We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, friendly, great pizza and good value”
Review of Mamma Mia

Mamma Mia
Ranked #121 of 979 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had the Aubergine Parmesan dish and the enrico pizza. Really good value and tasted great! Lovely friendly waiter, welcoming and warm atmosphere. Food and drinks arrived very quickly. Gelato for desert was great too

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank umberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamG1876, Responsable relations clients at Mamma Mia, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour votre message et votre contribution pour le Mama Mia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 235 of 745 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Mamma Mia is a great addition to the Marrakech dining scene. It is owned by the same family as the Loft next door which is also fantastic.

I had a family dinner there on a Monday night and the restaurant was packed... I did not expect that as most of Marrakech is empty on a Monday night, especially mid-september...

Upon entering the restaurant, I was already impressed by the size of the dining room. Clearly, a professional designer was hired to re-create this italian experience. The lamp shades hanging from the ceiling are absolutely stunning. I also appreciate the fact that the restaurant is divided in several atmospheres. I was sitting in the main dining room but there is also a bar to nibble on antipasti and an upstairs area for a more intimate dining experience.

Food was simply delicious. We had aubergines alla parmigiana as apetizer, they did not really name it that way, but it was excactly what it was. I love trying that dish in every single italian restaurant as it provides me some kind of benchmark as to what to expect for the rest of the meal. The dish was faultless and sincerely, one of the best I have ever tried.

As a main course, since I was in Morocco, I went for the oriental pizza. The pizza has merguez, peppers etc... on it, slightly different from what I would eat anywhere else in the world... Anyway, it was perfectly cooked and mixed well on top of a pizza. The crust was thin and crispy, exactly the way I love it.

The good thing about eating in groups is that you get to try other people's dishes and, therefore, I also got to try the parma pizza. Now you might expect a parma ham pizza to be disgusting in Marrakech, since importing this type of luxury products is probably quite complicated. But, all the contrary, it was same quality I would usually get in my delicatessen in London.

All in all, everything was delicious! We shared a tiramisu at the end of the meal and the restaurant manager offered some complimentary digestives...

A dinner for 5 set us back £60... Just perfect... Will definitely go again... and again...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MLMurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamG1876, Responsable relations clients at Mamma Mia, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour votre message et votre contribution pour le Mama Mia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Decided to try a new res
taurant in the neighborhood, despite our love for another local Italian institution, Catanzaro's. We ended up leaving almost immediately due to the smoke! Food is probably decent enough, but never got to find out! We asked for alternate seating, but they weren't able to provide anything any less smoky! The French (?) owner/manager's parting words were (in translation), "you won't find 'smoke-free' in Morocco" - with attitude! Seriously. We went on to have smoke-free, fab Thai a few blocks away! This new restaurant will soon gain a shady reputation - as have some local cafes - should it continue to let certain female customers procure business within.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AmericanMarrakeshia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamG1876, Responsable relations clients at Mamma Mia, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2014
Google Translation

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de vos commentaires suite à votre venue au Mamma Mia. Sachez que je prends très à coeur vos remarques. Aussi, je vous prie de bien vouloir accepter nos sincères excuses pour le désagrément rencontré. J'espère que vous pourrez nous accorder une seconde chance et profiter d'un moment raffiné conforme à notre degré d'exigence lors d'une prochaine occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Leaving in Shanghai and in vacation in Marrakech. We discovered this restaurant with friends. The welcoming by the owner and the waiters was warm. We first had drinks at the bar, the atmosphere was very good: nice music and drinks. Then we had dinner, I ordered a 4 cheese pizza, it was an authentic italian pizza. The wine list is also good with a correct selection.
The prices are more than correct for the quality of the food and service.
We were supposed to grab something quickly, but we stayed there all the night. We had a very nice experience in this astonishing restaurant. Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShanghaiKId550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamG1876, Responsable relations clients at Mamma Mia, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour votre message et votre contribution pour le Mama Mia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Considering you are not in Italy, Mamma Mia is a pleasant surprise.
Good food, fair prices and pleasant service.
The décor is nice with high ceilings, good airco and lighting.
We will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamG1876, Responsable relations clients at Mamma Mia, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour votre message et votre contribution pour le Mama Mia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Mia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mamma Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing