We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough diamond in the rough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #27 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rough diamond in the rough”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

LaSultana Marrakech is comprised of a cluster of four beautiful large riads. Its French owners - or someone - looks like they had fun decorating the place with brocade curtains, heavy carved wood doors, marble floors, over-sized silver and pottery tea pots, lovely blue and white tiled courtyards. The decor is whimsical; a blend of Morocco meets rococo meets Victorian mansion meets African safari.
But riads seem too small to over-decorate with heavy furniture. I don't get why hotels in Marrakech want to infuse the African theme. For one there are no lion, buffalo or giraffe left in Morocco. The African art doesn't seem to work with a decor that seems to strive for sumptuous elegance and so comes off as gimmicky.
The Hammam was incredible (ask for Helen) but the massage so-so.
Food generally good if inconsistent. I thought the European dishes were better than the Moroccan.
LaSultana is meant to be a five-star hotel, but the service is two star at best. I paid 500 dirham ($60) for a room service dinner with no wine - the risotto was delicious - but it was delivered on a tray with no drinking glasses. The plastic water bottle with a torn label was lying on its side.
Butter is served in cheap little plastic tubs.
There's a lovely dining area on the roof but in case it's cold and windy there are no other dining areas.
The rooms - three categories. The least expensive is way too small and the most expensive ridiculously large with two rooms, a living area you never use. The Queen size room is the best value but they seem booked up early.
My last day I asked reception to arrange a car to take me to Tangiers. The manager beamed and gave me a quote that was $200 over an amount for a similar car I wound up arranging for myself.
The hotel is clean, well-tended and tranquility pervades.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. But, for me, a five star hotel is not just about decor and a smiling staff.

Room Tip: Queen size facing inner court yard to avoid screaming neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliceinMaasailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    78
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
155
721
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is our 2nd time in Marrakech, weve stayed at the 4 seasons which is amazing but we decided to extend our stay and the 4 seasons was full so we found this little gem!
On arrival, i was a wee bit thrown by the entrance and a bit apprehensive as its on a random market street with an abundance of mopeds and stalls but..... wow! First impressions are most deceiving...
This lovely wee boutique hotel is so quirky, but un a very Moroccan chic way.
The staff are so attentive and lovely, our room is very Moroccan, a wee bit aladdin esque but very stylish with it.
The food is fabulous but our 1 down fall is the breakfast... if you love croissants, bread, cheese and eggs, lovely but itd be nice to have more options, small smudge on the perfect score id give this place.
My high point was when i asked the lovely lady from the spa (who came round as we were sunbathing)
She was an absolute legend and managed to arrange the manicurist to come and do my hands and toes in the sun... amazing service.
Another small detail is that there is a slight lack of pools, we've spent most of our time on the lovely flowery, tree lined roof but there is only a tiny 4x16(ish) plunge pool.
There is a slightly larger pool downstairs but i cant comment as i never got there.
All in all... a fantastic few days, definitely worth checking out if youd like a wee taste of marrakech x

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

WOW, its just amazing! I travelled with 12 girls in october 2013 and we had a wonderful long lunch at the amazing rooftop restaurant looking at the beautiful sunset while drinking champagne. A nice memory! I would LOVE to stay here forever....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We spent three nights at La Sultana in March 2013. The hotel was beautiful, spotlessly clean and with a tranquil atmosphere, in complete contrast to the hubbub of Marrakech. Each area of the hotel was different but fabulous. We ate breakfast around the courtyard pool and had dinner in the hotel on one evening. The food was excellent and staff were very helpful and attentive at all times. Although the hotel has a roof terrace which is brilliant for outdoor eating and cocktails, it wasn't warm enough to sit up there on our visit.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which felt a little claustrophobic when wanting privacy with the shutters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very nice hotel inside Medina of Marrakech.
Friendly and helpful Front Desk Management.
Overall good and attentive personal.
The hotel has a nice sundeck and a roof garden restaurant that may be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the Zebre room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles-Louis_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just spent 4 nights in La Sultana

A lovely location, beautiful Riad, and very helpful staff

Room was spacious on a very attractive courtyard

The pool area is tranquil - we would have used it more but it rained! (some things the Hotel cannot guarantee!)

In all a very quiet refuge away from the bustle going on out on the street

Stephen H

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic property that's ideally situated and furnished to a high standard. It has a roof terrace with bar and restaurant which was a bit cold when we visited but I imagine is fantastic when a little warmer. Our room was clean but with no windows gave the feeling of being a bit claustrophobic.

The staff are friendly and helpful but at breakfast and dinner the service was very poor. There were too many times when there were several staff talking to each instead of clearing plates or taking an order. I'm not keen on over- attentive service but time after time we found ourselves frustrated with trying to get their attention.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank celtic59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#29 of 500 in Marrakech
635 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
379 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 500 in Marrakech
1,983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#35 of 500 in Marrakech
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads. Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing