We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good French Bistro food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Canaille

La Villa Canaille
Ranked #156 of 762 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good French Bistro food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Went here on recommendation from our Riad in Marrakech. We were warmly welcomed at this restaurant, and managed to get by just fine with my limited French and the manager/owners even more limited English. The food was very good, we shared some Rilettes to start which was delicious, and then had a langoustine pasta special and a boeuf bourguignon. Desert was creme brulee. The food, whilst delicious, is straight forward bistro food, but done very well.

The restaurant itself is quite small, and you'd be forgiven in thinking you could be anywhere in the world as its in the new part of Marrakech and slightly off the main strip.

I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    31
    11
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
303 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A great bistro with home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Very good small restaurant in Marrakech, with a limited but freshly cooked menu, made of daily prepared meals. I had the beef stew cooked in wine, one of the best dishes i had in a long time. Good wine list, great desserts.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toomuchtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“French food in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We wanted a change from Moroccan food after a few days and booked this bistro for lunch.
Its a little out of the old city on the Route de Targa but the cab found it easily enough.
Its small and functional rather than chic but welcoming. The Gravelax starter was excellent. The Steak main was poor (Moroccan cattle probably get a hard life) but properly cooked with a lovely béarnaise sauce. The Crème Brule was very rich.
910 mad for two with 2 glasses of wine and coffee.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chriswoodbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best food in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

After six days in Marrakech I was craving some non Moroccan food. We found "Le Canaille" through Tripadvisor and headed up. The food was amazing and our hosts could not have done more to make us feel welcome and enjoy our meal.
This was by far the best place which we found to eat in Marrakech

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The food is very tasty , the service is nice
the atmosphere is wonderful especially for lovers ..
Thank you Bruno
recommend 100%

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa Canaille also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Villa Canaille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing