We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #30 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our family (3 children) spend a lovely full week at la Sultana this fall. The staff was great with the kids and the service was perfect, making our holiday a very peaceful and pleasant one. We were initially planning to spend 3 days then try another hotel in the Palmeraie but after 3 days there we decided to finish the week in this riad.
Rooms were great, and we would highly recommend the appartment, which is gorgeous. Very important for us, the place is quiet and extremely clean. In a word, it was a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    70
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
118
603
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

great luxurious rooms, amazing surroundings. Only tiny complaint that the pool was on the small side and in the ground floor which is too shaded but we made up for it by sunbathing on the roof terrace! will be coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elgreko69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at La Sultana mid October and had a wonderful room - Giraffe - overlooking the pool with a balcony which we made use of for morning coffee and in the evening for a digestif, listening to the musician. The hotel is magical in design and the staff so warm and friendly. I made friends with Lynne Hey and family so it is good to see her review too. Reception was excellent in recommending places to visit or sorting out any minor issues immediately. The breakfast and dinner was excellent especially the tasting menu - and the chef took the time to visit us and seek feedback. I went out and about on my own with confidence in Marrakesh, which not many women did, but I found the city exciting and vibrant with life. Despite the intgroduction of the fixed price green taxis we were overcharged and the hotel spend nearly a day getting the overcharge back for us - how is that for service? Jasmine and her husband could not have done more for us in the restaurant and we wish them well for the future. Mohammed is an asset to front of house. Our antique rug arrived from Morroco yesterday. Price started at £10,000 and we settled at £3,000 delivered and taxed UK. My husband was described as a Berber in terms of negotiation!! So lovely memories to reflect on and a stunning rug to view each day. We intend to visit La Sultana again and combine with a visit to their sister hotel on the coast and a trip to the desert.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for the last 2 weeks of October, the weather was mostly good but a few rainy days.
All of the rooms are completely different, I have never stayed anywhere quite like this, there are actually 5 Riads at this property. The location is in the Kasbah, a very busy area, taxis are unable to park directly outside of the property, they park on the street and it is a short walk to La Sultana which is like a tardis! Upon entering the area just beyond the small reception the smell of incense envelops you, Moroccan lanterns adorn the passage offering a romantic glow initiating a feeling of complete tranquillity, away from the chaos outside. The staff are excellent nothing is too much trouble, Saida is superb she organised many different activities for us, restaurants, guides, a trip to the Atlas Mountains. The Spa here is very good, I can recommend Jasmine, she is very, very strong so if you like a hard massage you will not be disappointed! If you need a cab use Abdulmoula he won't rip you off (they know him at the hotel if you ask), he even offered to pay our hotel bill when the hotel chip and pin machine didn't work! If you need a guide it costs around £15 for half a day, Havid(Hafeed) is a real gentleman and extremely knowledgeable. If you drink alcohol I would suggest you buy some duty free on the plane as all of the alcohol here appears to be quite expensive. The food at La Sultana is good as much as you like at breakfast, with a large and varied selection of produce.
This is a very busy area with a great deal going on, I was there for the first week with my 16 year old daughter and although we initially felt a little conspicuous after a couple of days we were absolutely fine. To watch belly dancing I can recommend La Comptoir but go late it starts around 10.30pm and at the weekend, ensure you have seats upstairs (although the tables are a little low). We dined at the Royal Mansour, it cost just short of £400 for 2 including drinks, mega expensive but WOW! We also visited the Kasbah Tamadot (Richard Bransons place) the property is amazing but appeared quite isolated compared to La Sultana, the food was mediocre not what we expected, to be fair it was just the one meal but we were disappointed. There are over 2600 shops in the Souks so every day is different. For me it was a holiday like no other. I hope that my comments help anyone considering a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lynne_hey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diepenbeek, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we had a wonderful stay last week in La Sultana; extreme relaxing atmosphere amid hectic Marrakech. The staff is extremely helpful, meals are perfect and rooms heavenly...
We spend hours just relaxing with a glass of wine and a book on the roof top terras.
Highly recommended for special occasions; expensive venue, but worth the price...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frederic m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A fantastic stay in a stunning Riad. A quiet oasis away from the bustle of the City. Wonderful food served in amazing surroundings. The staff could not have been more helpful. Would recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech and if you are not staying here, make sure you have dinner!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just spent 4 days in this hotel and couldn't have asked for more. The service was exceptional, the food delicious and varied, and the architecture stunning. A wonderful oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the streets.
And, for those of us who need to stay in touch, free wifi!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lml13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#27 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#54 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#21 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing