We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Simply excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #28 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Recently stayed for one night in la sultana. Firstly the reception staff and porter were very helpful, friendly and professional. The building itself is simply amazing both inside and out. Location is perfect, 5-10 minutes walk and your in the main square, a taxi to the airport from here was 150drh the roof terrace even overlooks the tombs and gives an amazing (and free) viewpoint. I simply cannot fault the building, 5 beautiful riads make up the hotel, each with its own style but each as good as the last. Everywhere was spotless, the service impeccable and staff spoke fluent English and also understood my poor French!!
The food in the restaurant was very good quality and not overpriced, the beef tag one with almonds and sultanas was very nice. There is a huge roof terrace area with plunge pool, a swimming pool In one of the road courtyards.
The staff all look very smart in uniforms and their attention to detail was plain to see.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu7C9F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    70
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
123
614
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

What a truly beautiful hotel...four courtyard houses...each one very different...finished to a very high standard.
The room we were given (an upgrade to Panther...low season) was comfortable and well appointed. In the evening (it was cold and rainy in January) a man came with logs and made a very welcoming fire,
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, from the front desk people to the waiters and the driver who picked us up from the airport.
I found the food a little expensive though the evening meal was good, but the breakfast could have been better...the cooked breakfasts were not inspiring and there could have been a much better selection of breads and cold foods rather than so many sweet things.
The spa looked lovely but treatments were very expensive.
I would stay here again...no reason to look any further and hope to enjoy the beautiful roof terrace in sunshine next time.

Room Tip: All rooms are very different...ask if you can choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Icannotremember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I would have liked to given this hotel 5 stars. The service is impeccable and the breakfast is wonderful. The people are just so amazingly nice. But my room was small and very claustrophobic and felt like a cell. This is a riad, so the architecture is typical, but my room was small and felt like it had no air. Moreover, everytime I needed to adjust the air conditioning (absolutely necessary as there was no window in the room), I needed to call reception and they had to send up someone with the remote control - something I have never experienced before. It meant that I was sometimes way too cold or too hot, as I did not wish to call someone at 3am.
Perhaps the larger rooms are better, but if you are at all claustrophobic, don't take a smaller one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is an amazing "Riad" (hotel with traditional inner court).

The design is, to say the least, impressive. Once through the gates you will be struck with the "1001 nights" middle eastern atmosphere. It might be extravagant and a little over the top but Marrakech is not the perfect setting for a minimalist, isn't it?

The rooftop -that we regretfully couldn't use to full effect because of chilly nights in January- is a class of its own. It is a real blessing to be able to escape the chaos of the Medina and enjoy the views with a nice drink.

Located at a 10-12 minutes walk from the Jama el Fnaa square (on a main street), it might not be as close as other Riads, but being a little away from the center is a bonus when getting in and out of the Medina (the old city). In addition, I have seen some Riads on dark alleyways and I can guarantee you will want your hotel on a main street accessible by car.

The restaurant, located in the main courtyard in the winter looks surreal. Dark, candlelights, oriental music, inner pool, etc... You get the idea. Food is very good. Service at the restaurant is ok but not perfect. The music is very nice the first night (an old musician playing a stringed instrument with occasional arabic vocals) but if you dine twice, it kind of gets on your nerves. I would suggest removing the amplifier to reduce volume and maybe have different musicians.

Service in the hotel was excellent. The concierge was extremely helpful in organizing every aspect of our trip, the drivers we had for airport transfers and day trips were excellent. Everything was perfect.

Highly reccomended!

Room Tip: There are five areas that each have their own design. If you like lighter shades and prefer a more m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TuncY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We went twice in our last day in Marrakech. It was a surprise got us the place was very close our Riad. It was a very sophisticated hotel with an amazing restaurant. In the lunch we enjoy the sunshine of Marrakech at the roof terrace we had little food and local beer. All was super and very well served. We asked to our waiter if would be possible to have a reservation for dinner and although they were full she managed to find a table for our dinner. The place was so especial that night, the singer song adorable arabic musics during out time there. We had very good food!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teofilo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for a few days and had a great time. Dinner was superb as well as the service. Clean and very comfortable place, with good location. Beautiful inside, a real gem. We agree with all the comments listed and highly recommend this hotel. Would also like to mention a wonderful Mr. Abdelmoula, who can can transport you to any place you like in Marrakesh for a very low fee. His taxi is usually stopped just outside of the La Sultana entrance (Mr. Abdelmoula mobile is 06 66 169 181). He is super honest and was driving us around for several days. He is local so can recommend good places to see and indeed showed us some interesting locations. We were really impressed with him so wanted to include him in this review in case someone would like to have an honest and pleasant guide in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was one of the most surreal experiences ever, and this is coming from a couple that travels a lot. The staff was so sweet and friendly, we got an upgrade on arrival, the room was beautiful with a beautiful bathroom that had a balcony overlooking the courtyard, the food was delicious, and the location was to die for.

We went in September and it was really hot so we didn't really enjoy the pool that much (too hot to lay out) but the spa was excellent and you just get this relaxed vibe when you're there. Th bed was a little stiff/hard for us, but that's a personal preference and I'm not sure if all the rooms have the same bed/mattress.

This is a must if you're going to Marrakech, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Giraffe room and it was AMAZING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#25 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#19 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#15 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing