We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service”
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #90 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent a thouroughly enjoyable 2 nights here in Nov 2012. Saida, Morad and team were extremely helpful and made sure that everything we needed (taxis, directions, hammam etc) was taken care of. Breakfast on the roof terrace is fabulous!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Riad Farnatchi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 407 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed three nights in this delightful, peaceful Riad in November 2012. We were made to feel very welcome by James and his staff and well cared for during our stay, particularly by Saida, who was full of helpful advice and happy to help by making restaurant bookings, organising taxis, guides, hammam etc. We felt we were genuinely valued visitors.

The Riad has been ingeniously designed and remodeled from several different dwellings to create a unique place to stay; a series of enticing courtyards, welcoming sitting areas,unexpected cubby holes and corners, all beautifully decorated and furnished. Best of all were the roof terraces which offered a series of sunny spaces among flower beds bursting with catci, agaves and flowering shrubs, from which to admire the view over the city rooftops towards the mountains.

Riad Farnatchi is a wonderful place to stay and an antidote to the hurly-burly of the streets of Marrakech.

Room Tip: Suite 4 is spacious, overlooks two courtyards and has its own back door with a flight of steps up to...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Fortunately our booking for Riad Fen was cancelled. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with James Wix. He was very welcoming and his staff could not have been more helpful. The meals were so tasty and not heavy. On our first visit we were in a ground floor room which I wasn't thrilled with but on our return they accommodated us upstairs. The Riad is charming in every way. On our last night it was chilly so a fire was lit in the dining room and please notice the lovely carving on the walls of that cosy room. We would definitely go back- home from home.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldine9883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights October 2012, as part of a week that also included the kasbah du Toubkal. The Riad is beautifully appointed, the welcome warm and inclusive and oh so helpful for first time travellers to Marrakech as we were, the service perfect and unobstrusive and nothing a problem. We will be back. A jewel of tranquillity in an ocean of colour and exuberance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Behind a beautiful wood door after being led along some busy streets and wonderful little alleys lies the most peaceful and beautiful place to call home for a couple of nights. The service was wonderful from the minute we stepped from our taxi to the second we got back in it. Our two rooms were amazing, we argued over who got which one as they were both unique yet equally wonderful. Our breakfast and dinner were as good as any other meals we had through out Morocco. My favourite moment was sitting at sunset on the roof top terrace of one of our rooms and listening to the call to prayers resonate across the city, it was a very memorable experience. We will be returning without a doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClanTravellers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you're coming to Marrakech, you must, must, must stay at Riad Farnatchi! I came with a group of friends for 4 nights to celebrate a birthday - James and his team made for one of the most amazingly memorable trips I've had. And I've had the luxury of going on some pretty incredible trips! The service and overall atmosphere are flawless - 16 of us arrived and were greeted by friendly staff with refreshing towels and mint tea all around. We were then taken to each room so we could see where we were staying as well as what each room looked like. They were ALL stunning. I stayed in room 9...wish I could have taken the bathtub and furnishings back home with me! We had an amazing lunch on the roof terrace organised with no prior notice, cocktail hour with snacks that made you almost want to skip dinner they were so good, and a pool that completed the setting beautifully. Oh - and they also organised an amazing party complete with dancers, drummers, fantastic food and drink, arranged for a hike in the atlas mountains, took us through the souks including a mad last minute dash pre-flight to find the perfect jewelry store and were always there with refreshing towels when we arrived back at the oasis of the Riad. I could go on for pages - the hammam is great, the decorations beautiful, and there's even wifi for everyone. What more could a person ask for? Other than more time to spend at Riad Farnatchi, not much!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If in Marrakech don't miss out by not staying at Farnatchi! James,who has taken over the Riad from his well respected hotelier father, is quite knowledgable as well as charming. The rooms are decorated in a tasteful Moroccan style.There is no doubt you will covet items you see and James will be there to help you obtain your desires.He even treked out w/us on a rug shopping adventure.The food is up to Euro standards but with true Moroccan tastes.I say this as a well traveled foodie! I don't recall ever seeing a single staff member without a smile! Even after carrying breakfast up to the bucolic rooftop each morning. You know your in the right place when the staff speaks highly of the owner.YES,we ask. The Hammam is beautiful.The pool is lovely. My ONLY complaint would be that they pour light on the Black Label, inside joke. Just ask for a double and remember you are in a Muslim country:) I will say,the cocktail hour hors d'oeuvres were quite welcome and tasty.All in all, I would be thrilled to return again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room w/the balcony over the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#68 of 502 in Marrakech
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#99 of 502 in Marrakech
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 502 in Marrakech
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#22 of 502 in Marrakech
538 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#28 of 502 in Marrakech
642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#111 of 502 in Marrakech
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $348 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing