We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amal

Amal
Ranked #6 of 860 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Amal Women's Training Center and Moroccan Restaurant is a non-profit association dedicated to empowering disadvantaged women via training in traditional and modern cuisine. The ultimate goal is personal transformation, skill set re-enforcement, and job placement for economic and social stability.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best food in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This restaurant from the cooperative of women in Marrakech offers the best food in the Medina and an amazing experience for the degustation menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank raqueloliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M0r0cc0mama, Guest Relations Manager at Amal, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your participation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    929
    221
    49
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Morrocan dishes with a bistrot touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Nice restaurant where local people and resident French eat also. Reasonable prices, well-prepared food, not the common ones you find everywhere at Marrakech. Excellent service. At last but not at least your money goes for helping (teaching and employing) local women.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A total disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Eager to discover a hidden gem among restaurants in Marrakech, due to its ranking on TripAdvisor, we wanted to try the place.
A total disappointment!
The place is shabby, the reception and the service almost non-existent.. We waited more than half an hour before the starters were served! The drinks list does not include wine, and eat a lamb's tagine, drinking only water is certainly not what we would have expected from a restaurant with such a high rating. Altogether the quality of the Moroccan food served is not worthy of any favorable mention.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank TheAmericanMarraski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M0r0cc0mama, Founder at Amal, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear sir, obviously the high ranking that the Amal center has reflects the majority of opinions of other reviewers, it's a subjective measure. However Tripadvisor does not have separate categories for luxury restaurants, cafes, bakeries, snack places, sandwich shops, bars, etc. so you find extremely different businesses being compared to each other under the general category of restaurants.
In keeping with the Muslim values of Morocco and of our staff and trainees, we don't serve alcohol at Amal, although we understand that this is what many foreigners are accustomed to. We don't believe in introducing and re-enforcing a culture of alcohol and drinking that is foreign to traditional Moroccans. Our clientele that is made up of a large percentage of Europeans are understanding of this.
Take care,
Nora Fitzgerald
President/founder of the Amal Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florakaty
Level Contributor
134 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A special secret that I want to share”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Manager of my hotel told me about this restaurant and what their philosophy is. What a wonderful surprise lay in store. An amazing menu, several choices, all freshly cooked to order. We sat under the orange trees in the garden and in the warm sunshine they were giving off their wonderful scent as we were served our lunch. 2 substantial courses each and a bottle of water was £14 !!!! The service was impeccable and the food really delicious. A bit off the normal beaten track of Marrakech but well worth the detour

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank florakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M0r0cc0mama, Founder at Amal, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to find the Amal Center, off the beaten track. We're thrilled that you had an enjoyable meal and appreciated the simple pleasures of sunshine, orange trees in bloom, and fresh local food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best meal of our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

How anyone could rate this less than 5 stars is beyond me. I emailed the manager (directeur) about the need or otherwise to book and received a most prompt and courteous reply. I did book, although I am not sure whether it was necessary or not for our group of 4. The ladies were most attentive and helpful, and the food was excellent. For the previous week of our stay we had survived on the usual fare of average tagines, dry couscous etc. What a delightful change this was. Furthermore, the bill was 330 dirhams for 4 x 3 course meals - it would have been good value at double the price. The only bad thing: the taxi drivers in Place Jemaa El Fna didn't know where it is. Our driver foolishly offered to take us there for 50 dirhams, and it ended up with me directing him using the GPS on my Tablet.

Helpful?
4 Thank Karavos
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Amal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing