We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Thank you Yves and Pierre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin Majorelle

Jardin Majorelle
Rue Yves Saint Laurent, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
+212 (0)5 24 31 30 47
Website
Name/address in local language
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$50*
and up
Majorelle Garden Tour and Camel Ride from Marrakech
Ranked #2 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nicely designed and maintained gardens, similar to those of Generalife in Granada, Spain. It’s a good place to recoup from the intensity of the market atmosphere.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank you Yves and Pierre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you have time for only one sight in Marrakech then this is a must.
Saved and restored by Yves Saint Laurent and Pierre Berge.
Every where you turn as you walk around the peaceful garden you will find Cacti, Exotic plants, Palms large and small. All planted to give a different vista and texture.
The Berber Museum has an extremely well curated display of costume and native jewellery which is unrivalled in Marrakech.
A true delight - but go early before it gets busy and enjoy the enchantment.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,467
    6,640
    2,552
    574
    203
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We walked from our Riad about 15min.
Walk around and explore....it's so much better than taxi.
Gorgeous gardens well kept. Easily spend 3-4 hours.
We also went to the little restaurant/cafe
I'd just get a drink, 3times they brought out our order, the complained that we left no tip.
;)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mazzie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Quite small, takes longer to get there than to look around but the gift shops had some nice things and the cafe/gallery/shop in the street outside looked very nice

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquil and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The most amazing gardens I have ever visited. Plants and cacti from all over the world were ace. The berber museum was very interesting indeed and the cafe was exceptional. Get a taxi here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dianna d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We walked to the gardens as our Ryad was only 10/15 minutes away so it was surreal going from the hectic roads into the beautiful quiet oasis that is the Majorelle Gardens. The gardens themselves are relatively small but they are beautifully laid out and looked after. The paths allow you to walk rounds as many times as you like and there are benches along the routes so you can sit and relax. The towering bamboos provided great shade so its lovely and cool, especially as it was 39C on the day we went! We chose not to pay the extra for the museum but had a lovely mint tea in the café there instead. It wasn't the cheapest but the location was beautiful and the mint tea delicious, it also came with a Moroccan pastry which was tasty. There is a small shop on site, mainly selling traditional Moroccan gifts but it was a bit pricey, there is also a small book shop. The Love Gallery displays the Yves Saint Laurent artwork posters that were produced each year. The garden does get very busy with tour bus loads of tourists so I would recommend going in the morning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardin Majorelle also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jardin Majorelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing