We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #33 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Willingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This gem of a hotel rests in the heart of the Medina close to all of the sights and sounds of the Kasbah. We arrived late but were met with a smile and some welcome refreshments and pastries.

You must try the restaurant - it isn't cheap (£90 for a three course meal for two with no alcohol) but the ambience of the roof-top together with the excellent menu choice makes it worth a go. Breakfast is buffet style with a good choice of fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, breads and meat etc.

Rooms are lovely - we had a junior suite and the fridges are stocked daily with free soft drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela8652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    73
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
124
624
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is in the casbah section of the Medina. You would never guess what luxury is hidden behind the plain exterior. The staff are warm and courteous and friendly. The food was superb. The rooms are luxurious. Off season, the price is about 350 euros a day, but off-season gets really hot.Lovely dining around an inside pool and rooftop breakfasts with views of stork nests, TV antennas and mosques wherever you look. Our first trip to a muslim country. Hectic., growing city, exotic and a pleasure.

Room Tip: They are all good. Best value is on the edge of off-season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ercham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

One of the best hotels we have stayed in.
Truly beautiful surroundings in the middle of the Medina.
From the moment we have arrived every little detail of our trip was taken care of and nothing was too much trouble. Every staff member made us feel they do their best to make our stay as pleasurable and comfortable as possible, but the real star in there is Saida.
Rooms are fantastic, roof top terrace with a restaurant with good food, views over the Medina and live music, spa with relaxing treatments.
It was so peaceful, we felt like we were the only guests in there.
Not one thing to dislike, place definitely worth staying or in our case going back to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in this lovely oasis of calm in the middle of chaotic Marrakech. From the moment we checked in which was made to feel very pleasant in itself. We felt like we were the only guests in the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff here. Our room was a basic twin which my friend and I found to be perfectly adequate. Bathroom very well equipped. No complaints at all there. Nice touch to have daily complementary water and soft drinks in the room. Swimming pool which I believe is quite rare for a riad to have was small but perfectly formed. The spa and treatments we had were lovely, could have gone every day had funds permitted! Breakfast was simple but just enough and the food a lunchtime delicious. The riad is perfectly situated in the Kasbah and a short walk from the lively main square and souks. Superb staff who really made us feel special and they were there to make us happy. Would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I travel abroad maybe half a dozen times a year and have only ever been compelled to do one review because the hotel I stayed in, in Cannes, was so bad. But , I felt only for the second time in a few years to write another but this time for the opposite reason. This hotel is wonderful ! It was a calm and beautiful hideaway and was so peaceful it could have been in the middle of a desert but in fact if you walk out on to the street you were in the bustling Medina. We had a perfect room called ' Puma ', a strange name for a room but it was lovely. From the moment we walked in to the room and closed the door we felt we were in our own little world, peaceful, quiet and very very relaxing.

Every single member of staff from the reception, to the bell boy, to the restaurant staff and the spa , could not have been any better. Always with genuine smiles and so friendly and helpful.

Only 28 rooms, you feel like you have the whole place to yourself, very romantic and a very special place.

Just inside the Medina walls and only a ten minute walk from the main square.

A special mention must be made for our guide who was recommended by the hotel, Moulat. A very friendly , decent and unimposing man who showed us things we would not have seen had we just walked around on our own. He made Marrakesh a much more memorable holiday for us and we would totally recommend that you use him if you stay at the hotel.

In the last couple of years I have stayed at some great hotels like the Carlton in Cannes, the Victoria Grand in Switzerland and Villa D'este in lake Como, and the Sultana Marrakesh is every bit as good but with a special ambience and very personal service that larger hotels could only aspire to be like.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights - I arrived with a broken foot ( accident 7 days prior to arrival ) - on day 3 foot would take no weight - so Saida (front desk manager) took us to hospital - cutting thro all red tape !! Beyond call of duty - the whole experience was like that - they couldn't do enough for us - very charming , friendly , great food , delightful surroundings , and on a par with La Residencia in Majorca ! Will go again for w/end break .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hard to fault - impeccable service in beautiful surroundings, in the heart of Marrakech. Only downside is that the pool is separate from the rooftop 'sun bathing area'. This might be better in the middle of summer as the pool is in a tranquil, shaded area, but when we were there, at the end of May, it was a little cool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 998Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#34 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#19 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#2 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing