We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a cute hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mogador Express Bab Doukkala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Ranked #462 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a cute hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed here for a week during July. The staff at the reception are so friendly and helpful with tours and excursions which you can book through the hotel at decent prices. Close proximity to the city centre/ medina and there's a supermarket that sells everythingggg right next door. Also, the hotel has their own restaurant, which they opened for us to eat at even though it was after opening times.
Can get a taxi right outside, make sure you negotiate cheap prices because they will try rip you off wherever you go. Do not pay more than 40 dirhams for a taxi to the medina!! They will call you back if you say no to their prices and walk away, so just pretend you are not interested. WORKS EVERY TIME.
Wifi is available in a cute lounge near the reception area which also is a restaurant. Great for meeting people, we met some good friends there!!
Overall, Great hotel, and clean rooms which are cleaned everyday.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are pretty much the same. Some views better than others but you'll probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    120
    191
    89
    97
See reviews for
74
195
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here during a week long trip to Marrakech in early July. Was somewhat apprehensive after reading some of the reviews here but found the hotel perfectly acceptable. Those looking for 5 star luxury should really book into a 5 star hotel and pay the appropriate rates.

Found the staff to be friendly and helpful, with a good mastery of several languages including English and Spanish. The night guard was particularly charming - dealing with a particularly persistent beggar and offering us a taste of his own mint tea when we returned at a very late hour one evening. We were offered a choice of rooms and elected for a double on the fifth floor overlooking the pool.

Rooms were spartan and perhaps a little dated but perfectly serviceable, particularly if - like us - you are visiting Marrakech for the cultural experience and just need a clean, comfortable space to sleep. Rooms are cleaned every day between 10 and 2, with fresh linens, towels, soap and shampoo provided. We made use of the laundry service twice - clothes were returned in absolutely pristine order within 4 hours at a very reasonable price.

Breakfast offered a good selection of pastries and fresh bread and butter, as well as salads, olives, cheese, eggs and some form of mortadella (presumably chicken), as well as freshly made omelettes to order. Also unlimited coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fresh orange juice available. Dinner offered a set menu of three options on three courses with drinks charged separately - I highly recommend the beef tangine.

The lounge is prettily decorated in French salon style, with deep armchairs and a large TV (mainly German shows or Eurosport shown). Some confusion over whether or not smoking was permitted - eventually transpired that it was allowed and ashtrays are provided and regularly cleaned and replaced. Good selection of hot and cold drinks available (slightly more expensive than local cafes, but this is standard hotel practice in my experience) and the lounge was well air-conditioned.

Those complaining about the size of the pool may be interested to learn that in the inner city pools are restricted to a certain size to protect local buildings - many of which may have mud-brick foundations and as such are particularly vulnerable to flooding. The pool was cleaned daily and due to the shade provided by the building until approx 1pm stayed deliciously cool - the perfect antidote to several hours out in the blistering African sun. The lifeguard was both polite and professional, and had a wicked sense of humour once he got to know us.

All in all fantastically good value and a good base for people looking to save their money for out-and-about experiences.

Room Tip: If possible request a room on the pool side of the hotel - cooler during the day and less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

stayed for one night ..hotel was not up to the mark...food was not very good but the nature of the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We didnt like the bed of this hotel so the whole night it was really hard to sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms which aren't on the roadside are better than the ones facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kishansinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were shown to our room and noticed one light wasn't working. About half an hour later the door to our room opened with no warning and someone just walked in to change the light bulb...thinking this was bad enough the next day the maid just walked in again with no knock of a warning. Luckily we were just pottering around the room when these intrusions occurred! The positives were the pool was great if not enough seating and the room was comfortable enough. We were a 30 minute walk from the souk markets which was actually quite nice to escape the madness. We were woken up very early in the morning multiple times during our holiday, this obviously wasn't the fault of the hotel but our bed was very close to the door which was on a main corridor by the lifts. Could be a lot worse but not the most comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agrace94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in April 2013. Room was very standard A.C did not work first night. Bed was broken!! Breakfast was poor with very less to offer. Location is Good as bus Station and local shopping areas are very close. Hotel has small pool. Advice would be to avoid booking here

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Really bad experience, staff at rude all they care about is money! We even had to pay for a phone call for the transfers wow!!! Rooms were horrible toilet was leaking, flush won't work! Just plain awful! Even the food was discusting

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Komal Serena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Bad hotel, location was not all that complained within first day, guy goes next to they will change us but didn't, I promise this hotel if anyone stays over you won't like it and it smells just so bad rooms no fridge especially in a hotel country like that, only fridge in the better rooms,needs major revamp!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silent123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
#305 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#212 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menzah
Ryad Mogador Menzah
#455 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#314 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#363 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menara
Ryad Mogador Menara
#313 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mogador Express Bab Doukkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogador Express Bab Doukkala

Property: Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Address: Angle Blvd 11 Janvier Blvd Prince Moulay Abdellah | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Mogador Express Bab Doukkala)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #462 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mogador Express Bab Doukkala 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opposite the city Ramparts and overlooking the Atlas Mountains, the Ryad Mogador Marrakech features an outdoor swimming pool and air-conditioned rooms. It is located in Marrakesh's Medina district. The Mogador Marrakech has a restaurant serving both international and traditional Moroccan cuisine. The pool-side snack bar serves Italian food and local specialities. Guests can also enjoy a mint tea in the Tamuziga tea room. Each guest room at the Ryad Mogador includes satellite TV and a private bathroom, and room service is available. Free Wi-Fi is accessible in the hotel's common areas. With a 24-hour reception, the hotel also provides currency exchange, car hire and a babysitting service upon request. The hotel is located a 5-minute walk from the Majorelle Gardens and a 10-minute walk from Jamaa El Fna Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mogador Express Bab Doukkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Marrakech
Riad Mogador
Ryad Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing