We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful staff and homey riad”
Review of Riad Bab Tilila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Bab Tilila
Ranked #148 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This riad is small but beautifully decorated. A few walk from the main square, jemaa el fnaa, the location is good. This is our first time in Marrakech from America and we didn't know where to go for dinner, we were not sure of the direction. All the riad staffs were so attentive and made us feel at home. But, Ibrahim went above and beyond to make sure our needs were met. He suggested a few places to visit including the restaurant, made a reservation for us, and gave us a very good direction. Our stay was very pleasant because of this experience. They also serve you a traditional Moroccan breakfast including fresh juice and yoghurt. Thank you for your hospitality!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 178 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

The location of Bab Tilila at first seems a long way from Marrakech's main Jemaa el Fna square. The walk is only about 10 minutes, and it is actually very pleasant to be in a part of the old city less touched by tourism. It is ideally located to explore the souks and the northern part of the Medina, and also to walk up to the new part of the city; the Majorelle Gardens can easily be reached within 20-25 minutes on foot, and the main street of the new city (Avenue Mohammed V) in 10-15 minutes.

The welcome is fantastic with one of the staff, Ibrahim, coming to meet us from our taxi drop-off, to lead us down the 2 pleasant alleyways to the Riad. Upon arrival we were given great Moroccan pastries and tea, and all of the staff were at all times helpful, polite, cheerful and professional. The room was cleaned and made up with fresh towels etc. every day. The breakfasts are huge and of very good quality, with coffee, tea, fresh juice, yoghurt and a mix of Moroccan and continental breads/cakes/pancakes and fruit.

The 2-levels of roof terrace are great for breakfast in the sun, and aside from the early morning call to prayer (to be heard everywhere in Marrakech!), it is a very peaceful place.

You are provided with a small and simple mobile phone with 2 or 3 numbers on it which can be called at any time should you require help/advice/assistance, which is a really nice touch.

A driver can be organised to meet you at the airport (15 euros), and whilst this would be more expensive than taking a regular taxi, it saves on any hassle/bartering/not knowing where you are going etc. The driver we had on both arrival and departure was very pleasant, polite, safe and professional.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank logicthreedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

5 minute walk from the main square (jemaa el fna)
A filling continental breakfast, service always on time.
Very quiet at night, apart from the call of prayer, but this will be heard anywhere in Marrakesh.
Very polite and friendly staff, English and French speaking.
Receive free complimentary mint tea and Moroccan biscuits.
Nice roof terrace for sun bathing.
Great price for the rooms.
Couldn't ask for more.

You might feel scared to go down a dark alley to find this place especially if you are arriving at night, but there are always people waiting at the front of the alley waiting to direct you to Riad. The alley way to the Riad is opposite the Bab Dokala Mosque.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were initially not happy when our tour operator moved us to this Riad as it was not the one I chose.... however as soon as we arrived I was blown away.
The welcome (albeit language barriers) was just lovely. If you speak French - use it! However this did not ever effect the service, and hospitality we received throughout our stay. We were treated like royalty .
Each room in the Riad was beautiful, as well as the Riad itself. We were the only ones there most the time which seems a shame as this place is a gem!!!
The food we had was delicious and plateful, and the bed was really comfy(despite being woken by the mosque calls early morning) it was a delightful and peaceful nights sleep.
Marrakech is a crazy place... busy, crazy, fun, fast, and full of new experiences each day so coming back to a treat like this was wonderful. Afternoon mint tea on the sun loungers watching the sun set was fantastic, and unforgettable.
Thank you Riad Bab Tilila!...Shukran!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 22lucyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mireille V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Serge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Bahja
Riad Bahja
#248 of 501 in Marrakech
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
2Ciels Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#355 of 501 in Marrakech
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#32 of 501 in Marrakech
587 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#270 of 501 in Marrakech
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#9 of 501 in Marrakech
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bab Tilila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bab Tilila

Address: Derb Zaouia no 3 Babdoukala, Marrakech-Medina | Derb Zaouia No 3 Babdoukala,Marrakech, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $64 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Bab Tilila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Medina, Riad Bab Tilila is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Marrakech. The hotel lies 2.0 Km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. A haven of rest and relaxation, the hotel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as Maison Arabe, Hammam Bab Doukkala, Hammam Dar El-Bacha. Riad Bab Tilila also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Marrakech. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are restaurant, safety deposit boxes, airport transfer, shuttle service, meeting facilities. In addition, all guestrooms feature a variety of comforts such as ironing facilities, television, bathrobes, shower, hair dryer to please even the most discerning guest. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Whatever your reason for visiting Marrakech, the Riad Bab Tilila is the perfect venue for an exhilarating and exciting break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Bab Tilila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing