We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #27 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Out of this world!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

As the taxi dropped us off on the busy street I thought he had taken me to the wrong place but in fact the hotel is located on the busy Kashbah street which can be hectic. It's full of life which people buying selling and cars, motorbikes and bikes flying past.... Then you enter La Sultana and it couldn't be further away from that atmosphere. It's peaceful, beautifully decorated and truly out of this world. The welcome we received was excellent. We were given a tour of the hotel and served mint tea and Moroccan cakes on the roof top. I was in in rush to get to the room as I was enjoying the tea and the surroundings. Then when we saw the room we were thrilled it was so beautiful and everything you needed is there, iPod docking station, DVD player, all the usual extra slippers robe etc. Bathroom was spacious and the bed was so comfortable. It's by the far the best 5 star hotel we have ever stayed in. I'm sad to leave but look forward to returning. The staff go out of their way for all their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    77
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
149
717
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at La Sultana for 4 nights. And we loved it!!
The staff is absolutely wonderful, they makes you feel at home and so comfortable. I´ve been on their website before to look at the pictures. But in real life it exceeded the photos. So if you want to live in a Morrocan dream & fairytale for a couple of days. This is the place!
And don´t forget to book treatments at the spa. We went twice, because it´s so beautiful: And so relaxing to have the hamambath with a massage.
I would love to stay there again, next time I go to Marrakech.
/ Christina Karlsson Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

It was an absolute amazing stay at La Sultana, Saida the Front Office Manager will do everything for you what is in her power to make it the most memorable stay. The Hotel is a small Boutique Hotel, with excellent Staff, food is outstanding and very fresh. If you are vegetarian or you do have some food allergies like Gluten Allergie or Lactose intollerance you just let the staff know and they will organize everything for you what you need.
The Spa was excellent, clean, very hygenic and amazing treatments.
I will definately come back and i hope very soon.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms have no windows to the outside so they are quite dark. Windows only facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninaPhuket_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Excellent location, tastefully decorated riads and very friendly staff make this luxury hotel a definite recommendation! They were very flexible with breakfast times, and we really enjoyed the hamam treatments. The rooftop terrace is a great place to hang out and observe busy Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schwiizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCE
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spend 10 days in Marrakech and 6 in La Sultana. We had a wonderful time. The staff is lovely and very helpful. La Sultana is probably the best boutique hotel in town and the Kasbah or Median is the best place to be off season, as most of the hotel in the Palmeraie are empty. Also you can walk to the Medina from it.
We visit most of the top hotels and really the Sultana is the most beautiful one. The renovation is spectacular and the furniture are gorgeous.
One little point I will prefer that the all breakfast will be serve than on a buffet...I don't like buffet

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PIXSQUARED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is ok located if you want to stay in the Medina, but frankly it's nicer outside. The rooms, service, staff, spa, etc. is simply not good. This should be not more than a 2-3 star hotel. Disappointing and not worth the price at all.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasultana, Directeur général at La Sultana Marrakech, responded to this review, October 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

Our property may not have been the regular hotel experience you were looking for as effectively La Sultana Marrakech is "off the beaten track" and offers real authenticity amongst historical monuments.

La Sultana Marrakech is about enjoying relaxing holidays and being able to make the most of the UNESCO listed Medina and the souks at the same time. Indeed, the neighborhood is very authentic with ancient houses and little shops shaped by time. This is actually one of the reasons the Medina has been listed as World Heritage as it is “an ancient habitat and represents an outstanding example of a living historic town with its tangle of lanes, its houses, souks (…)”. Another reason is the decisive role the Medina of Marrakech has played in medieval urban development, as an urban model for other Moroccan cities like Fès. The Medina is really what makes the red city worth visiting for few days and our guests enjoy a lot being able to visit the Medina and being able to walk back for any reasons to relax at the swimming pool, at the spa or having a lunch on the rooftop.

The quality of service is our priority as 5-star Luxury property to be attentive and kind as we deeply care about our guests. We work hard to make everything perfect in the rooms, at the Spa, at the Restaurant and as we all are human beings we encourage our guests to come to us in the minute they have a little something bothering them.

We well remember your stay with us and we emailed you but we haven't received any response. We stay available to review what went wrong exactly so that we understand your rating and improve our service for other travelers.

All the staff of “La Sultana Marrakech”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place is spectacular. It's in the medina of Marrakech in the kasbah area and from the outside doesn't look like much. In fact from the street you wouldn't even know that this very large hotel is even there. Inside it's a beautiful restoration of several traditional riads, each one more eye-popping than the last for their elegant traditional interiors. There is a large swimming pool in the final courtyard. Meals are served around the pool. The restaurant is superb. Everything we ate was good but we particularly recommend the sampler menu to get an idea of fine Moroccan cuisine and the skills of the chef. Our suite was lovely, a two-story affair with all sorts of nooks and and fine Moroccan furniture. I suppose every room is different in layout and/or furnishings so you might want to take a look at yours before you accept it. The staff are highly professional. There is a very pleasant planted roof terrace where you can also eat and drink and look out over the daily life of the medina. The medina itself is fascinating, although the speeding mopeds that go swerving and honking up and down the narrow alleys are really dangerous and detract from the experience. The whole atmosphere of the medina must have been so different before the masses of mopeds arrived on the scene.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#30 of 499 in Marrakech
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#44 of 499 in Marrakech
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#37 of 499 in Marrakech
662 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 499 in Marrakech
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads. Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing