We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not open Sunday night! ”
Review of Amal

Amal
Ranked #3 of 886 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Amal Women's Training Center and Moroccan Restaurant is a non-profit association dedicated to empowering disadvantaged women via training in traditional and modern cuisine. The ultimate goal is personal transformation, skill set re-enforcement, and job placement for economic and social stability.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not open Sunday night! ”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Found all the reviews on trip advisor and was dying to visit before we left so we fitted it in the night after we found out about it.

Unfortunately they're only open 9-2pm on Sunday (so we wanted to warn others) and we couldn't find any opening hours on trip advisor or Facebook so we walked out anyway in hope it'd be open.

Wasn't open but I'll definitely be back next time I'm in Marrakesh as it sounds like a fantastic thing to contribute too... Hence we've still marked it a 5 as we don't want our misfortune to affect it's good rating!

Helpful?
2 Thank IlovetravelNcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    995
    228
    51
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant ”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Eating at the Amal Center is always a pleasure. Their briouate plate is delicious, as is the Tajine with preserved lemon. The desserts, coffee, and cookies are awesome as well. The staff members are very helpful and welcoming and the service was great. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank Soufiane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imane-janati, Public Relations Manager at Amal, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
thank you for your participation in humanitarian gesture by eating at amal Association, we are glad that you enjoyed food and your time with us

Hope next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cooking Class and Lunch While Serving the Community”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

It was by sheer serendipity that we found this restaurant. Had we not just happened to ask the young woman on the track which was the train to Marrakesh, we may never have learned about Nora Fitzgerald's dream come true. We signed up for a private cooking class, chose lamb tagine, and were treated to a heartwarming experience that we will not forget! Hassan greeted us warmly at the door and immediately felt like an old friend of whom we could ask anything and everything about Marrakesh, Morocco, and Islam. That encounter alone was worth the price of the class! We learned not only how to prepare the tagine, but got to offer a hand in the lasagne as well. Three hours later we shared a delicious lunch with Nora, her husband, Hamsa, and some other new French and Moroccan friends. The atmosphere is serene, compared to the old city, the menu healthy and varied, and, above all, the center and restaurant a beautiful gift to the local women. They are being given the opportunity of a lifetime to learn, grow, and serve.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imane-janati, Public Relations Manager at Amal, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are very happy to have shared this wonderful experience with you and glad that you enjoyed it!! thank you very much for coming!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hard to find oasis”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We visited for lunch on two successive days as we enjoyed sitting outside in a peaceful setting, its away from the hustle and bustle of the city. 1 gentleman has very good English but when he wasn't around on the second day we struggled to fully comprehend the menu and to communicate.

It did prove challenging however to find, in part due to the lack of Marrakech street signs and inaccurate TripAdvisor map. We eventually found it via travelling in a northwesterly direction along Avenue Mohammed V , turning right immediately after Cafe Les Negociants, taking the first left at the cafe called Le Grand Dades, proceeding to the junction and taking the road to the left of Paul as you face it. The restaurant was located at the next junction on the opposite right corner. I phoned and was given directions which helped alot along with the kind offer to meet us if we continued to struggle.

We enjoyed the lemon and mint juice which was tasty and refreshing and will attempt to recreate at home.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M0r0cc0mama, Guest Relations Manager at Amal, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor and especially your visit to Amal Association.you participated in a huge humanitarian gesture by eating at the restaurant and hope you'll visit us again once in morocco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Friendly staff, excellent food, lovely location and atmosphere. The center has a wonderful purpose and I support it thoroughly. They do a wonderful service to the community

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eln_rox17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M0r0cc0mama, Guest Relations Manager at Amal, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing