We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #30 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

After a very early start to catch the 06.15 easyJet flight to Marrakech and a ridiculous wait in the immigration hall at Menara airport, we endured a long, bumpy and scenically dull 4 hour drive to Oualidia.

The approach on the elevated coast road isn't promising but as you descend to the property itself, the beautiful architecture and manicured grounds of the property hint at the promise of what lies inside – truly a reward for an arduous journey.

La Sultana really is an oasis within the surrounding desert. The hotel itself, rooms, public areas and restaurants are simply yet sensitively designed. Our deluxe suite was enormous and the space was appreciated with our eight year old son sharing the room.

The outdoor swimming pool is beautiful if a little chilly during late October but it's a great and necessary place to lounge as the sea quality in the lagoon is, well, lagoonish.

However, the stand-out quality of this small hotel is the service. From the front desk to the waiters, there was a genuine warmth to the welcome. Our son's name was quickly remembered and nothing was too much trouble. Rarely have we met waiting staff who appeared to be so authentically into their jobs. Surfing lessons were arranged, a canoe was provided and the GM Khalil Guerraoui went out of his charming way to ensure that our brief, two night stay was comfortable.

A spectacular hotel, modest in its pretence and one of few that actually delivers beyond expectations. The GM warned us that our next stop at Bab Ourika might disappoint and he wasn't wrong. What he didn't know is that his operation also knocked the spots off the much vaunted and yet lamentable Palais Namaskar in Marrakech. The small La Sultana group is one to watch. Well done!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Firmdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    70
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
118
601
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's absolutely terrific, a world class hotel that delivers in every respect. Only holds 58 guests and I can't wait to be one of them again!!
This hotel provides service which the majority of hotels only aspire too.

Room Tip: Each suite is individually designed, and mine, La Dromedarie, was very cleverly designed and furnish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Extremely good location, very well presented and compellingly interesting property, with individual interior design for each suite and room. Good house keeping, good management, and excellent cuisine with a stunning roof top restaurant with bar providing extremely good design and privacy. Service from the front desk staff on arrival..... and from all the staff..... was excellent throughout our stay from October 5th - October 8th.
We were recommended to La Sultana by the Trip Advisor, Number 1 Rated property in Marrakech,.... as they were fully booked. .
We celebrated a birthday and wedding anniversary At La Sultana, and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Book a suite,..... and enjoy your own terrace, excellent service, and value. We were allocated La D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I would say that our experience has been very good starting from the assistance I got before confirming our stay in La Sultana. The Staff, once there, has always been very kind and professional. I still remember the very useful suggestions and explanations Mrs. Saida, Manager of reception gave us. She is very smiling and polite and she was there just for us! Thanks.
The location is beautifully "arab" and this is what I wanted: not an international hotel but a very "arabic" and decorated place. The suite we were in was beautiful, clean and very wel equipped. We had massages at Spa and the ladies, who took care of us, were very professional. To dine at the terrace restaurant was lovely, romantic and food and also Moroccon wines were very good, with also the touch of their musicand voice....it was exactly what I expected to receive.Probably the only "defect" was the small space around the swimming pool in our Riad or let's say that when we were there the Hotel was full. Our experience was really beautiful also because of the position that allowed us to walk at midnight and it was not dangerous. Beautiful!

Room Tip: We were at Jaguar at the first floor and it was quite, clean, large, with a very nice terrace , very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel itself is made up of a number of houses and the variety of architectural styles makes for a fascinating atmosphere.
The staff could not have been more friendly or efficient. Our dietary needs were understood and well catered for from the off, and with some thoughtfulness. The room (La dromaderie) was a hoot with an amazing bathroom and spotless.
Dinner around the pool and breakfast on the roof terrace were treats, as was the view down into the kasbah and the royal tombs.
We only had one night here as we were headed off to its sister hotel, but we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarethAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We liked the different raids, the pool is nice and the roof terrace is lovely in the evening. The staff area very friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant. The food is very good, and the wine list particularly the marroc ones, the head waiter selected some lovely ones for us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sonic434343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

First let me start by saying the staff are the best and most friendly I have ever meet in any hotel I have stayed in.
The food in the restaurant is very good.
This place is a jewel in the crown and I will be back again , thank you too all the staff there for making my trip so peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johndpinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#25 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#52 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#19 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing