We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Out of this world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #28 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Out of this world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

As the taxi dropped us off on the busy street I thought he had taken me to the wrong place but in fact the hotel is located on the busy Kashbah street which can be hectic. It's full of life which people buying selling and cars, motorbikes and bikes flying past.... Then you enter La Sultana and it couldn't be further away from that atmosphere. It's peaceful, beautifully decorated and truly out of this world. The welcome we received was excellent. We were given a tour of the hotel and served mint tea and Moroccan cakes on the roof top. I was in in rush to get to the room as I was enjoying the tea and the surroundings. Then when we saw the room we were thrilled it was so beautiful and everything you needed is there, iPod docking station, DVD player, all the usual extra slippers robe etc. Bathroom was spacious and the bed was so comfortable. It's by the far the best 5 star hotel we have ever stayed in. I'm sad to leave but look forward to returning. The staff go out of their way for all their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    70
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
123
615
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at La Sultana for 4 nights. And we loved it!!
The staff is absolutely wonderful, they makes you feel at home and so comfortable. I´ve been on their website before to look at the pictures. But in real life it exceeded the photos. So if you want to live in a Morrocan dream & fairytale for a couple of days. This is the place!
And don´t forget to book treatments at the spa. We went twice, because it´s so beautiful: And so relaxing to have the hamambath with a massage.
I would love to stay there again, next time I go to Marrakech.
/ Christina Karlsson Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

It was an absolute amazing stay at La Sultana, Saida the Front Office Manager will do everything for you what is in her power to make it the most memorable stay. The Hotel is a small Boutique Hotel, with excellent Staff, food is outstanding and very fresh. If you are vegetarian or you do have some food allergies like Gluten Allergie or Lactose intollerance you just let the staff know and they will organize everything for you what you need.
The Spa was excellent, clean, very hygenic and amazing treatments.
I will definately come back and i hope very soon.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms have no windows to the outside so they are quite dark. Windows only facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninaPhuket_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Excellent location, tastefully decorated riads and very friendly staff make this luxury hotel a definite recommendation! They were very flexible with breakfast times, and we really enjoyed the hamam treatments. The rooftop terrace is a great place to hang out and observe busy Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schwiizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCE
Level Contributor
225 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spend 10 days in Marrakech and 6 in La Sultana. We had a wonderful time. The staff is lovely and very helpful. La Sultana is probably the best boutique hotel in town and the Kasbah or Median is the best place to be off season, as most of the hotel in the Palmeraie are empty. Also you can walk to the Medina from it.
We visit most of the top hotels and really the Sultana is the most beautiful one. The renovation is spectacular and the furniture are gorgeous.
One little point I will prefer that the all breakfast will be serve than on a buffet...I don't like buffet

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PIXSQUARED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is ok located if you want to stay in the Medina, but frankly it's nicer outside. The rooms, service, staff, spa, etc. is simply not good. This should be not more than a 2-3 star hotel. Disappointing and not worth the price at all.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place is spectacular. It's in the medina of Marrakech in the kasbah area and from the outside doesn't look like much. In fact from the street you wouldn't even know that this very large hotel is even there. Inside it's a beautiful restoration of several traditional riads, each one more eye-popping than the last for their elegant traditional interiors. There is a large swimming pool in the final courtyard. Meals are served around the pool. The restaurant is superb. Everything we ate was good but we particularly recommend the sampler menu to get an idea of fine Moroccan cuisine and the skills of the chef. Our suite was lovely, a two-story affair with all sorts of nooks and and fine Moroccan furniture. I suppose every room is different in layout and/or furnishings so you might want to take a look at yours before you accept it. The staff are highly professional. There is a very pleasant planted roof terrace where you can also eat and drink and look out over the daily life of the medina. The medina itself is fascinating, although the speeding mopeds that go swerving and honking up and down the narrow alleys are really dangerous and detract from the experience. The whole atmosphere of the medina must have been so different before the masses of mopeds arrived on the scene.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#24 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#19 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing