We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Medina & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlas Medina & Spa
Ranked #168 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while on a tour. Our room was large with lots of room to put suitcases & it also had a lounge. It was situated on the top floor with a good size balcony which had a nice view overlooking the pool area. Our room was near the lift area but was very quiet and we couldn’t hear any outside noise. The bed was quite hard and uncomfortable as were the pillows. There were also a couple of small holes in the sheet on the bed. The bathroom was also large with a shower over the bath. At times both the lobby and lifts smelt of smoke. Breakfast was good and you could get omelettes & eggs freshly cooked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silver999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    331
    151
    71
    44
See reviews for
109
310
42
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
391 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

...as others have commented, this benefit was seriously marred by poor maintenance standards.

Similarly with the common areas; appealing at first but poor maintenance and cleanliness standards quickly become apparent on closer inspection. We also stayed in their sister hotel in Fez and I seem to recall similar issues there. It would seem that there is a poor maintenance culture with this chain so probably best to avoid.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. The reception staff was pretty dry but efficient. The dinner waiter was straight up rude and the dinner buffet was highly disappointing. Dried up chicken and fish and some salads. Very blah. Breakfast was a little better but nothing special either.
The room was very comfortable and clean. It had a little balcony which sadly faced the construction across the street although noise was never an issue.
The little store downstairs had cute things which weren't too ridiculously expensive.
Overall it was a very decent experience. I only stayed one day which included the meals I had. Maybe I caught the kitchen on a bad night?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
640 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

You have to deduct one star compared with American/European standards. Then further for other deficiencies. In our case the wifi only works in the lobby and barely even then. The beds are hard and the sheets are not fitted so the come undone. Same with the duvet. The Bathroom is all good with bidet and nice assortment of amenities. The A/C works well and their is a nice pool area and garden. Breakfast was good with Omelets and good assortment of pastries. Fruit was lacking so we mainly had yogurt. Ver pleasant setting. Location is a bit off from attractions. Their are a lot of fine Hotels in Marrakesh.
This is part of a chain of Hotels which I would rate similarly and mainly used by bus tour groups.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bsorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is close to airport and Medina and new town centre. It looks wonderful and 5*, it is big and spacious with big,luxurious rooms and bathrooms. The moment we arrived they treated us great. We went for our honeymoon and they gave us twin room, but quickly replaced it with one with enormous double bed with poolview. Breakfast was various and tasty, but restaurant is bit expensive so we dined out of hotel.
Staff helped us with all inquiries and called places for us. At the end of the stay there was room service which we did not use and there was no problem for them removing it.
The room tax of 28,6 MD pp is mentioned in booking and was no surprise for us (and I take it its for every hotel in Morocco).
Overall, we had a pleasant 5 night stay in this lovely Marrakesh hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with poolview and on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dessy4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our first impression was that of a complete building site and to add to it our bedroom was facing the complete demolition of the hotel opposite. The room was grubby and although our bed had been made it looked as though someone had had a lie down on it. We requested another room and were placed around corner with a busy road for a view. (best rooms face the pool).
The balcony was a risk with the fencing being thoroughly rotten and at danger at any given time of giving way. Definitely not a room to be in with children. The pillows were as hard as rock and gave us a dreadful neck ache and the bathroom was tired with grout missing and the bath stained.
There also was a very strange ritual of staff knocking on the door at 9 am asking for the towels and even though room had been cleaned at times the towels were not returned till very late afternoon.

Reception staff were unhelpful and quite grumpy. Drinks were extremely expensive and to add to our discontent the waiter took cash for our drinks and decided he would keep the change without even offering us our change. When challenged later in the evening he grudgingly agreed he had forgotten to give us our change.

On a kinder note the pool man was courteous and always helped to find a chair for us with a smile. The breakfast was also good with a good choice of cooked foods and pastries.

Finally make sure you are advised about the extra taxes the hotel charge you on a daily basis. Even though we had pre paid this hotel we were charged an extra tax every day. On our departure not knowing about this we happily took off in yet again an over priced taxi only to find that the hotel had gone to all the trouble of finding the cab drivers mobile number and phone him to demand he take an extra £6.00 from us for the last days taxes. Can you imagine our horror. Certainly not a destination we will re visit.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool have a better outlook although just as tired as the rest.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gisella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while on a tour. At first glance this hotel ticks all the boxes but on closer inspection it seems the owner does not realise a hotel needs renovation after 10 years in operation. It is quite tired in many areas, particularly the rooms and public areas. The first room I was given was a joke - the door wouldn't close (sagged on hinges) plaster was cracked, balustrading on balcony severely weather damaged. Was given other room which was better (still had to slam the door to get it to shut though). The bathroom had insufficient hooks and no clothesline. The wi-fi is free and worked fine in the room, but not so well by the pool. The lounge and bar area seemed nice although dominated by a big tv showing soccer matches. The pool area was good and the attendant prompt to remove towels and reposition pool chairs as soon as they were empty, even if one had left other belongings there! With all the hotels available in Marrakech I suspect there are better choices than this one, at least until it is fixed up a bit. If you do stay here insist on a room overlooking the pool, and if allocated 431 reject it out of hand!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TimoR313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas Asni
Hotel Atlas Asni
#271 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menara
Ryad Mogador Menara
#298 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
2.4 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#166 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#229 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#278 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Opera Plaza Hotel
Opera Plaza Hotel
#129 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Medina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Medina & Spa

Property: Atlas Medina & Spa
Address: Ave Hassan 1er, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#108 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#180 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Medina & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlas Medina & Spa is surrounded by a garden of 5 hectares in the heart of the Wintering in Marrakech. It offers rooms with private bathrooms, a spa and free parking. Conditioned Atlas Medina & Spa rooms have a TV and a private bathroom. Some rooms have a terrace overlooking the pool or garden and all have free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Atlas Medina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Medina And Spa
Atlas Medina Hotel Marrakech
Medina Spa Marrakech
Atlas Medina Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing