We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an Arabian Dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #27 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“an Arabian Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

our family, with 2 teenagers, stayed at La Sultana for 4-5 days, and could have spent a month- or more!
La Sultana is beautiful, peaceful, quiet and comfortable in the midst of bustling Marrakech. The staff is superb- and will arrange everything. Every room is gorgeous and different in design and decor elements- while maintaining your arabian dream.
You can walk to almost everywhere you want to go within the city walls which makes morning and late afternoon ideal for touring around easy and spontaneous (early morning runs recommended for optimal weather, nice orientation, less crowds, and a real picture of daily life in Marrakech). Breakfast or evening drinks on the roof deck overlooking the city surrounding you are a must for sunrises and sunsets. Mid afternoons are usually hot- so ideal time to rendevous back at La Sultana for lunch at the poolside. Although the restaurant is superb, the staff will help book the best tables at the best and most scenic restaurants in Marrakech for a few dinners. They also will arrange the requisite camel rides just outside the city. La Sultana is a must experience while in Marrakech, and a 'home' I would love to live in anywhere.

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful and unique. Some are larger- Ask staff about the options, as i doubt there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thetinasmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    70
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
123
615
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

La Sultana is a true haven of peace and tranquility in a chaotic environment. It`s standards are far higher than the other 5 star hotels. It is elegant, smart and fantastically stylish but not in a garish or excessive manner.
The staff are genuinely considerate and patient; wishing for your comfort at all times, and thinking ahead to your needs.
The rooms are designed in a unique and comfortable way, and spa and the staff there are superb too.
The welcome is generous and considerate with a little surprise, and so is the departure... I won`t spoil it for you!
There is a tour of the hotel too, so if you prefer another room or suite you can chose more easily too.
How could it get better? Well it can... the food in the restaurant cannot be beaten. The menu is a fusion of French and Moroccan cuisine and it works remarkably well.
I cannot recommend it more highly. For those of you who know what luxury really means, and have high expectations; this is for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWHPMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent three glorious nights at La Sultana at the end of our honeymoon. Everything about this place and the people who work there is AMAZING! From the moment we walked in it was all about our comfort and the staff did all they could to make our stay unforgettable. Khalid welcomed us with a delicious cup of mint tea before showing us to our beautiful room. The Prestige room we had was spacious and very private. Only metres away lies the hustle and bustel of Marrakesh and yet it is so quiet inside the walls of La sultana. Breakfast is delicious and there are many choices on the menu as well as a buffet. The rooftop area is great for lunch. The bar opens at 6pm and we had our very own friendly barman. Dinner menu is great, food is so fresh and not too pricey. The reception staff are very helpful, they organised a guide to spend half a day with us. Nothing was too much trouble. The Spaa is lovely. My husband and I had a body scrub treatment and massage, and we thoroughly enjoyed the pampering. They even left a sweet gift for us on the last night. It was definitely a five star experience. The staff speak great English and we liked their sense of humour also.

Room Tip: if you have any queries about rooms, email the hotel direct and they are very helpful, especially Kh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a lovely - but too short - holiday; The room and the hotel were superb and so quiet, considering the hustle and bustle of the street outside. The food and service were exceptional and we were treated very handsomely. We were not actually on our honeymoon (!) as we have been married for nearly 48 years but perhaps we looked so happy, it might appear that we were on a special break. Thank you; we are planning to come again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is amazing. It is hidden down a small allley and through a door into a beautiful oasis. Each room is unique and well appointed. Had dinner in the restaurant and the meal was lovely. The staff was great and were very helpful with arranging a car for an early morning airport transport and having a small meal delivered to the room at 6:15 a.m. The roof top seating and bar is great to watch the sunset and people watch while having a pot of mint tea. The hotel belongs to the "Smalll Luxury Hotels of the World" group and deservingly so.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knlaw2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Five star plus treatment at La Sultana and more!!!! Amazing hotel, small luxurious and very romantic. The staff was helpful and accommodating to all our needs. The food was delicious and the spa treatments were exceptional!!!! A hidden treasure in the Medina, looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Effi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

La Sultana was an amazing experience throughout our 6 day stay and lived up to its reputation as an SLH property. Located in Marrakech's busy city center yet still felt like an oasis. The staff had fantastic attention to detail -- most staff greeted us by name by the second day -- it gave a very personal feeling to our stay. Rooms are amazing, food is excellent, location is great for holiday traveling. Pricing is expensive, but that's to be expected for an experience like this. Looking forward to having the chance to return one day.

We considered two alternative hotels of similar caliber in the area, and I am glad we chose to stay at La Sultana.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavePoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#19 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing