We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Riad Farnatchi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #88 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Riad Farnatchi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Riad Farnatchi was a truly unique discovery. It was close to the souks and many of the sights of Marrakech and once inside the Riad, it was a haven. We found the Riad with the help of one of the friendly staff who greeted us at the edge of the old town once the streets became too narrow for our taxi to penetrate. After turning off a rather non-descript alleyway, the door of the Riad opened and we were welcomed by Saidea who could not do enough to help and accommodate us. We were handed cold refreshing face cloths and offered drinks before we were shown around – both very welcome after our journey. The décor was fabulous from the ground floor right up to the amazing roof terrace, where the views were incredible.
The Riad was immaculately presented and so stylish – the detail was astonishing. The ambiance was tranquil; a perfect place to retreat and escape the rather lively surroundings outside. The food was delicious and seemed to cater for all tastes and there were over 10 different ways of eating your eggs in the morning!
The Hamman was a fabulous experience – don’t miss it.
I cannot rate Riad Farnatchi more highly – thank you ………… we’ll be back!

Room Tip: Each suite is individual and they are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Farnatchi and that you plan to return! We are always working on improvements so hopefully you will see some changes when you next visit. I am also delighted to note that you enjoyed our food, we only cook to order so are able to really offer the freshest and most traditional Moroccan food. Thank you ever so much for leaving a review, it really is a huge help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    21
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
46
200
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Truly, it was our favorite experience ever. We absolutely adored it and the service was incredible. It was so beautiful that when I walked in I started to cry! The decor authentic, food incredible and service impeccable! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferJJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your extremely kind words, we are always striving to offer the best possible food and service and it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed it . I very much hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Marrakech soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon and can't praise this place or the staff enough. The Riad is gorgeous and our suite was beautiful, with large private balcony overlooking the courtyard pool, lounge, bedroom with doors to a privare sun terrace, rainfall shower with an array of Molton Brown shower gels, shampoo and conditioner (girls will definitely appreciate this!) and sumptuous bathroom with jack and Jill basins and sunken bath. We had heard fab reviews about the food here so decided to eat in the first night. Before dinner, we found the duty manageress to ask a few questions - I had just had some henna art done (at Henna Cafe- it's brilliant) and didn't want to stain any towels or linen so asked for an old towel, to ask if they could rearrange a dinner reservation for us the next evening and if we could have our meal that night on the roof. Well, she made me a mixture of lemon and sugar up for my henna to help set it, gave me some advice and advised she would put a sheet in my room to take the henna off with, that it was no problem at all about altering our reservation for us and that thirdly, they had just set up a table on the roof for us. When she led us to the rooftop, they had prepared the most romantic table covered in rose petals, surrounded by candles and lamps with our own private waiter and no other diners! The food was excellent. On returning to our room, we were met by rose petals, roses and candles everywhere- it was stunning and so thoughtful. The next day was my husband's birthday and we were out all day. Upon returning quite late after dinner (we were held up due to awful service at Le Foundouk), we were met by a lovely lady who had just called the restaurant as they were concerned we had taken the wrong turn and got lost. She then appeared with a birthday cake they had made for my husband and had waited up for us to return to give it to him! We were so touched! The only slight negative is the location of Farnatchi - it's really in the old Medina near the Souks and can be quite confusing to find (no signposts) and you do get hassled by people young and old wanting to take you places or pestering you when you look at a map. The Riad does have a 'guardian angel' as we called him, who was an older gent who seemed to appear from nowhere when we got a bit muddled, walk us back to the Riad and put a fly in the ear of anyone annoying us! I know this place is a bit pricey but I urge you, save up a little bit more and stay here, even for a night, it is really worth every penny and you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryRedScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us on your Honeymoon and am delighted that you enjoyed the private dinner on the roof terrace. I am so very grateful for you leaving this review for us, every one counts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

What an incredible hidden gem, the service was brilliant throughout our four day visit to this amazing city, the Riad is a perfect contrast to the hustle and bustle of the Medina and the rooms are all exquisite with beautiful attention to detail. Given its location, the room size and quality, and the friendly service (not to mention the stunning roof top terrace for breakfast) it was our favourite of the numerous places we have stayed in Marrakech. Many thanks to everyone at Farnatchi and i look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Suite 5 was beautiful, looking onto the orange tree courtyard in the centre of the Riad, very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and also for mentioning how big our rooms are, to my knowledge they are the biggest in the Medina! I hope that you will visit Marrakech and Riad Farnatchi again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

James Wix and his staff are nothing but superb in the way they run this hidden gem in the mists of old Marrakech. The rooms in the riad are all magnificent and you are pushed for choice.
Staff meet you at the airport and escorted us back to the hotel arranging a fantastic meal as soon when we were settled even thou it was late in the evening. They arranged all of our tours nothing was any trouble they were always pleased to help, will be returning as soon as I can for another beautiful long weekend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BUNTINGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderfully kind review. We certainly look forward to having you to stay at Riad Farnatchi again and I am sure that we can come up with lots more suggestions of things to do and see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our stay in mid-May 2013 was very relaxing and tranquil. Staff were polite at all times, very friendly and relaxed. Common areas were plentiful and food and drinks could be taken in a variety of locations in solitude. Breakfast was good - especially the yoghurt - although there could have been a bit more variety from day to day. We dined in the hotel one evening and the food was comparable to other upper end options in town in terms of quality. Staff arranged day trips and taxis and transfers without any hitches. Call to morning prayers woke us up each morning at five -Riad is next to a mosque - although this became part of the trip and we missed the call to prayers on our first day back in normality. Hotel is well placed for visiting main sites which can be reached by foot. Room was large and well equipped with modern tech and local decoration. Trip to Atlas Mountains to be recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameswix, Owner at Riad Farnatchi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your day trip up to the Atlas Mountains and your stay at RIad Farnatchi. We serve a traditional Moroccan breakfast with a variety of home made stuffed breads, eggs made any way you would like (there are 16 different ways on our menu), Home made jams, Moroccan crepes, home made yoghourt, fresh fruit, Fesh coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. We are only too happy to bake fresh croissants for you or even find your favorite breakfast cereal. I very much hope that we will see you at Riad Farnatchi again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Riad Farnatchi was a beautiful oasis within the walls of the medina. Our room was very comfortable and spacious with a lot of great amenities (Molten Brown toiletries, wi-fi access, robes, etc.). The staff was very gracious and helpful - always ready with a smile and a helpful suggestion. Every morning, we had a delicious breakfast of fruit, yogurt and eggs with coffee, tea and fresh squeezed juice. We also ate lunch and dinner in the Riad and were not disappointed. The attention to detail makes the Riad Farnatchi much more than just a hotel. I would highly recommend the Riad Farnatchi to friends and family who are traveling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstravelerNYC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#42 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa Nomade
La Villa Nomade
#127 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dar Zemora
Dar Zemora
#80 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Property: Riad Farnatchi
Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#57 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing