We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Would not hesitate to recommend La Sultana. Service is first rate and attention to detail second to none.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #28 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Esher, Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would not hesitate to recommend La Sultana. Service is first rate and attention to detail second to none.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

We booked La Sultana because it seemed to tick all the right boxes. It was 5 star, is a 15 minute walk to the Medina (Souks), is classy, elegant and lower priced than Le Orangerie (which was a close favourite) had fantastic treatment combinations in a beautiful spa, had a gorgeous restaurant overlooking the pool and the Junior deluxe suite looked beautiful. We were not disappointed. We arrived and were served mint tea and tiny bite sized treats whilst we were checked in. Ghislaine, in Reception, explained everything on offer and also gave us a map, detailing where all the restaurants we wished to book were situated. The service at this Hotel is second to none with incredible attention to detail. It is extremely friendly, very efficient and discreet. Ghislaine and the Concierge made all our lunch and dinner reservations, booked our taxis every evening (who were never a minute late), organised our Driver for the day to the Atlas Mountains and offered advice when required. We took a trip, which is a must do, to the Atlas Mountains and had lunch at the Kasbah Tamadot, Richard Branson's Mountain Retreat, across from a little Berber village called Asni. The Hotel also organsed an extremely warm and friendly and well educated guide (named Achmed) to take us to the Medina and Souks. This is well recommended and having him with you greatly reduces being harassed. He also showed us all the little secret short cuts and we saw little Riads and residential homes in little pockets we would never have found on our own. The wait staff in the restaurant (either upstairs by the pool terrace or in the main restaurant) are superb. Service is quick and elegant. We only ate lunch on the terrace overlooking the pool (fanastic sunny day) and also breakfast every day (buffet with a la carte all inclusive menu as well) but the menu looks superb. We would most definitely come back to La Sultana.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACEEsher_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    70
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
123
615
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

La Sultana is a wonderful surprise, hidden behind the bustling streets of the Kasbah. Each part of the hotel provides a different experience and breakfast on the roof top is a lovely way to start each day. Staff are friendly, attentive and helpful. After a day in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech it's a joy to return to the hospitality of the hotel.
Definitely worth a visit and once you have been you will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I was in this ryad 4 years ago and now I think it's becoming too much big. I understand that " affair are affairs" but a marocain ryad with too much people its like a normal hotel 4 or 5 stars; and so born problems for find a table in restaurant for the clients, find appropriates timetables for beauty farm services,etc. In any case I will return next year and I will recommend to my friend but hope to find better general services . Thanks

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riccardo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

If you like to relax in the middle of a busy city this is the place to be.
Friendly staff, magic location, excellent food & brilliant athmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

This is the best hotel I have ever visited. Every aspect about it is outstanding.

Service – the concierge was helpful, knowledgeable and extremely impressive. No matter who was on reception they were able to advise on local information such as a good restaurant, or a good place to buy pastries. They made and altered reservations for us, ordered taxis, and generally made life easy and pleasant. EVERY member of staff smiled, greeted us, and were helpful if queried.

Rooms- we stayed in two rooms during our two stays here. Each room was a marvel and I wish we could have spent more time in each. The bathrooms are like your own hamam with giant baths, gold basins and ornate fittings. The rooms are spacious with sitting areas, wonderful antique lamps and furniture, and all leading to a peaceful courtyard so you can sleep soundly with no clue you are in a busy city. The impression is of so much history but with all the modern conveniences such as underfloor heating and air conditioning, hidden behind ornate wooden panels.

Hotel – the hotel is wonderfully luxurious and spread out yet feels cosy and intimate thanks to the five courtyards. The décor is spectacular and really feels as if you are living in a sultan’s palace from a bygone era. The pool is refreshing and glamorous, the food is so good we could never decide whether to eat the same amazing dish again or to try something new; it never mattered as it was all fantastic. It was a nice touch to have cooling mist spraying over the roof terrace to keep us cool during the day. I particularly liked the personalised news summary of English affairs each morning over breakfast. The live music during supper was enjoyable.

Location – right in the heart of the city, yet a tranquil oasis away from the lights, smells, crowds of the souks and main square. Could not be better placed, and when sitting around the pool, admiring the palm trees and columns, the contrast is un believable.

Spa – the spa looks beautiful, however the hamam we experienced wasn’t as good as others we have had over the years. The girls doing the scrub and wash were not friendly and chatted to each other throughout, ignoring us. This is the only, tiny issue and we returned with glowing skin after treatment.

Summary – not only will I stay here on future trips to Marrakech, I love the hotel enough to make a trip here purely to re visit the hotel. We have recommended this hotel to all our friends especially those looking for honeymoons. This is a stylish, yet traditional riad, extremely luxurious and with impeccable service. I cannot rate this highly enough as a base to explore Marrakch, the Atlas, or even just for a relaxing week in a stunning environment. You could spend a week within the walls, never leave, and have a wonderful break.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLouise30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

I am smitten! This is not the hotel for everyone but that will only be because of its price, it’s a tad on the expensive but then again everything is relative. My wife and I arrived just moments before midnight and were greeted by an oasis of hospitality and grandeur causing us to pinching each other for not believing how incredibly beautiful this place is. Oh the room…. Dear goodness was it amazing and had every amenity you could wish for. Literally they sprinkled rose pedals on the floor! The bed was lullaby for ones dreams, the bathroom was large enough for a convention and they even had a cedar closet! The hotel and it’s staff wrap you in a cocoon transporting you away from every concern you could ever have. The front desk staff arraigned the most perfect day long (ours started as a 4 hour tour but ended up being nearly 9 as we were having so much fun). On one night we decided to stay in and ordered room service which was special beyond words. Every morning you are greeted with a roof top breakfast fit for a King. Attentive but not intrusive your experience is the only thing the staff is concerned with. One could spend a day seeking out the catacomb labyrinth of halls nooks and crannies to get lost in or simply take a nap. The Spa is too amazing to describe! Need not a travel agent as the hotel can plan everything! Rest you head not at any hotel other than this one. We are already planning a return visit as normal life is pretty bland after an experience like the one we had.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank backstorydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Peace,beauty,stunning service.Even the guests whispered around the swimming pool.
An amazing achievement for a hotel. Definitely returning as soon as possible.Food divine!
Alec & Liz Wright

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexanderwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#24 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#19 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing