We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad”
Review of Ryad Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryad Les Cigognes
Ranked #833 of 1,193 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this riad at the beginning of our week in Marrakech. The riad is situated in a much quieter part of the Medina which is great and generally has a very relaxed atmosphere. The central garden to the riad was the best we have seen throughout our trip and the staff were very helpful. Nothing is a problem.

Only negative would be that we found the room very hot at night, even with a fan.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisajohn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 73 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2011

The location was great - an easy walk to the Jemaa el Fna and close to the royal palaces. I was amazed how quiet the place was (apart from the storks!!) despite being so close to the centre of the action.

The riad didn't quite live up to the photos - it was a little more rough around the edges than anticipated ( cracks in the walls, shower holder missing, wobbly taps, electrical socket hanging out of the wall...that type of thing ) but was nonetheless charming and comfortable.

We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace - especially after some other guests advised us to leave the orange jam on a separate table to keep the numerous bees occupied! The breakfasts were substantial and delicious - freshly squeezed juice, tea or coffee, fresh fruit or yoghurt, breads, jams, pancakes...and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The roof terrace area was very pleasant with attractive plants, outside furniture and very close proximity to the storks' nests - plus the shade of the spacious tented area. Unfortunately it wasn't warm enough to make use of the pool, but the surrounding area was also well laid out with plenty of sun loungers.

We ate at a nearby restaurant - Le Tanjia (by Place des Ferblantiers). It was beautifully lit and very atmospheric and, whilst not cheap (about £55 for two for two courses each, plus one dessert and half a bottle of wine), the food and service were both excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank widelytravelled736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

The ryad was an oasis of calm in the middle of the noisy, dirtylike city. It was beautiful! We arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport when we booked the trip. We wouldn't be able to find this ryad otherwise! The city is a big maze and the final 300 meters from the taxi to the ryad you have to walk because of the alleys being too small for a car. The taxidriver walked us to the ryad and even carried my suitcase! :) When we arrived it was early in the evening and there were candles all over the place. It looked like a fairytale :)
We asked about things to do and such and they were very helpful.
Breakfast was excellent. You could eat breakfast on the roof in the fairytale tent with big cushions or downstairs with view on the pool.
The hot water was gone fast. So we had to take very quick showers.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poekiewoekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

I stayed here for 6 nights; 5 nights in room 1 ( beautifull mosaic room, big bathroom but a little bit musty and 1 night in room 4 ( bigger room, smaller bathroom but better than in room 1).
Breakfast is served everywhere you wanted in the Ryiad, on the roof terrace with view on the storks or at the swimmingpool. Breakfast is alright, but for one day some cheese or an egg would be must better. The water in the swimmingpool is cold, but it is good to relax around it after strolling through the medina. The location of this Ryiad is perfect, quiet but only 10 min walk away from the busy place Jemaa-el-Fna. Restaurants are nearby ( higly recommend the Tanjia, very romantic place with the most beautifull lantarns/lamps I have seen and fine food and wine, more expensive than the average morrocane restaurants but less than you pay in Europe.) The Bahia place, the El Badi palace, the Tombeaux Saadiers just a few blocks away, about 8 minutes walk, and many shops nearby. Take an extra suitecase with you for all the fine handycraft things you buy. Taxis are very cheap, about 10 or 15 dirham in the Medina.
The staff , Bruno the owner, Mustafa and the girls are very helpfull and friendly. They can arrange a taxi for transfer to the airport. for 80 dirham ( when we go back to the airport the taxidriver ask 100 dirham, it is to much, be aware of that).
I would highly recommend staying in this riad the excellent location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanceDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

When we arrived at this hotel we were impressed - we had a huge, ornately tiled suite with separate living room opening up on to a candlelit pool area in an area close to the Badi Palace and not too far from the main square. However the service was not good. There was no-one around when we wanted to ask advice about going out . Also, we pre-booked a taxi through the reception to take us to the airport the next day which we were assured would be there on time. I asked where it was after it was already due and they shrugged their shoulders and it had transpired that we had been forgotten - very annoying when you're heading off to catch a plane!
The hot water in our suite was insufficient. There was enough for one person to take a very quick shower. We would then have to wait half an hour or more so that the next person could take a very quick shower.
Also, the breakfast didn't seem very fresh compared to the other Riads we've stayed at. Great room, & Riad but needs to be looked after with greater care and attention.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peachbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

Nice location in the medina of Marrakech, 10 minutes (easy) walk to Jemaa el Fna. A true oasis! All you hear is birds and the prayer calls from the minaret. Nice and cosy courtyard with nice (though cold!) pool. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning sun with view on the storknests (10 meters away!) A fairy tale in the evening with all the candles and lights around the pool and terrace. Very friendly staff and owner. Cute and cosy, romantic room (we had room 2).
We just didn't want to leave!! THIS is holiday !!
(mail me for more pics!)

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delectatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We stayed here twice whilst touring Morocco (3 nights in Room 4 & 1 night in Room 2). The riad is lovely with lots of the rooms hidden away around corners. Both rooms that we stayed in were beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style. Although room 2 didn’t have air con, this was not a problem as it is tucked away, almost like a little cave, which means it always stays really cool. The riad is really centrally located (about 5 min walk from Place Djemma Fna). The only problem with the riad is that most taxi drivers don’t know where it is and as a result they will try & take you to Dar Les Cigognes (10 times the price!) The riad is down a little winding street which has no access to cars. Ask the cab driver to drop you off at the ‘Herboiste’ (traditional herbal chemists) & call the riad & someone will come & meet you. All of the staff that work here are really friendly, especially Bruno the owner who couldn’t do enough for us. He was always checking that we were ok & helping us organise our days & onward journeys. He even went out to the supermarket & bought a stash of beers for us which was most appreciated! The pool area is lovely too and never gets really busy. There are also more sunbeds & tables & chairs on the top terrace. Although the riad’s website shows how fantastic the rooms are, I didn’t really think the pictures of the pool area did it justice at all. Breakfast is served until whenever you wish and had the tastiest pancakes ever! I would highly recommend staying in this riad for the friendly staff, the excellent location & the fantastic price.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank intrepidtraveller39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#77 of 500 in Marrakech
2,175 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#40 of 500 in Marrakech
1,357 reviews
2.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
997 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#273 of 500 in Marrakech
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Les Cigognes

Address: 26 Rue Touareg | Ksibt N'has Kasbah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #833 of 1,193 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $52 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ryad Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing