We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality of the judes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mellah

Mellah
Book In Advance
$102.84*
and up
Full-Day Marrakech Discovery Tour with Lunch
Ranked #37 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This is the Jewish neighborhood in Marrakech. Here you´ll find the Lezama Synagoge, an important historical site, as well as other eating and shopping opportunities.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality of the judes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

You van find everything in this quartier of the judes. They know wat is quality. Fresh spices of all kind, baskets etc you can ashmh

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilde V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    202
    95
    21
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Jewish quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A fairly non-descript area of the Medina, and yet worthy of mention. There's a cool synagogue down some alleyways, which is open to the public. The best flower market and the best fresh fish market in the Medina are just off the Place des Ferblanitiers. The Kosybar is a great hang-out right next to the Badi Palace. Personally I wouldn't be strolling down the derbs alone late at night. An anecdote - I don't know whether it's true or not - during the second world war, with France conquered and the German army advancing across North Africa, it was required of Morocco to extradite all Jews to France. Upon which the authorities stated "We have no Jews here, only Moroccans." And so no Jews were deported to almost certain death.

The Mellah, literally "The Salt", is the name given to all Jewish quarters in Moroccan cities, after the site in Fes which was a military salt depot, and which served as a ghetto for Jews following the ousting of the Moors from Spain.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Boz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Old Jewish Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a facinating place to roam about . There are i understand about 40 very old jewish families living peacefully here. There are Hebrew writings on many houses . There is a spice and jewelery market. Only a couple of minutes walk from the Riad.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caravangirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Where did it go?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our guide took us through this part of the town and I was confused, like, "Where is it!?" Well, it is smaller and the Jewish population are pretty much non-existent, from the words of our guide. But I had a chance to go in to where they had worship but yeah, it was okay.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaTashaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is an area in the city were the Jews used to live. The large , once grand houses are all now derelict and the area is full of rubbish, debris and lots of kittens. I image it used to be very grand. Very interesting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellah also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mellah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing