We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“absolutely fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Farnatchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Farnatchi
Ranked #92 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

My partner and I travel a lot and have done so for years and as a result, we feel as though we've seen it all, especially when it comes to nice hotels. When staying in a "chain" hotel, we usually stay at a Mandarin, Aman or St Regis hotel, though we prefer smaller, boutique hotels. I give this background so that you will appreciate just how enthusiastic and over the moon we were about Riad Farnatchi - we had a spectular room and the buildings are lovely. The service is just incredible - lots of thoughtful details, speedy and efficient service, remarkable graciousness (without being obsequious or invasive) and delicious food. It's also in a great location, super close to the souks and an easy walk there (this was a delightful surprise to us). We spent 2 days at Farnatchi and 2 days at La Mamounia - very different experiences, both were lovely, but if we could only pick one, we would pick Farnatchi, hands down, not even close.

Room Tip: we booked a suite, it was incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathyO88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    22
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
210
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

I hugely enjoyed my trip to Riad Farnatchi, a hidden gem of peace and tranquility within the bustling souks of Marrakech. Nothing was too much for the friendly staff and the attention to detail was second to none.

The suite was beautifully decorated with a modern touch of Morroco with all the finer luxuries such as Molton Brown provided. There are so many fantastic restaurants to try but eating dinner in the riad is a must with their local chef producing exquisite morrocan food. Their roof terrace is a perfect place for having breakfast whilst taking in the landscape of Marrakech with the Atlas mountains in the distance.

I would recommend Raid Farnatchi to anyone looking for a luxury boutique hotel in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JEG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

This being my forth holiday to Marrakech, I was looking for somewhere a little different and totally spoiling to stay with delicious food, impeccable service and in close proximity to the main square. In Riad Farnatchi I certainly found all this and much more. A traditional riad that has been beautifully restored and transformed into a stunning luxury boutique hotel. With it's stylish contemporary and Moroccan design it has a wonderful peaceful atmosphere. The staff could not be more helpful or friendly and the food was out of this world - the best I have tasted in any retaurant in Marrakech.

The Riad can serve your meals in any part of the hotel, breakfast on the roof terrace is a must, with views over the city and up to the Atlas mountains. There are also many hidden alcoves, sitting rooms and private balconies to choose from and not forgetting the dramatic main dining room with intricately hand carved walls.

One of the highlights of our stay was the hammam, in keeping with Moroccan tradition, a real eye-opening experience and I have never felt so clean!

The beauty of this charming hotel is that it is family run so the owner and his son have an active interest in the business and you will be sure to meet one of them on numerous occasions during your stay. They have a very hands-on approach and are more than willing to help you plan your day, recommend restaurants or arrange a special treat for you.

We had a very fantastic holiday at Farnatchi and I would happily recommend it to anyone. In fact I have already booked to return later this year and am counting down the days.

Room Tip: Suite 9 is well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelEnthusiast061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

We visited Marrakech to try a different break to the usual beach holiday, with my partner and brother & sister in law. Riad Farnatchi was a wonderfull tranquil refuge from the hustle and bustle of the souks. The decor and detailing in the Riad was exceptional,We both had superb suites, very spacious with great bathrooms, and our own private roof terraces to relax and enjoy the sun. The staff were very friendly and helpful although not all spoke great english. We had an evening BBQ on the roof top which was fun, we used the hamam several times and the massage was the BEST ever. Going out :The Foundouk was a great restaurant within skipping distance of the Riad, very good food and atmosphere.One word of advice would be if you enjoy a drink is that the medina is pretty much alcohol free except restaurants , the hotel beer is not the best and quite expensive. The location of the Riad is excellent, it was easy to walk out into the souks, the square,& musuems etc and still be able to call back into the Riad whenever you needed a break from the chaos outside. Overall we had an incredible time and fell in the with the beautiful Riad Farnatchi and Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daizieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

I normally never put a review on an hotel but I'll make an exception for Riad farmatchi.

I have stayed for 5 nights in March 2011 with my girlfriend and I have to say that it has been an amazing experience.

Being used to stay in Aman resort, my expectation for good service was extremely high and I have to say that they have exceeded my highest exception.

The staff is wonderful, the rooms are beautiful decorated and the riad is perfectly located in the medina.

I highly recommend this Riad to anyone who wants a top luxury holiday in Marrakech.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank clemp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed here twice in January - 1st for a quick weekend break and then we liked it so much we came back - went to the coast and had a few nights on the way back.

This Riad is lovely - the rooms are very special indeed, the attention to detail and the small things like Molton Brown products, nice thick towels make a huge difference. The attention to detail in furnishing and the service are very special too.

We ate twice in the spectacular dining room and they went out of their way to make Dinner very nice and reasonably priced.

The roof terrace is very nice - lovely for breakfast or for sundowners.

Nice to have the owner and his son with a presence - always there to say hello and ask if anything can be done to assist - makes a nice change these days for that level of customer care.

Would highly recommend and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlieAly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

Went to Marrakech between Xmas and New Year and stayed at Farnatchi. We had such a nice time that we went back three weeks later.

Location, standard of room, staff Farnatchi delivers all of the key elements of a top class hotel with added extra's.

Will be back! A special thanks to all of the team for making our stay a very pleasant and memorable.

I will be back and I have no critisism at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XKR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#40 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#13 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#31 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#52 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Farnatchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farnatchi

Property: Riad Farnatchi
Address: 2 Derb el Farnatchi, Rue Souk el Fassis | Qua'at Ben Ahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Farnatchi 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Farnatchi has been described as "The City's Most Luxurious Riad" by Food and Travel Magazine, "The Ultimate Hideaway" by Harpers Bazaar and "Best Luxury Riad" by Conde Nast Traveller. It was created out of six small Riads in the heart of the oldest part of Marrakech, with 400 year old walls and 21st C comforts. With just 10 suites Farnatchi has the feel of a beautiful, highly individual, private house. The 2016 addition of a new Spa with private Hammams and en suite Massage rooms has taken Farnatchi to the level of a world class 5 star "boutique" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Prestigia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Farnatchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Farnatchi Marrakech
Riad Farnatchi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing