We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Riad”
Review of Dar El Assafir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar El Assafir
Ranked #335 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Oyster Bay, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming Riad”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Dar El Assafir is a charming Riad just minutes away from the Jamaa el Fna Square in Marrakesh. The rooms are beautiful, quiet and comfortable. The staff is friendly, welcoming and available to assist you with any questions or problems. I enjoyed my time here and would consider a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Dar El Assafir in the last week of February 2012, we loved it! This was our 2nd riad experience and this one totally outshined the previous...
I e-mailed a week before arriving, asking for a room with a quiet location. Well, that's exactly what we got! A room doesn't begin to describe the 3-bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment we got, the place was huge!
The whole layout of this riad is appealing: 2 courtyards (of which one had a plunge pool) end a nice roof terrace for enjoying a sunny February breakfast. The breakfast consisted of freshly baked msammen and another small roll, pieces of a baguette, jams, yoghurt and freshly squeezed OJ.
The staff were very friendly and in no way out to sell you excursions and whatnot.
No minusses at all? Hmm, the location is very good (a bit close to the Bab Doukkala mosque), on the edge of the medina. Our previous riad was smack in the middle of a local market street, which added to the atmosphere. But then that one didn't have parking right outside the door. Which means El Assafir is perfect if you have a rental car.
Cleaning maybe could be done more thoroughly, but it was done well enough for North African standards. The bed was a bit hard as well.
All in all we recommend this place heartily.

Room Tip: If you are with a family of max. 6 people, book the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

If one likes tranquility, no phone,radio,TV, fridge, total quietness, away from the manic crowds, then this Riad is ideal. A 5-10 minute taxi ride to all places worth seeing or a 15 minute stroll to Place Jemaa El Fna square.
Breakfast was very basic but adequate, coffee excellent. Their attempt at a scrambled egg was poor.
I had a double bed room upstairs which was lovely and large and comfortable. Small problems I encountered, which could be over come if someone carried out maintenance, sewage smell in the mornings, bath and wash basin water extremely slow to drain, curtain pull back supports coming out of the walls, keys to bedroom door and the main Riad front door difficult to operate.
The staff were friendly and helpful and my basic Arabic and French was enough to get by.
Overall the Riad could do with a good spruce up, it just looked tatty and run down.
Would I stay there again ? probably not.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2011

From the moment we arrived when our cases where whisked to our room, to the moment we left and thougtfully given the airport embarkation cards we were looked after very well at Dar el Assafir riad. Staffed by very helpful people and the layout, design and atmosphere make it a perfect counterbalance to the happy hustle and bustle on the streets and souks that is Marrakech

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I took my 16 managers for a weekend in Marrakesh, satying at Riad Dar El Assafir was the best decision I made as I stayed in several Riads but this one by miles the best in terms of its space, rooms, decoration, plunge pool, the libraries, the bird cage and the service.

Jibril & his brother Amin looked after us all weekend inside & outside the riad.
I can't thank Amin enough for his support when one of our colleagues broke his arm and had to be taken to hospital , Amin was there from the start to finish.

I would recommend this Riad to all my friends, Family and colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouraduk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Dar El Assafir was lovely. It was my first experience of a Riad and I loved it. The staff were really nice, the food was good and the sun was shining. The market is just down the road, and the location is close to the airport. I would like to visit this Riad again.
Thanks
Richard

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Wandowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I cannot recommend this place enough! The food is amazing and the staff are there for your every need. In our group, we even had a guy break his arm at 3am and they took the time to take him to the hospital! The hotel is beautiful and the staff just made it that much better. My first trip to Morocco will be remembered for this hotel and I cannot thank them enough for their hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zachary_meade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#294 of 500 in Marrakech
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#366 of 500 in Marrakech
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Bahja
Riad Bahja
#248 of 500 in Marrakech
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
2Ciels Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#173 of 500 in Marrakech
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Assafir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Assafir

Property: Dar El Assafir
Address: 24 bis, Arset el Hamed | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar El Assafir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar El Assafir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Assafir Hotel Marrakech
Dar El Assafir Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing