We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Perfect ' 10 '” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #33 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Perfect ' 10 '”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I travel abroad maybe half a dozen times a year and have only ever been compelled to do one review because the hotel I stayed in, in Cannes, was so bad. But , I felt only for the second time in a few years to write another but this time for the opposite reason. This hotel is wonderful ! It was a calm and beautiful hideaway and was so peaceful it could have been in the middle of a desert but in fact if you walk out on to the street you were in the bustling Medina. We had a perfect room called ' Puma ', a strange name for a room but it was lovely. From the moment we walked in to the room and closed the door we felt we were in our own little world, peaceful, quiet and very very relaxing.

Every single member of staff from the reception, to the bell boy, to the restaurant staff and the spa , could not have been any better. Always with genuine smiles and so friendly and helpful.

Only 28 rooms, you feel like you have the whole place to yourself, very romantic and a very special place.

Just inside the Medina walls and only a ten minute walk from the main square.

A special mention must be made for our guide who was recommended by the hotel, Moulat. A very friendly , decent and unimposing man who showed us things we would not have seen had we just walked around on our own. He made Marrakesh a much more memorable holiday for us and we would totally recommend that you use him if you stay at the hotel.

In the last couple of years I have stayed at some great hotels like the Carlton in Cannes, the Victoria Grand in Switzerland and Villa D'este in lake Como, and the Sultana Marrakesh is every bit as good but with a special ambience and very personal service that larger hotels could only aspire to be like.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    73
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
124
626
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenstone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights - I arrived with a broken foot ( accident 7 days prior to arrival ) - on day 3 foot would take no weight - so Saida (front desk manager) took us to hospital - cutting thro all red tape !! Beyond call of duty - the whole experience was like that - they couldn't do enough for us - very charming , friendly , great food , delightful surroundings , and on a par with La Residencia in Majorca ! Will go again for w/end break .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hard to fault - impeccable service in beautiful surroundings, in the heart of Marrakech. Only downside is that the pool is separate from the rooftop 'sun bathing area'. This might be better in the middle of summer as the pool is in a tranquil, shaded area, but when we were there, at the end of May, it was a little cool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 998Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a gorgeous, well apportioned room which was tastefully decorated but benefited from all mod cons. La Sultana is a boutique, authentic property which is beautifully designed and superbly located in the Kasbah area of the Medina. Our welcome consisted of fresh mint tea and delightful pastries followed by a tour of the hotel which is formed from the amalgamation of a number of raids. Breakfast was served by the pool or on the roof terrace. Food was wonderful and fresh. All the staff we encountered could not do enough for us and this hotel can not come more highly reccommeded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamuelJames21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

You would never think, as you wander down the chaotic, dusty, donkey cart infested street with a perfume which alternates between the smoke of street vendors' charcoal barbecues and the sweet aromatic symphony of the many herbalist shops that you were 20 meters from a luxury oasis.

The hotel is delightful mix of authentic Moroccan architecture styles, finishes and fabrics understated and achieved with a certain grace. Use of natural lighting sets off the typical brickwork and the amazing intricacy of the carved paster and wood fretwork in every angle.

We stayed in the Jaguar suite which was very stylishly finished with a sunken bath, marble throughout, two terraces and two sitting rooms and walk in wardrobe. Despite its size however, it remained quite intimate and cozy with a lovely outlook over the courtyard pool.

The staff are friendly, attentive and professional and everything was made seamless and easy. The restaurant on the roof terrace at lunchtime is competent and has a limited but tasty menu. In the evening the restaurant moves to being around the pool and is both romantic and pretty good if not a little expensive (compared to similar standard non hotel restaurants, so nothing new there). Try the Moroccan tasting menu as it will give you good first impression of Morrocan food.

Finally when you have had enough of the souks grab a sun-bed on the rooftop, enjoy the complimentary virgin Mojito's and chill in the North African sun (don't forget the sun cream!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was a special occasion, so we splashed out for dinner here and it was worth every penny.
We were treated like royalty from the beginning, the service was impeccable .
The food was absolutely delicious Moroccan cuisine with good sized helpings.
Delightful deserts too and superb surroundings.
Go if you can!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkonup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Amidst the chaos of the Medina - this glorious hotel provides everything we dreamed of finding in Marrakech. It exceeded all of our expectations. The service is excellent - they were always available to satisfy every whim - and yet we felt we had complete privacy. The decor is stunning - the hotel is made up of several unique riads - each more interesting and beautiful then the last. The attention to detail is superb. The spa is a beautifully designed space and the services are amazing. This was one of the most romantic hotels I have ever been to. The food is delicious and if we expressed interest in something not on the menu - they were happy to make it for us. We really felt at home here and look forward to returning soon. Absolute Luxury and Complete 5 Star experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benarroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#36 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#19 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#2 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing