We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overwhelmingly peaceful, tranquil and absolutely beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #87 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overwhelmingly peaceful, tranquil and absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My partner and I are frequent visitors to Morocco and in particular Marrakesh, and have stayed in many Moroccan Riads and hotels. Riad Farnatchi is by far the best of all the Riads we have stayed in Marrakesh. Tucked into the craziness of the Medina, once you are inside the door it is overwhelmingly peaceful, tranquil and absolutely beautiful. We stayed one night, after being on the coast at Essaouria (which I would also highly recommend) before travelling back to the UK. I booked the room as a treat for my partner, who has stayed at this Riad before and loved it. It did not disappoint, we had an amazing room, with log fire (which was lit for us) and a private terrace. The service was perfect, and the hamman was really worth doing. We stayed in and ate dinner at Farnatchi as we did not want to go out, the food, wine and service was equal to any of the good restaurants in Marrakesh. We will go back again, thank you James for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    21
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
46
200
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Riad Farnatchi, what a stunning hotel. Located at the heart of Marrakech medina minutes from the souks, yet a haven of peace and tranquility, we were warmly welcomed by James the owner.. Superbly decorated and spotlessly clean rooms, log fires if requested, dining experiences to die for, and wonderful smiling staff. These along with James's recommendations for desert trips, gardens and places to visit, and from which stall to eat (no. 22) when eating out in the square, all made for a truly memorable stay. Neither my wife and I, nor the friends we travelled with could fault our stay at The Farnatchi in any way and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone as a base from which to explore Marrakech.

Room Tip: Our balcony room overlooking the inner pool could not be faulted and the en suite batroom absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Threlfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Imagine stepping out of your cab (sent by your hosts, of course) because the streets are too narrow to continue into a cacophonous movie set. Your guide and staff trundle the luggage onto a hand cart and lead you on through dun colored walled passageways to a black door which opens to a quiet, cool, tranquil oasis...a tiled moorish courtyard and the sounds of singing birds and running water....and then things get better. The rooms are large, exotic and quite comfortable (top floor in winter is warmer). The staff thinks of everything so that you truly feel you are the most fortunate guest of the most gracious host in some enchanted realm. Located just at the edge of the souk, the riad somehow manages to stay a world apart. The hosts, Jamie, Marad and Muriam are pitch perfect, their recommendations spot on and always helpful. The food is superb and with only 9 rooms it seems you have your own chef for breakfast and, if you wish, dinner when and where you choose. There are so many nice touches, canapés on the balcony, hot water bottles in bed (it was cool this March). If you go out to dinner, they make the reservation and provide a cab to take you there and back. But then they walk you to the cab (parked in wider streets a few minutes away) and are waiting when you return.I could go on and on but how about this....after 30 years of upscale world travel, in the Riad Farnatchi and this management team my wife and I finally experienced perfect hospitality.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor in the cooler months they are warmer. And ask the staff. They are accurate inform...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our first stay in Marrakech. Getting out of the taxi into the manic bustle of a market square for the 300 yard walk down narrow lanes to the Riad was an assault on the senses which melted away as we passed through the anonymous doorway. The inner courtyards and ground floor communal rooms are cool, quiet and beautifully decorated. The service is genuinely friendly and incredibly helpful and the food is amazing. Dinner was best we had in a week in the country and the home made granola at breakfast is itself worth the trip! It's not cheap but you get what you pay for! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our visit to the Riad Farnachi was fantastic! The Riad was calm and comfortable – a real sanctuary from the frenetic medina just the other side of the main door . The aesthetic is restored in impressive traditional detail, yet the riad is full of the little modern luxuries you’d expect from a top hotel. The bedrooms were unique in layout and full of creative design, each with its own private outside space allowing you the feeling of complete privacy, along with a stunning roof top view over the medina. We enjoyed a delicious Moroccan lunch in the pretty, open-air courtyard. The briouettes (soft minced meat and vegetables wrapped in filo pastry and fried) were our particular favourite, accompanied by a local rose wine which complemented the food perfectly. We found the staff to be exceptional; friendly and helpful yet discreet. Farnachi’s manager, James, could not have been more helpful, advising on everything from day trips to a Berber village the Atlas mountains, local cultural and historical information, which street food stalls to trust in the main square, and importantly a luxurious Hammam! My mother and I had a wonderful trip and would highly recommend the Riad to anyone looking for a top quality yet authentic stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A sumptuous Riad, in a super location, nearby to the famous Marrakech souks. I am lucky to have a job that involves a lot of travel each year and this is definitely one of the best places I have ever stayed (I was on holiday this time, not working).

An architecturally stunning property, in which my wife and I had a cavernous bedroom, huge bath and shower - which had a glass roof, so I could see the blue Moroccan sky and green trees above in the morning.

Breakfast was substantial, delicious and served to us on our own private roof terrace.

Also included in the room rate was a car pick up from the airport and the staff were some of the most friendly and genuine I have encountered.

It's not cheap cheap, but I've never felt a place was so fairly priced and if it was in Europe it would be at least double the price and if it was in Capri/Monaco/Nice/St Tropez etc. I dread to think what a night here would cost!


Marrakech is a magical place and this Riad compliments the experience perfectly.

I think what I'm trying to say is that I'd recommend it...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My first visit to Marrakech and with not really knowing what to expect, Riad Farnatchi was this amazing secret hideaway that you would never know was there due to the unassuming, yet beautiful door leading out onto the streets of Marrakech. So close to the Medina and the souks, yet once inside you are in your own little world; stunning interiors, incredibly friendly and helpful staff and such spacious private rooms you could spend all day relaxing in them. I could write for hours on what a fantastic place it is, but honestly it really is so magical and if you haven't been yet then I think this should definitely be someone you must go and visit....I will definitely be going again and again.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#42 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#50 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#4 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa Nomade
La Villa Nomade
#127 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dar Zemora
Dar Zemora
#84 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Property: Riad Farnatchi
Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing