We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Charming and marvelous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Sultana Marrakech
Ranked #33 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
oporto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and marvelous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Plus:
- The Hotel design, decoration, facilities (terrasse, spa, small charming leusure rooms etc..);
- The location (10 minutes walk from the main square Jemma el fna)
- Concierge + Front desk service (friendly, helpful and competent)
- The rooms are very well decorated (arab and africa style)

(Little) Minus:
- 350x2 dirahms for the 2 transfers from and to airport. Two expensive for the kind of poor and untidy transfer car presented (other hotels have a mercedes for almost half the price). Does not suit the hotel and its luxury image.
- The front desk of the spa was quite unfriendly and lazy. (were particularly unhappy that we undressed in the spa instead of in our rooms). Wanted us to walk barefoot in the hamman and take our spa slippers off, which we obviously did not do (although they were not barefoot either).
- The breakfast staff were sometimes very nice but other times a little forgetful with newspaper and other stuff.
- The water of the jacuzzi was too cold.
- Although we did not use the TV duriing our entire stay it us not up to the standard of our room. The tv us some 10 years old and we stayed in a deluxe suite.
- The bathroom was great but the bathroom kit (shampoo, hydratant etc) should be better for a deluxe suite. For instance shaving and toothpaste and better shampoo products).
But these were just small negative details that were easily forgotten when taking into account the positive aspects of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielferias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    73
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
124
626
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Le Muy, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We had a 3 night stay in this dream place as a couple. I recommand this establishment without hesitation. We had a perfect time, the hotel decoration is magnificent, the suite wonderful. It's location is ideal to visit the Medina, but still it's a quite place. Food and services are excellent, the staff was very kind and helpful. The Spa is of excellent quality as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NathalieDumalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

The decor, staff and cuisine were faultless. A truly beautiful hotel that succeeds in creating the ambience of refined historic Morocco without trying too hard. Elegant, discreet and quiet, yet right in the heart of the Kasbah, it is a wonderful place to return to at night and wake up to in the morning. The craftsmanship, furnishings and art in this restored palace are the perfect blend of 5 star hotel quality and antiquity. We really couldn't recommend La Sultana more highly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2easyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

All the services and warmth of staff in this riad is just superb. Will recommend it to my friend, will stay here again on my next trip to Marakech.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naggas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I have just returned from a four day stay at the Sultana with my husband - a 50th birthday treat. I cannot praise this hotel enough. It is an amazing riad. You approach a magnificent gold door from a passage way and enter a hidden paradise in the middle of the city.
The decor is sumptuous; Morrocan with a contemporary twist. The fixtures and fittings have been chosen with exquiste detail to make each room different, but equally beautiful.
We arrived to find a host of welcome items in our room, and the staff were attentive without being overly so. Soft drinks from the mini bar are complimentary.
The food in the restaurant is very good - the evening meal particualry so.
The spa room is a great way of unwinding after a day battling in the souk.
The location is brilliant. You step out of the riad and are immdiately immersed in the streetlife. Atmospheric and lively. Everywhere is within easy walking distance. A trip to the main square at night is a must.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElderflowerCordial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We (two girlfriends) staid at La Sultana for 4nights for our city trip. The hotel is fabulous and actually the best part of the whole trip! Great location, beautiful hotel, very friendly stuff members. As soon you enter the hotel, you are in a different world, we loved just to hang out in the hotel, reading our books on the gorgeous roof top. We staid in a Junior Suite, which was nice and big enough. Well you have to get used to the door system. The spa is ok, try a hamman but I wouldn't recommend the massage. The breakfast which is included is pretty small but ok. I absolutely can recommend the hotel and would stay there anytime again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chipsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istres
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

La Sultana Marrakech is very well located,short distance driving from the airport in the heart of the Medina walking distance to the main places of interest..
We spent 6 nights in Bahia riad.Room Antilope was ok and staff in charge very efficient and discreet.
Dinner alongside the pool was ok as well!!!!
Welcomming at the SPA we used every day was warm and the staff professional..
Will probably come back or maybe will try la Sultana Oualidia if we are on the same standard of quality..
Laurent SIcard

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurentIstres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#34 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#18 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sultana Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Marrakech

Property: La Sultana Marrakech
Address: 403 rue de la kasbah | Kasbah - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Royal Palaces, La Sultana is over a combination of 5 riads.Featured in Elle Decoration for its gorgeous interiors, this member of SLH is a stylish retreat set in flower-filled courtyards. Elegant and sophisticated, each of the individually decorated rooms and suites captures the essence of old Marrakech with vaulted ceilings, antiques and objects d’art. Guests can also enjoy the spa, an outdoor heated pool and a fantastic roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Sultana Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Hotel La Sultana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing