmosphere of the buzzing alleyways and souks that were a stones throw away. Location wise it was the perfect place from which to discover Marrakech.
Me and my friend (who really did spend her days simply relaxing in the pool or catching the rays from the Riad rooftop) would sit and have a drink and watch the sunset over the noise of the city from the Riad us in the evening and it really was magical. So chilled, so charming and exactly the way anyone should enjoy Marrakech.
It is the only place I would now stay when I'm in Marrakech, without a doubt. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more efficient and James (the owner of the Riad) was delightful to sit and chat to as well as brilliantly helpful with all aspects of our trip.

If you are heading to Marrakech - really take my word for it - this is hands down the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimWelply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write this very kind review, it really is hugely valuable to us especially when the review is such a glowing report! The team take great pride in their work and will very much enjoy hearing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    22
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
210
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at the Riad in June this year with a friend and I have to say it is one of the best places I have ever stayed in. As an interior designer I can be very critical of the interior but it really is unique with beautiful Moroccan antiques set in a stunning modern backdrop.

The staff were beyond helpful and we were even lucky enough to have a full tour of the Riad by the manager - a real treat.

Riad Farnatchi is a hidden oasis in the bustle of Marrarkech. As soon as you step through the hidden door you are transported to a quiet, beautiful environment - whilst sitting here writing this view at my desk at work I wish I could transport myself to the Riad and be having a massage followed by a glass of wine by the pool!

A huge thanks to everyone at Riad Farnatchi for an unforgettable stay - expect to be inundated by visits from my friends and family that keep having the hear about its beauty!

Room Tip: All are wonderful - you can choose if you would like a private balcony overlooking the wonderful cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are all so pleased that you enjoyed staying at Riad Farnatchi. We very much look forward to welcoming all your family and friends, thank you for spreading the word! We also hope that you will make it back to Marrakech before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Riad Farnatchi was a truly unique discovery. It was close to the souks and many of the sights of Marrakech and once inside the Riad, it was a haven. We found the Riad with the help of one of the friendly staff who greeted us at the edge of the old town once the streets became too narrow for our taxi to penetrate. After turning off a rather non-descript alleyway, the door of the Riad opened and we were welcomed by Saidea who could not do enough to help and accommodate us. We were handed cold refreshing face cloths and offered drinks before we were shown around – both very welcome after our journey. The décor was fabulous from the ground floor right up to the amazing roof terrace, where the views were incredible.
The Riad was immaculately presented and so stylish – the detail was astonishing. The ambiance was tranquil; a perfect place to retreat and escape the rather lively surroundings outside. The food was delicious and seemed to cater for all tastes and there were over 10 different ways of eating your eggs in the morning!
The Hamman was a fabulous experience – don’t miss it.
I cannot rate Riad Farnatchi more highly – thank you ………… we’ll be back!

Room Tip: Each suite is individual and they are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Farnatchi and that you plan to return! We are always working on improvements so hopefully you will see some changes when you next visit. I am also delighted to note that you enjoyed our food, we only cook to order so are able to really offer the freshest and most traditional Moroccan food. Thank you ever so much for leaving a review, it really is a huge help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Truly, it was our favorite experience ever. We absolutely adored it and the service was incredible. It was so beautiful that when I walked in I started to cry! The decor authentic, food incredible and service impeccable! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferJJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your extremely kind words, we are always striving to offer the best possible food and service and it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed it . I very much hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Marrakech soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon and can't praise this place or the staff enough. The Riad is gorgeous and our suite was beautiful, with large private balcony overlooking the courtyard pool, lounge, bedroom with doors to a privare sun terrace, rainfall shower with an array of Molton Brown shower gels, shampoo and conditioner (girls will definitely appreciate this!) and sumptuous bathroom with jack and Jill basins and sunken bath. We had heard fab reviews about the food here so decided to eat in the first night. Before dinner, we found the duty manageress to ask a few questions - I had just had some henna art done (at Henna Cafe- it's brilliant) and didn't want to stain any towels or linen so asked for an old towel, to ask if they could rearrange a dinner reservation for us the next evening and if we could have our meal that night on the roof. Well, she made me a mixture of lemon and sugar up for my henna to help set it, gave me some advice and advised she would put a sheet in my room to take the henna off with, that it was no problem at all about altering our reservation for us and that thirdly, they had just set up a table on the roof for us. When she led us to the rooftop, they had prepared the most romantic table covered in rose petals, surrounded by candles and lamps with our own private waiter and no other diners! The food was excellent. On returning to our room, we were met by rose petals, roses and candles everywhere- it was stunning and so thoughtful. The next day was my husband's birthday and we were out all day. Upon returning quite late after dinner (we were held up due to awful service at Le Foundouk), we were met by a lovely lady who had just called the restaurant as they were concerned we had taken the wrong turn and got lost. She then appeared with a birthday cake they had made for my husband and had waited up for us to return to give it to him! We were so touched! The only slight negative is the location of Farnatchi - it's really in the old Medina near the Souks and can be quite confusing to find (no signposts) and you do get hassled by people young and old wanting to take you places or pestering you when you look at a map. The Riad does have a 'guardian angel' as we called him, who was an older gent who seemed to appear from nowhere when we got a bit muddled, walk us back to the Riad and put a fly in the ear of anyone annoying us! I know this place is a bit pricey but I urge you, save up a little bit more and stay here, even for a night, it is really worth every penny and you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryRedScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us on your Honeymoon and am delighted that you enjoyed the private dinner on the roof terrace. I am so very grateful for you leaving this review for us, every one counts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

What an incredible hidden gem, the service was brilliant throughout our four day visit to this amazing city, the Riad is a perfect contrast to the hustle and bustle of the Medina and the rooms are all exquisite with beautiful attention to detail. Given its location, the room size and quality, and the friendly service (not to mention the stunning roof top terrace for breakfast) it was our favourite of the numerous places we have stayed in Marrakech. Many thanks to everyone at Farnatchi and i look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Suite 5 was beautiful, looking onto the orange tree courtyard in the centre of the Riad, very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and also for mentioning how big our rooms are, to my knowledge they are the biggest in the Medina! I hope that you will visit Marrakech and Riad Farnatchi again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

James Wix and his staff are nothing but superb in the way they run this hidden gem in the mists of old Marrakech. The rooms in the riad are all magnificent and you are pushed for choice.
Staff meet you at the airport and escorted us back to the hotel arranging a fantastic meal as soon when we were settled even thou it was late in the evening. They arranged all of our tours nothing was any trouble they were always pleased to help, will be returning as soon as I can for another beautiful long weekend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BUNTINGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderfully kind review. We certainly look forward to having you to stay at Riad Farnatchi again and I am sure that we can come up with lots more suggestions of things to do and see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#40 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#14 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Property: Riad Farnatchi
Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Prestigia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing