We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel and really great staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar El Assafir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar El Assafir
Ranked #355 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic hotel and really great staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

I cannot recommend this place enough! The food is amazing and the staff are there for your every need. In our group, we even had a guy break his arm at 3am and they took the time to take him to the hospital! The hotel is beautiful and the staff just made it that much better. My first trip to Morocco will be remembered for this hotel and I cannot thank them enough for their hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zachary_meade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
13
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

This place is truly stunning, the staff were very friendly and the food is incredible.

Hope to stay their again soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Down1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
240 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

The Riad Dar el Assafir is large and comfortable. It has the atmosphere of a home, clean but with a lived-in feel to it. The management staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was very basic, the location is good and in walking distance of the main square. My group stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment which was comfortable with two queen and one twin bedroom and two baths. We were a bit cool but it was February and the nights were cold outside. Room heaters were available and made for comfortable sleeping temperatures. The shower water was hot with great pressure.

Our group stayed in Riads in most of the cities we visited in Morocco and Dar el Assafir was not our favorite, but is perfectly acceptable and the apartment works well for a large group that would like to stay together.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nana_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

I want to say in advance, that I have been living and traveling all over the developing world for the past 12 years for business and for pleasure. While I love luxury hotels, I appreciate just as much as a modest pension run graciously. That said, our one night at the the Riad El Assafir was the singularly WORST hotel experience I have ever had. We arrived in the evening to Marrakech with my friend and our 4 children from 10 days of traveling through Morocco. We rented an apartment in the El Assafir that would accommodate all of us. When we entered the apartment, it was clear that it had not been opened or aired for quite some time as the staleness of the air was overpowering. We immediately opened the few windows the apartment and with the lights on, could see that the entire place was covered in a not so thin layer of dust and dirt. Moreover, the bathroom towels were dingy and dirty and the bathroom had not been cleaned. We called housekeeping and requested they come to clean the room and to change the sheets and towels. We left the hotel to have dinner and to walk around. When we returned, the room was seemingly untouched. We called housekeeping again and when they did not come we called down to the front desk. The manager argued with us on the telephone saying that the room had been cleaned and then came to the room and shouted at us that we were lying about the cleanliness of the room. We showed him the filthy towels and the dust and dirt everywhere. He left and came back with the owner of the hotel who proceeded to ask us to leave (at 9 pm -- 2 women with 4 children under the age of 10) if we did not like the standard of the hotel. He accused us of trying not to pay for the room -- which was pre-paid through our travel agent and made incredibly insulting comments about Turkey, and Turkish people. Both my friend and I live in Istanbul but neither of us are Turkish. These two men shouting at us, and threatening to throw us out of the hotel frightened our children terribly. We,of course, called our travel agent and demanded to be rebooked elsewhere but stayed in the apartment that evening as moving the children would have been very difficult. To say that the experience was terrible is an understatement. As for the hotel, it could be an incredibly beautiful place but the overall condition is very faded and run down. The decor of the apartment with simple upgrades, again could have been magnificent but unfortunately the linens, upholstery and fixtures are old and dirty. Between the condition and the attitude of the manager and owner of the hotel and with all the other amazing places to stay in Marrakech -- stay away from this place!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mizistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

This was heaven on Earth! The air conditioning was great and the room was wonderfully clean. Hotel staff pleasant and were able to assist with guides and advice. Located in a good part of town, we felt safe at all times. By American standards Marrakech is far from clean, but this place was an absolute jewel. The value was good and I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiesbadenCamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

The best thing about this riad is the location, an easy 10 minute walk to the Jemaa but a bit out of the main flow. It has two lovely courtyards, with parrots in one of them and several cats. The staff was very friendly but spoke no English and wasn't able to be much help in making reservations etc. There are no phones in the rooms and the only phone/internet access is at the front desk. We had the big suite with three bedrooms and a TV room (hundreds of channels from all over the French and Arabic world) which was fun, but it was cold and dusty. Breakfast is wherever you want to sit, but there are only two inside rooms if the weather isn't fine. We didn't try the dinner, which is by arrangement. The mosque nearby is pretty loud, especially for the 4 am wakeup call. The place has a kind of homespun feel to it and is good value, the staff is sweet but the experience is not magical.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WestEndfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2007

This is a beautiful riad which seems to be in two parts - one with a swimming pool and the other a stunning tropical garden.We had an apartment with 3 charming bedrooms and various heaters to keep us warm. There were wood fires throughtout the riad which they would light for you if you wished. There was no english speaking host when we were there but the staff were helpful and delightful.Even in december we had a leisurely breakfast on the terrace.A beautiful, inspiring and restful place.

  • Liked — Beauty,peacefulness, tranqulity
  • Disliked — No english speaking host
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DaleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#276 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#86 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#191 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#281 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Morgane
Riad Morgane
#328 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Azenzer
Riad Azenzer
#313 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Assafir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Assafir

Property: Dar El Assafir
Address: 24 bis, Arset el Hamed | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar El Assafir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar El Assafir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Assafir Hotel Marrakech
Dar El Assafir Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing