We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Five Star Authentic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #85 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Five Star Authentic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived with high expectations and Riad Farnatchi does not disappoint. The Riad is in the heart of the oldest part of the medina. You will be greeted and your luggage placed in a wheel barrel for the short walk past the stalls to the property. You are steps away from the activity of the souks and markets. The service at the property and the decor is classy in every way. Said a and Mourad and the owner helped arrange all our tours, guides, dinners, day trip to Atlas Mountains without tacking on a penny. We did all of this via email and had the most wonderful experience. The hammam treatment was great and they arranged for massages which were by far the best we have ever had. One evening we had a private dinner on the rooftop by candlelight. If what you are looking for is to experience Marrakesh the way in an authentic setting, you couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 , very very large on the ground floor. We felt as if the Riad was our home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yankeesjb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    21
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
46
205
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My daughter arrived the day before me and texted to say ' I think I have died and gone to heaven'. and when I arrived at Riad Farnatchi I understood why. A little piece of paradise in the centre of the old town, 5% star service though not at all intrusive, a wonderful relaxed atmosphere, fabulous accommodation, delicious food, sunroof and a spa on the way. We will be back !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at Riad Farnatchi in April 2013 for a design inspiration trip focused around Marrakech. My initial reaction was that I didn't need to bother with the rest of the city as there is enough inspiration in the road alone. From the intricately ornate plaster work to the architecture, furniture and art work - it was all beautiful. The service was also to a level i have not received before. Attention to detail was key and the staff could not do enough for us, without invading on our space at all. Breakfast is always wonderful in Morocco - but i would say this riad is a go to destination for its home made yoghurt alone and being a pain, i have a wheat intolerance so i was treated with home made gluten free pancakes for breakfast - a real treat. We also had a Hammam in the spa of the hotel. Do not give this a miss - it was pure indulgence and a real experience. We were there for 2 nights and both nights took options given by the proprietor, James and his lovely manager. The first night we went to le Comptoir where the food was the nicest i have experienced in Morocco - apart from the fresh grilled sardines in Essaouira. However i did find the atmosphere a tad crass, with the belly dancing routine being the nail in the coffin, however all fun and games and the food definitely made up for it. The next night was the real deal though - only a few yards from Franatchis door is Le Fondouk. We sat on the roof terrace and were blown away by the location. I would long go again if we could sit here as its truly spectacular. The food was great - not as nice as le Comptoir, but it didn't matter as we were overcome by the place. Both great recommendations by the team and very different. On our final day we had had enough of the heat of Marrakech and the hotel organised for us to go to The Beldi Country Club, just outside the city. It was an oasis filled with flowers, a massive swimming pool and a gorgeous restaurant. I real must. Thank you so much Riad Farnatchi!!

Room Tip: We were in room 3 - i didn't see the other rooms but I loved this one. It had a balcony over loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotte_taylorltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent five days at the Riad Farnatchi recently and were sorry to leave. The riad itself (actually five 'riads' joined together, so a network of secluded courtyards) is very beautiful with just 9 suites. Our room was enormous, with its own private terrace on the roof above, a sitting area and a wonderful wood fire - which we did have lit most evenings, since the weather was cool.

The staff are all very friendly and welcoming, and did an excellent job of catering to our every need. Breakfast is excellent and we had some great evenings out following the hotel guide.

We both enjoyed a hammam and a massage in-house, both wonderful. We also took a trip to the mountains arranged by the riad and that was perhaps the highlight of our trip. A terrific long weekend, thanks to James and his friendly staff.

Room Tip: They are all entirely different; each one has its own distinctive features. We loved our terrace an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenN997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautifully restored interior with delightful shady courtyards and wonderfully decorated and appointed suites. James, the proprieter could not have been more welcoming and accommodating and the service and staff were simply first class. Highly recommended. (Tip for the riad – there was a lack of space for suitcases in the bedroom which perplexed us at times, but that didn’t distract from the overall very positive impression of this lovely accommodation). Dinner was wonderful too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicdogandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I would thoroughly recommend this Riad in Marrakech. I spent five nights there recently and found everything excellent. All members of staff were always pleasant, courteous, friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was delicious, our suite was wonderful and the whole decor and ambience of the Riad was in thoroughly in keeping with local culture and traditions. Thank you all. Julia Fleming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaF297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My partner and I are frequent visitors to Morocco and in particular Marrakesh, and have stayed in many Moroccan Riads and hotels. Riad Farnatchi is by far the best of all the Riads we have stayed in Marrakesh. Tucked into the craziness of the Medina, once you are inside the door it is overwhelmingly peaceful, tranquil and absolutely beautiful. We stayed one night, after being on the coast at Essaouria (which I would also highly recommend) before travelling back to the UK. I booked the room as a treat for my partner, who has stayed at this Riad before and loved it. It did not disappoint, we had an amazing room, with log fire (which was lit for us) and a private terrace. The service was perfect, and the hamman was really worth doing. We stayed in and ate dinner at Farnatchi as we did not want to go out, the food, wine and service was equal to any of the good restaurants in Marrakesh. We will go back again, thank you James for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#42 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#2 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa Nomade
La Villa Nomade
#129 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#7 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#32 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Property: Riad Farnatchi
Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#54 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing