We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very special & beautiful Riad but over priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #28 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very special & beautiful Riad but over priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel has some luxurious rooms and amazing surroundings with several courtyards and a roof terraces. The decorations in the room and bath-room are unique; it is like staying in the 1001 fair-tale places. The reception manager Saida is very friendly and super professional; she made our stay in the hotel enjoyable despite the problems with the room and the check-in process. The dinner is very good with nice service and beautiful surrounding near the pool.
The hotel is more suitable for couples without children. Furthermore, we missed that personal approach which we experienced at some other hotels of this price range. For instance, the service during the check-in process was unacceptable. Upon our arrival at 12:45, we were told that the Prestige double room we booked does not allow a child, so we had to take one of their suits with significant amount of additional charges. We accepted it, but had to wait more than 2½ hours for the room to be ready, even though we informed them that we have been up since 5:30 am and would really like to have our room as soon as possible. The elevator needs urgent service so it would not make such noise that clearly went through to this expensive suit. The staff at the breakfast is friendly, but it misses that extra level of genuine engagement. A normal taxi from airport without any bargain cost 50 MAD. The hotel charged us 380 MAD for a very old & dirty car to pick us up from the airport. The benefit was that there was no problem to find the hotel. The street immediately outside of the hotel was dirty, smelling of garbage and crowded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    70
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
123
615
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last year (with my brother) - it is so utterly stunning.... - lots of beautiful court yards and little luxury areas to sit and relax - Marrakech itself is totally bonkers (in a wonderful way) and the La Sultana is a wonderful place to get away from it all after the city has twisted your melon (man!).....simply amazing....a once in a lifetime experience for me.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naomi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asse, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We are Marrakech lovers and Morocco lovers in general, therefore we spend the second short holiday this year at our beloved country. This time we booked in LS based on the feed back from TA travellers, whilst our earlier stay was spend at Riad Idra.
Overall LS is a very good hotel which offers the std comfort of a 5* rated hotel but it misses that extra level of genuine engagement of the staff: the terras could be a wonderful place but the staff for whatever reason forgets to pamper the hosts with some genuine friendliness and hospitality. From a 5* hotel you should expect with the limited number of tables, what yr guests drink or with how many people they are so table can be dressed accordingly. Here it was like every day was a new day for the waiters and we missed that personal approach which we experienced at some other hotels of this price range.
It has to be said that all other staff is extremely friendly and even if we had an smell issue in our room the manager without hesitation offered us to change room and to do all moves themselves. Really appreciated.
So overall we really appreciated the hotel but not enough to return as it missed that Small Luxury Hotel personal touch.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at la Sultana for 3 nights. It met every expectation and beyond.
The rooms are absolutely beautiful. The amenities superb. Staff is discreet but very friendly and helpful. I give this hotel and A+ or 5 star rating.
Our guide, arranged through the hotel: Ahmed, cell 0021266241241 was very knowledgeable and just great. Our taxi driver Abdelmoula mobile 0666169181 was equally wonderful. Both very honest and honorable people.
Marrakech felt safer than any city I have been to-and I have been to many.

Room Tip: any room is fantastic. We booked the lowest cost and were upgraded without asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and me spend 5 beautifull days in La Sultana, Marrakech for our 5-year wedding anniversary. We slept in Suite La Panthere. Everything was absolutely perfect and romantic: a 1001night fairytaill. With a climax: a Massage and Spa for two in Spa La Sultana (PlaiSir Absolu). Mouna and Tirzam were incredible. Absolutely relaxing. Dream we hoped for, come true. Thanks all the crew from La Sultana (but specially Mouna and Tirzam). It’s quite a lot of money. But it’s absolutely worth it. Staff is so attentive. 100% recommended.
P&A from The Netherlands

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank a v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harmony, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A colleague and I roughed it at a modest riad for five nights and then splurged at La Sultana for one. From the moment we entered, we felt like princesses in a palace. The decor was extraordinary, and the welcoming staff treated us like the royalty we had instantly become. Breakfast was sumptuous, dinner by the pool ultra picturesque, food delicious and the oud player gifted with stamina and a charming repertoire. My dip in the pool at 8 am allowed me to work off the previous night's dinner. Our room was out of a fairy tale and the rest of our brief time there was spent photographing every exotic nook and cranny. Destined to become one of my Top 10.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Excellent location, fifteen minutes walk from the souks and the square. So you feel you are in the middle of everything yet when you enter the hotel you are in a calm oasis. The staff could not be more helpful or attentive without being intrusive. We stayed in the Le cigne (the Swan) room - it was wonderful! Roof terrace is a delight with fabulous views of the Atlas Mountains. We would stay there again if visiting Marrakech and do not hesitate in recommending it to others. Thanks for a superb experience!

Room Tip: Le cigne was lovely - we didn't need to see any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#24 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#19 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing