We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service & beautiful design”
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #89 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impeccable service & beautiful design”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Having stayed at a couple of other riads in the medina I was immediately impressed by the slick service. The staff all spoke excellent English, were speedy with any requests you may have, and very charming. Definitely make sure you have at least one dinner in the Riad as the women Berber chefs can cook up some serious home-cooked feasts. Try the Tangia - a local specialty slow-cooked in the nearby farnatchi (communal oven) for five hours and arrives as a kind of Moroccan hot pot.

Design is shabby chic but without the shabby. Everything from the furniture to the furnishings has been artfully placed and on closer inspection its obvious that the detailing has been lovingly created with high quality materials rather than jumbled together at some cheap workshop.

At night the place comes into its own with the smell of fires from the rooms and lanterns giving a gentle glow to the courtyard. The sound of the water trickling over the infinity edged pool is incredibly calming and worth sitting in one of the side covered areas soaking up the pure calm of the place knowing that you’re just footsteps away from the hubbub that is the medina – it is in one of the oldest parts and so excellently placed for all the action of the souk.

You may think you can find a cheaper riad but if you want somewhere that is impeccably run with beautifully finished interiors then you’ll be hard pushed to find anything that even remotely matches this little hideaway. The perfect long weekend and I will be making plans to book myself on the next eayJet flight out there!

Room Tip: My suite had a private terrace which got the morning sun (suite 6).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank custard_apple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    23
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
223
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

A truly magical place in the heart of Marrakesh. I will keep it simple and will just say that absolutely EVERYTHING was perfect. Location, Food, Massage (the best!), Style, Atmosphere and most importantly the Staff and Hotel Manager of Riad Farnatchi will make your stay unforgetable and magical. 10 out 10.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richoou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

On a long weekend visit at the end of January, we found Riad Farnatchi to be a magical, peaceful and comfortable hideaway in chaotically fascinating Marrakech. Its location is excellent, very close to the architecturally magnificent Medersa Ben Youssef and an entrance to the Souks.

The service was attentive while remaining both discreet and friendly - it would have shamed many a 5-star hotel. Staff appeared like genies from lamps – your every wish their command. From serving mint tea on the roof terrace with the Atlas Mountains as the backdrop, to lighting a roaring log fire in your suite, nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

Our stay was all too brief but James Wix and his team provided an experience that we wouldn’t have missed. Riad Farnatchi will definitely be our first choice when we return to Marrakech.

Room Tip: Photos of all the suites are on the Riad's website. Ours, number 3, was very luxurious and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HSW888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is the most wonderful riad in Marrekech, From the location, decor, luxury, food, rooms......in fact, I cannot think of a single thing I would change. The service is perfect. Everything is possible. The staff is warm - never in your face, but always there. That is a testament to the manager who clearly loves the riad and what he does to make people feel right at home in all the magic and madness that is Marrakech.

In addition to the riad itself, on this trip I celebrated a milestone birthday and the staff arranged all outside activities for my friends and family. I had the good fortune to see each of the beautiful 9 rooms in the riad because we rented the entire riad for the weekend, Each room is unique. Each one is special. And all are fabulous!

The experienceI culminated with a fully catered party (complete with musicians, dancers, etc.) in one of the riad's spectacular courtyards - and I just cannot wipe the smile off of my face! The warm memories will be with me forever.

This is the place. Go.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, and I saw them all! Descriptions and photos on their website are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heleneyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Oasis in the glorious chaos of Marrakech. Wonderfully decorated and appointed riad with many cozy nooks and peaceful corners. The staff is fantastic and attentive without being intrusive. Every whim was brilliantly executed. One of the most wonderful stays of our lives. Go! be transported back in time and pampered like no place else. Best hotel manager, and massage hands down.

Room Tip: believe you can check the different rooms on line beforehand to choose you perfect fit. Room 4 has t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trixie643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This beautifully restored Riad is in the heart of real Morocco, once you step through the front door, you feel instanstly "at home" and are greeted with a warm welcome and mint tea!. The Riad's have been lovingly restored to it's original style, with lots of quirky and stylish features for you to discover around every corner. I loved my 1 night here and wish that I could've stayed longer, although with my short stay, I must say we had an amazing time and very comfortable night and I am sure to return and heartily reccommend a stay here for a special time in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Every Suite is different, depending on your duration and occasion, discus choices with your travel s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2012

You cannot do better in the Medina, in our opinion, than to retreat into the opulence and fine, simple service at RF. From the brilliantly designed private rooms and fun, glamorous public areas, to the soothing hammam and courtyards, one's eyes are everywhere delighted with Jonathan Wix's creation. A fire built in your suite? Done immediately. Tea wherever you happen to be sitting? Brought with a kind smile. Special requests handled without the slightest fuss or awkwardness, only grace and desire to be of assistance. My skepticism about such highly rated and raved over places banished almost instantly upon arrival. I defy anyone reasonable to be anything other than charmed and nourished by RF!

Ralph S

Room Tip: Suite 8 is beautiful and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#64 of 500 in Marrakech
430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#105 of 500 in Marrakech
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#29 of 500 in Marrakech
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#50 of 500 in Marrakech
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#97 of 500 in Marrakech
283 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#13 of 500 in Marrakech
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Property: Riad Farnatchi
Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing