We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A good walk with some souks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mellah

Mellah
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.77*
and up
Evening Food Tour in Marrakech
Ranked #35 of 156 things to do in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is the Jewish neighborhood in Marrakech. Here you´ll find the Lezama Synagoge, an important historical site, as well as other eating and shopping opportunities.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
298 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A good walk with some souks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We didn't have a lot of time to invest in visiting this part of the city as we were just passing by on our way to visit Bahia Palace.

The people were definitely less aggressive when trying to sell their goods and people were extremely nice in helping us navigate our way to Bahia Palace.

Would have loved to visit the Synagogue though as it apparently is quite beautiful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sjaf_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    223
    106
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just walking..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

... thru of it! Nice, stylish in its own historical way, different from other regions of Marrakech. Nice synagogue.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 0swald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Jewish quarter is interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

This area looked really interesting and traditional, with narrow streets and lots of small local businesses in action. Some buildings looked unchanged for centuries. The synagogue was located down a small alleyway which gave a sense of history to this Jewish quarter, even though the remaining Jewish population today is quite small.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SinghIsKingOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“best place to shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

this is best place particularly if you want textiles. we had curtains made with fabric which is £30 a metre In UK but was £8 per meter in a shop here. found a lovely little place run by 3 people upstairs in an old building in spice shop area who made them up for us in 24 hours and did an excellent job.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana Rose
Level Contributor
842 reviews
387 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Some Silence, A Synagogue, Spice Markets & Metalwork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Mellah is pretty quiet compared to the middle of the medina. Most streets are narrow and completely void of anything other than a Riad here and there. The synagogue is hidden in here (we wanted to go in, but some guy at the door annoyed us, so we moved on). We then stumbled upon the spice market and 'knowingly decided' to have a short educational demonstration of all the spices. It was very interesting and we were served some mint tea. We purchased a little menthol to take home as payment to the young souk for his time. The highlight here is probably the metalwork square. This area is also very close to the Bahia Palace, the Sadien tombs, the Royal Palace and many other attractions.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellah also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mellah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing